We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 3 Stars Hotel better than many 5 Stars hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Hotel to your Saves list
Cedar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aqaba, Ishbeliah St. Building 20 | next to Al-Muhandes Restaurant, Aqaba, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Aqaba
riyadh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful 3 Stars Hotel better than many 5 Stars hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hotel manager Mr.Ramy Abu Alosh, Front office Mr.Ahmed, Housekeeping Mr.Ramy, All other staff meets you with a smile, and they go all the way to help you in your stay , or even advise you about the city of Aqaba. Your wishes is their demand . Resturant Staff very friendly they have well prepared Breakfast, not fancy but Adequate , fresh and clean with good taste. Fresh Fruit and water complimentary waiting for you in the room, with tea , coffee and kettle for your comfort .Hotel Manager upgrade my room to Junior sweet after first night for comfort of children free of charge. I realy felt that I am within my family and not in another country, I realy thanks everybody in this hotel and looking forwards for next visits to Aqaba and CEDAR HOTEL.

Room Tip: Junior sweet, is spacious and enough for family with small chidren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Greetings from Cedar Hotel
We would like to thank you for your great comment .It's pleasure to us to present all possible felicities for our guests to be happy and feel more comfortable in our hotel .
We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities and services were up to your liking.
Thanks a lot again

Best wishes and warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
53
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in January 2014 as part of a 10 day self drive around Jordan, having stayed in some OK, but not great, hotels.

We had a bit of trouble finding the Hotel (as we were driving and came up against some 1 way roads) so we parked up a couple of blocks away and walked. The Hotel offered to send someone with us to the car to help direct us back the quickest way - it doesn't get more helpful than that. We found the hotel and there is an area next to the hotel to park.

The room was comfortable, comfy bed, nice wall mounted TV, wifi worked great, enough power plugs, kettle, hair dryer, fridge (mini bar) everything worked.

The room was serviced every day - fresh towels and bedding. Some hotels we stayed in while in Jordan didn't touch the rooms in the day - the Cedar's room servicing was excellent. As has already mentioned the towels are left arranged in the form of a veritable menagerie of animals - all very entertaining and a really nice touch.

We had planned 5 days in Aqaba for diving. As it was we both had really bad colds, making diving impossible. When we told the hotel we would not require the last 2 nights as we would be leaving early they were excellent - initially just asking for a 6JD cancellation fee - then charging us nothing at all. Expected to have to pay for the 2 nights but the Hotel were - as in all other things, really helpful.

The Hotel is frequented mainly (during our stay anyway) by Jordanian families and is set in a busy town center location, and Western (And Eastern for that matter) visitors should be aware of this and the sensitivities involved in staying in a hotel frequented by mainly indigenous visitors. We prefer to stay in an area like this (get a far better feel for a country). That's not to say its unfriendly - it's VERY friendly, just not a mainly western hotel and all the better for it.....

So in summary a comfortable, friendly, honest Hotel which we loved. With great fluffy towel animals.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sir
on behalf of the members of the hotel present our heartfelt thanks for you for your great comment and nice words . We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities and services were up to your liking. Thank you so much

Best wishes and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked the hotel online, but we we arrived the reception manager asked us for if we were married and if we do have a certificate of marriage from the church , we were shocked because we never experience this any hotel in anywhere around the world and we travel a lot . We we asked why , the manager explained it is a hotel policy and philosophy only married couple can stay here. And he carried giving us a lecture about that. The explanation was ridiculous and unconvincing , we searched online if there is such thing indicated in the policy , there is no. We did not feel very welcomed, and couples should take this in consideration if they want to stay in this hotel .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank You for your comment . We respect your opinion

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was great and Rami the Housekeeping Manager really made the stay a pleasure. There were a few small issues with the TV and shower, but everything got worked out. If we hadn't had those issues, u would have given 5 stars. Great location and lovely breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Greetings from Cedar Hotel
We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Cedar Hotel . We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our team members and the services they provided during your stay with us.

Cedar Hotel In Aqaba - looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best wishes

Cedar Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night with a friend. The housekeeping manager, Remi, was super welcoming. After we told him that we liked the towel animals, he made a truly special effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The breakfast buffet was great, with real coffee, fresh juice, and lots of food. It was 2 girls and we felt very safe here. I would stay here again, no questions asked if I were to visit Aqaba.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mimi
Thank you so much for your nice comment and welcome you in any time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife booked it after seeing tripadvisor's comments. Fully justified! A nice experience, very friendly staff and a nice room. Great location with restaurant and shopping areas very close. When we signaled two minor problems in the bathroom, they were repeared before we came back after a short walk. As we had to leave early in the morning, they advanced opening of the restaurant so that we could have a breakfast. Great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Geneva
Thank you for your sweet comments .
Greetings and Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

+ Very friendly and helpful staff. Fine room. Small but adeqate bathroom. Fine breakfast. Good location in town. Great value for money.

- It didn't bother us, but beds are bit hard. But not uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedaraqaba, Manager at Cedar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Greetings from Cedar Hotel
We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Cedar Hotel . We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our team members and the services they provided during your stay with us.

Cedar Hotel In Aqaba - Jordan team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Hotel

Address: Aqaba, Ishbeliah St. Building 20 | next to Al-Muhandes Restaurant, Aqaba, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We put our fax no ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.