We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Aqaba Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Aqaba
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel has a great location in the center of Aqaba and has its own private beach, the rooms are spacious and clean, some with great view to the sea and nice balcony.
We stayed at the end of August and the rates were reasonable for the quality this hotel has to offer.
The staff were friendly and courteous and and when I inquired at front desk about the distance to the airport, they immediately offered their free shuttle.

The only disturbing point was the number of boats passing close by the beach and the noise level and waves they generate, but I guess the hotel has no control over that.

overall was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and see view room, the executive rooms are grand,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear KAJ64,

Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

We would like to take the chance to thank you for your positive review, we are extremely happy to hear about your pleasant stay with us, your feedback is much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us once you plan your next vacation to sunny Aqaba.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    160
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
184
241
38
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Yorks, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stunning pool, and right on the small clean beach. BUT everything else went wrong - from a balcony with 14 cigarette butts on it to having to ask twice for the extra bed we'd booked 6 weeks previously. Then when the bed came, it had only a sheet, no covers, so we had to ask for those. No one explained how the air-con worked so we sweated & fiddled about (37-degree heat) until we had to call for someone to come up - why didn't the porter who brought our bags up mention that all you had to do was close the balcony door? No one explained about how to get pool towels or the free water in a cooler each day - first day we eventually figured out the towels, but didn't get the water. Teabags weren't replenished in the rooms. We had a triple room but only got 2 complementary waters each day. Staff at reception chatted to each other and ignored us; staff in the restaurant let doors close in our faces. Staff were generally rather surly except for the Filipina waitresses, who were great. Generally we felt we were a pain; the hotel had forgotten the golden rule of hospitality. And yet occupancy was extremely low due to the Syrian crisis - can they afford to irritate guests? Oh, and food & drink are staggeringly expensive.

Room Tip: You pay extra for a Red-Sea room - but there aren't many which don't face the sea. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Keldale,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from an InterContinental.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had two days at the InterContinental Aqaba, The food in all the restaurants at the hotel and beach are top class. Great leisure facilities.

The rooms are great and spacious; with great view, the sunset reflecting from the sea is unforgettable!!

The big pool is perfect and the sandy beach is a very clean with modern tents (umbrellas).

Then there is the STAFF who was exceptionally nice and friendly.

My favorite restaurant (Burj Al Hamam) serves a very delicious Lebanese food with special touch .

The hotel arranged for us a diving trip everyone at the diving center was super nice and super competent,

I strongly believe that the InterContinental has the best staff, and they made us feel relaxed, and well looked after. They will surely bring customers back!!!!

If you have the guts making it there you’d have a superb holiday

Top marks from a very happy group, Defiantly will back again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Hatem B,

Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

Allow me to thank you for your detailed review and for writing such wonderful review ,We are extremely happy to hear that you would come back and stay with us again. Your kind words about our employees are much appreciated, also very glad that you enjoyed the Lebanese authentic recipes at Burj Al Hamam, your feedback and trust is much appreciated and your comments are of high significance to us, and are taken into great consideration to allow us to have the opportunity to excel in the quality of services we provide.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We always stay in the intercontinental whenever we go to Aqaba, they have excellent service overwall and a nice ambiance. What was most convenient during my stays here was the internet connectivity, the speed is excellent and the coverage is thought even on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear TareqArja,

Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at intercontinental Aqaba Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an executive room 504 with a great view of pool and the red see along with a balcony. This gave us access to executive lounge with free breakfast and snacks all day with incredible phillipine staff . As there were snacks all day we didn't have to buy dinner. Free wifi that worked all the way to the beach. Not a 5 star hotel but close lets say 4 with the staff bringing it up to 5. Aqaba itself is great to visit but don't expect there's too much to do except relax.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Alex R,

Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your positive review and kind words. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the intercontinental club lounge, your encouraging words about our staff mean a lot to all of us. We work very hard to ensure all our guests are happy.

Thank you again and we hope we will welcome you back at your residence in Aqaba.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irbid, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

nice rooms , nice employees ,nice places. very nice beach,delicious breakfast all in all very nice
distinguished security procedures with very careful and helpful security members swimming pools are very nice and clean

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear ahmad h,

Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

We would like to thank you for your great feedback. We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest. Also very delighted to hear that you experienced and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We want you to consider intercontinental Aqaba Resort your home away from home.
We hope we will welcome you back at your residence in Aqaba.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great hotel! The rooms were top notch and the service was superb. The staff was very pleasant, and went out of their way to ensure that I had a great stay. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mohannad A,

Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

It is very rewarding for us to know we have met our guests expectations, your feedback is essential in helping us to maintain high quality service, we want to thank you for your kind words and positive feedback and would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
We hope we will welcome you back at your residence in Aqaba.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Aqaba Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.