We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Help at a difficult time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqaba Gulf Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aqaba Gulf Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Hussein Street | P.O Box 1312, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Help at a difficult time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for just one night awaiting medical repatriation the following day off a cruise ship in April 2013. The staff were very helpful and kind. Thank you. I could even see my cruise ship from the window and watched it sail away! The hotel seemed very quiet and I only saw three other guests. The hotel was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed but the bathroom was a little outdated. The only negative comment is with regards the bathroom. I had to ask for a bath plug.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    57
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
14
58
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights on HB basis, first of all the hotel's location is excellent near shops restaurants and beach and other heavyweight hotels, as for the staff they were nice enough taking into consideration the huge crowds that arrived at the hotel, but they seem a little confused about the arrangements for Berenice Beach Club which posted a huge billboard near the reception advertising for its activities and the time for pick-up and return trips. Oddly, no one from the club had bothered to tell the hotel that the club was full that day, and we waited for more than 20 minutes until we decided to catch a taxi to the club, and we got there we were told it was full and so went back to town costing us 40 Jordanian dinars(60$) for my family and my friend's. The food was good and very delicious, but drinks are extra and they are outrageously expensive, such as a small of juice costing 3JD while costing only 0.50JD outside, so my advice is to lower the prices a little and people wouldn't mind paying extra but be reasonable and don't be surprised to see your guests buying their drinks outside because it's the logical thing to do. the rooms are nice and recently renovated but the bathrooms need renovation as well. The swimming pool is tiny and shallow and guests swam fully clothed which was not hygienic, so my advice is to have a second pool in place of the tennis court which no one uses anyway and enforce bathing suits only policy at that pool. One more thing is that room cleaning maids should never come asking to clean the room at 8.00AM, it is unheard of. One last advice is that security guards should allow access into the hotel from the side street as it's near a liquor store and coffee shops and would make life much easier for guests instead of walking almost 700 meters to get to the front entrance, wrist bands is an excellent idea to recognize guests at the hotel.

Room Tip: choose upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
Your comments were thoroughly reviewed and we assure you that myself and the whole team will not spare any efforts to resolve this issue immediately and assure you we will keeping our best efforts
To keep extending a better and exceptional services for a comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board at AGH; Good luck and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rooms here are small, bathrooms are tiny, everything is very dated. Bkfst & dinner buffets are okay, having to pay for anything to drink at dinner (even water) is totally irritating. Good location in town. Unfortunately had just stayed at fabulous hotel in Palestine & this place really suffered by comparison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
Your comments were thoroughly reviewed and we assure you that myself and the whole team will not spare any efforts to resolve this issue immediately and assure you we will keeping our best efforts
To keep extending a better and exceptional services for a comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board at AGH; Good luck and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

One is a bit disappointed when you book your hotel room on half board basis and then find that that includes ONLY the food! You pay over the odds for drinking water at mealtimes. It makes one's mouth go dry to think the price they charge for it is FOUR times what you can get bottled water for in town.

Wifi surprisingly is not free in a hotel of this size.

The air conditioner in our room generated noise and heat. Complained and they promptly sent a technician. But he could not fix it! So we suffered. It was 45 Celsius outside by day.

The sink was blocked. Again a man came quickly but while he unblocked the sink the basin was left dirty!

And if that was not enough some of our group suffered from food poisoning. So be warned. Best to stay clear of the green salads! Perhaps that applies to all traveller's hotels in this part of the world!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
Your comments were thoroughly reviewed and we assure you that myself and the whole team will not spare any efforts to resolve this issue immediately and assure you we will keeping our best efforts
To keep extending a better and exceptional services for a comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board at AGH; Good luck and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent two night at this hotel, the first night I was not able to have a good sleep due to sounds and noise near our room door. The second night was better, maybe be cause I was tired from the day activities that I had a deep sleep.
We took connected rooms with pool view, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The bathroom and shower were fine, and everything was clean.
The location is excellent, it is five minutes walk to the public tourist beach and only ten minutes walk to the shopping area.
I read at the hotel website that their rooms are equipped tea and coffee making facilities. But our rooms were not. We called the front desk several times to provide us with this facility but they did not respond, at the end we talked to a manager who acted immediately and within few minutes they provided us with them.
The breakfast was not bad,I liked the fool dish (fava beans). The staff in general are friendly, and helpful.
I recommend this hotel if you are looking to go shopping in Aqaba, if you want to go for swimming, you may look for one with private beach since this hotel does not have which will lead you to go the the crowded nearby tourist beach, or to go for other club beaches and pay entrance fees that cost about 7 to 10 JD per person,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night. Again, I arrived there at night. However, the hotel is in good location for walking around and shopping. We can walk about 10-15 minutes to buy many things, especially various kinds of nuts such as pistachio, almonds which is very popular here. Dates, chocolates and many desserts can be found here too. The price is very reasonable. The hotel is well decorated with mosaic picture. Helpful staffs. Breakfast buffet is good. The room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable and close to town and shops. VERY expensive internet. OK breakfast service. Just a hotel I guess I would say in a very beautiful part of the world. There are restaurants nearby and a local market as well. Great pistachio store not far from the hotel, that our guide, Rami took us to..sorry, I can't remember the name.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqaba Gulf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqaba Gulf Hotel

Address: King Hussein Street | P.O Box 1312, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqaba Gulf Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad you are here! This is what we want to say to all our guests from the distant corners of the universe. The Aqaba Gulf Hotel, an auspiciously stinging-white edifice represents all that is exciting in this beach-front city, rejuvenating your body and soul through the freshness of the deep blue sea. The stylish hospitality of Aqaba Gulf Hotel is truly original, mellowing local flavors and high international service, with its extremely-conscious staff creating comfort, happiness and belonging for our guests to reflect on their Aqaba holiday long after they’ve gone home. The ticking improvements at the Aqaba Gulf Hotel adds to our standards and reputation whether in reception, lobby, culinary, cuisine or in good housekeeping. Our rooms are designed to suit your every taste. Our trained staff are at your beck-and-call, 24-hours-a day, offering advice and recommend where-to-go in Aqaba, whether it’s on the beach for swimming, sun-bathing, diving and snorkeling, or to the quaint shops for your mementos, souvenirs and duty-free goods. At the Aqaba Gulf Hotel, guests are at a happy medium experiencing a cozy diversity and an aroma of delicacies in the background of towering pink mountains that you can breathtakingly climb if you wish. Enjoy your holiday in the comfort of our hotel and experience the scenery and action in Aqaba. Wish you were here... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aqaba Gulf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqaba Gulf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.