We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with top location, private beach a great pool - probably the best in Aqaba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Aqaba Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Aqaba
Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice resort with top location, private beach a great pool - probably the best in Aqaba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nigths with my girlfriend. The hotel is huge, with different pools, gardens, restaurants etc. The location couldn't be better: it is right on the sea with private beach.
The breakfast is very diverse and qualitative. The room was not huge but very confortable and clean, with lot's of amenities. The gym is very nice, even with a squash court and open for very long hours.
The staff is very nice, they even arranged for us to have a dvd player last minute.
On the negative side, the hotel can get a bit crowded and the scuba-diving activities are a bit limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

It is very rewarding for us to know we have met our guests expectations, your feedback is essential in helping us to maintain high quality service, we want to thank you for your kind words and positive feedback and would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    160
    49
    24
    14
See reviews for
183
240
38
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aqaba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a very good hotel and the beach was clean and nice. Near the town and the local restaurants, which were much cheaper. No problem to take some beers to your room or a bottle of wine. It was a sign about that this was not allowed bit nobody said anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

Thank you for your recent stay at the intercontinental and for taking the time to give your lovely feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent experience and that you enjoyed the breakfast, hope to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in the Intercotinental with my girlfriend and parents in law who had booked the hotel. When you arrive at the hotel you immediately notice how immense it is; a very spacious (slightly kitsch) entrance hall, the cosy bar with terrace and the 'corniche' restaurant with delicious breakfast and buffet. Same goes for the rooms which are very spacious with all necessities and comfort one could ask for and kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis. Both at the beach restaurant as well as at the buffet one can choose from a huge variety of food both local and international, included tailored dishes thank to the chefs cooking for you on the spot. The only challenge, obviously, is finding good quality wine (alcohol in general) for a seasonable price. One other point of critique is the beach which could be kept cleaner and also the beach chairs could use an update. Otherwise a good place to stay and enjoy the sun, the beach and a 10 minute drive away from south beach where one can go snorkling and discover the Red Sea underwater world. In general doing excursions from Aqaba to for instance Petra and Wadi Rum can easily be combined with beach and sun. One final tip, try to get a room with sea view, to avoid noise from the construction next door.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view, to avoid noise from the construction next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

First of all I want to thank you for your super detailed review and for your kind comments. I must admit that I was feeling very proud of the service delivered by my colleagues. This is our philosophy to make our guests stay the most comfortable and relaxing one, and our initiatives are genuine and coming from the heart.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my family for one nights as we had 3 rooms. The rooms were big & comfortable. The beach was so cleaned and the staff were so kind.we tried one of the restaurants which was a good experience there as well.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

It is very rewarding for us to know we have met our guests expectations, your feedback is essential in helping us to maintain high quality service, we want to thank you for your kind words and positive feedback and would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Did a one night stopover on the way from Saudi to Amman, going the next day to Petra. Coming from Saudi into Aqaba you don't expect much but the hotel is a pleasant surprise. Very nice architecture and the facilities are well maintained. The room I had was incredible - huge bathroom with separate tub and shower, nice balcony view of the Red Sea. Although the room was excellent, and the staff very accomodating, the restaurants were a little disappointing. The main restaurant is a buffet, which is OK but a little pricey and seemed to be understaffed. However, if you're looking for a nice hotel in this area, do consider this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Red Sea, preferably on the north side of the hotel so you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

We would like to thank you for your great review. We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest. Your feedback and trust is much appreciated and your comments are of high significance to us, and are taken into great consideration to allow us to have the opportunity to excel in the quality of services we provide.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our accommodation was booked through Jordan Direct Tours as part of a week and a bit long tour. Reception staff were indifferent when checking in and average at other times but at least they didn’t run and hide like the Concierge did on occasions.

Room was nice and spacious and very clean although one phone had lost all its pre-sets. Shower had good pressure and was nice and hot but with a shower curtain. There was also a very good magnifying make up mirror in the clean Ensuite.
The room also comes with two sets of rubber thongs (for use throughout the resort) instead of the usual cheap slippers.
Requesting towels did mean a 22 minute wait for housekeeping to supply.

Beach towels also come with a small esky filled with ice and two small bottles of water.
The resort also has a large beach area (at least three times the amount of beach frontage to the Kempinski hotel (virtually) next door) with lots of covered sun lounges, so finding one shouldn’t be a problem.

The hotel is 10 mins walk (past the Kempinski and Moevenpick hotels respectively) to the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you on behalf of Intercontinental Aqaba for your review and for sharing your experience with us whether it’s good or bad enabling us to do better.
Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the Department Heads concerned and corrective action has been implemented immediately to further improve our service. It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to monitor and improve our levels of service.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Hotel Aqaba where we commit to displaying the true level of service we aspire to.


Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent only 3 nights in this hotel and everything was well done... Clean and well organized...
I couldn t enjoy the beach because I was there for business and i had no enough time but the view was really awesome... Food is excellent... lobby and rooms as well :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

We would like to take the chance to thank you for your positive review, we are extremely happy to hear about your pleasant stay with us, your feedback is much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us once you plan your next vacation to sunny Aqaba.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Aqaba Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.