We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with its own beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Oxford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good location with its own beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a short stay here in October, the location is good and having its own private beach is a bonus. We ate in the balcony bar where the food was good and plentiful and far less expensive than the resturant. Lovely hotel, big room the bonus of free water, and very pleasant outside space both around the resturant and down by the swimming pools which were lovely and clean although a little bit chilly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    162
    62
    26
    12
See reviews for
130
218
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

No good service
no friendly hospitality.
lack of maintenance (toilet flasher not working and fall- too bad didn't shoot)
stain on the room blanket.
people with their clothes on, inside the pool and jacuzzi

comparing to the hotel money rate, you can try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our fourth stay in Aqaba but our first at this hotel.

First the good things. Its central location is great for shops and eating out. The breakfast was good and, unlike some hotels, they do provide small bottles of mineral water, daily and free of charge. The free shuttle to Tala Bay allows a different experience although the beach area in the city centre hotel is surprisingly spacious. Best of all - all the staff we engaged with had "got it". A greeting and a friendly smile and the willingness to do anything to help, if asked.

So why only 3 Stars? Because so many of the standard mechanistic tasks were done poorly. At one point we had seven hand towels and only one bath towel! The minibar was filled sporadically and the tea/coffee was not refilled for two successive days. The presence of cutlery, crockery and napkins was variable at breakfast and, all too often, the tea/coffee would arrive at the end of breakfast. I don't go on holiday to manage the hotel's staff for them or to spend my time at Reception putting things right.

A bit more quality control and this could have been 4 or 5 stars instead of 3.

Room Tip: Most are subject to the expected city noise - avoid the lower floors on the north side as this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

After an abysmal check in the remainder of our stay passed in eventfully. The room was spotless and the housekeeping staff very accommodating, ensuring our requests were quickly and efficiently met.
Beautiful beach and great pool areas.
Plenty of choice at breakfast, just remember to ask for tea without mint!
Well located for an easy walk into the town centre for dinner
Lovely place to relax after a couple of busy days in Petra

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Moevenpick in Aqaba - Sunday through to Thursday so we missed out on the weekend rush - so we found the hotel very peaceful, breakfast was great with plenty of options for all of us and lots of places to sit etc. We really enjoyed the pools although they were pretty cold when you first got in. We also spent a good amount of time on the beach - again as it was midweek out of holidays we found it peaceful and relaxing. Our son spent a couple of hours in the kids club with a lovely girl who did some drawing - and gave him biscuits so he was happy as can be. I can't remember what we booked in the way of room - but we booked the next level up from the standard double and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor which was brilliant as it meant our son had his own room - or more to the point - we had our own room. Housekeeping was excellent and our fridge was refilled with 3 x soft drinks and 3 x water and juice every day. My only issue was the sheer size of the hotel meant it was really quite a long walk from our room to the pools/beach - not ideal with a young child or if you forgot something. Also, the swimming towel process is a bit of a pain - if you want a early morning swim in the adult pool then you need to go all the way to the towel stand to get the towel, and then return it.. along corridors/up stairs etc etc. We spent one afternoon in the Tala Bay hotel and the pools there are completely amazing so definitely worth the trip. Also had a very good lunch in the cafe by the beach. We will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As a hotel I cannot fault it because of the luxury and service. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor and our three 'growing up' children shared a very comfortable room next door with a third bed added for our daughter. Food was absolutely fantastic but it was a very expensive 2 days for a family of five.

Great to have a snack at the balcony in the bar as this was in fact a very substantial meal with a selection of local and mediterranean cuisine at a fraction of the cost of eating at the main restaurants. Plus on the one night we had a very special view of the unexpected evening's entertainment of belly dancing. Felt like royalty!

Would definitely recommend this hotel but although we did not venture into Aqaba I would not recommend this town as a holiday resort and much prefer a lazy Red Sea beach holiday over the pond in Sharm where it is a fraction of the prize and a lot less flies. However, we were travelling and felt it a part of the country we should visit.

Made friends with DG Osama who offered to copy some tunes for us to take back. Our next stop was the Marriott at the Dead Sea resort and subsequently, I will avoid Marriotts at all costs after spending a night amidst their corporate attitude!

Room Tip: Eat at the balcony in the bar to choose from a great menu at a fraction of the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The lobby, which you enter first, and the restaurant are a beautiful combination of oriental and occidental luxury. Our room was functional, spacious and clean, but it lacked a real balcony and a nice window view. The bath room and its cosmetics were elegant.
The breakfast was deligious and the service was fast and good. The prices of drinks in restaurant and bar are absurd.
Very positive feature of this hotel, which is situated in the centre of Aqaba, is the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.