We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a kids-friendly pick” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Aqaba
Koelpinsee, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a kids-friendly pick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The beach is great, meals are OK and the rooms were clean, however we had some issues with the A/C which were not solved within our 4 days stay and they did not agree to move us to a different room even thought the Hotel was not full. I addition, They have booked us to a day trip 2 Ancient Petra but when the Bus came it was already full....so we did not go...
Not many available activities for kids down there. The 4 other days in Eilat were much much fun for the kids.

Room Tip: Take a room heading to the harbor and make sure the A/C is functioning. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for having completed our hotel's online guest satisfaction survey.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We will be delighted to be your host again during your next visit to Aqaba and assure you in advances our best care and attention to your comfort at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    179
    77
    30
    14
See reviews for
149
247
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is one of Aqaba's oldest hotels and many more exotic hotels have opened in the city after Moevenpick. However this Resort has always maintained a special status, it is in the City Center, in the middle of a very busy and noisy area, but once inside it has the feel of a Spa Sanctuary. Lush landscape, exquisite architecture and a beautiful sandy beach. Friendly staff and excellent food especially for breakfast, the beach club food is good and the beach service impressive. Guests can truly feel at home in this Resort and you can tell that good management is behind the elevated level of service throughout this huge complex which has an amazing sea view.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have better view and usually more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Rana,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

Dear Ms. Rana, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Was looking forward to a day chilling by the Red Sea - and although the hotel was beautiful - it didn't really live up to my anticipation. Staff were less than attentive - not unusual for reception to check you in while on their mobiles - which might explain difficulties in finding our booking! There was no free wifi and I've never stayed in such a noisy hotel!!

We got a bit lost finding our way there (self-drive) - and ended up in an area of new builds patrolled by the military - who gave us a grilling (not the hotel's fault granted), but be aware that there is a military base very close by - so it's not unusual for a quiet day on the beach to be interrupted by the noise of (US?), military craft on touch and goes.

Breakfast buffet was amongst one of the best I've ever had - but be warned you will be up early for it as the hotel muzak starts at 8am ..... rise and shine everyone! Not good as it has the noisiest corridors of any hotel I've ever stayed in and I did have to resort to calling reception about 1 am to ask them to tackle the noise from other guests (who to be fair were only talking!).

There is a private beach complete with umbrellas and showers and bar and towel service. A few watersports to pick from too - for a cost. Not aware that the hotel offers any all-inclusive packages.

Toiletries are good - but no robes, and aircon is highly effective - although the gaps around the door ensure that corridor aircon is also efficient at cooling your room! There are UK plug sockets - but they certainlt didn't all work in our room.

Room Tip: Want a quiet room and a good nights sleep? Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr Pauline,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for having completed our hotel's online guest satisfaction survey.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

Dear Mr Pauline, we will be delighted to be your host again during your next visit to Aqaba and assure you in advances our best care and attention to your comfort at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long day having taken in The Dead Sea and Petra on our trip from Amman and were given a complimentary upgrade to a sea view suite. The restaurants offer great food and the breakfast buffet is unbelievable. Go down late and you won't need lunch. I thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

W would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Fiancé and I stayed here over Xmas for a few days of chill out time before starting a tour of Jordan.
This hotel was perfect!

After a long bus ride from Amman, we were pleased to see that the hotel was right next to the bus terminal.

Upon arrival the staff were super polite, very helpful and efficient. We were given complimentary welcome drinks.

They also gave us a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite - complete with sitting room, large bathroom, free fruit basket and christmas cookies, fluffy bathrobes and slippers and a private balcony that was bigger than our London flat!

The entire complex was immaculate. The restaurant food was delicious (although quite expensive), and the staff in the restaurants were very attentive.
There is also live music in the bar which is a nice way to spend an evening.

There are a couple of pools and a private beach. The sea is crystal clear.

Normally when I go on holiday I can't wait to leave the hotel and explore - but in this instance I could have happily stayed at the movenpick forever.

I have booked other Movenpick hotels since, purely because we had such a great experience here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of a tour of Jordan, expecting luxury and relaxation. Unfortunately rooms are sold off cheaply to locals so there are hordes of people on Fridays and Saturdays. The restaurant simply cannot cope. Breakfast was a nightmare: no tables, food not replenished, very poor service. Similarly there was no space around either of the pools or on the beach. On other days it was better but not outstanding. The only peaceful pool area is the (supposedly) adults-only lap pool on the bridge connecting the hotel to the beach, but the pool is freezing cold! One of the hotel's benefits is a complimentary minibar that should be restocked daily with soft drinks. This never happened and we had to ask repeated every day for soft drinks, water, towels, etc. Complaining at reception just resulted in insincere apologies. There are much better places in Aqaba - the Kempinski is just across the road and Movenpick has a much better resort hotel just 20 minutes away in Tala Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for having completed our hotel's online guest satisfaction survey.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We will be delighted to be your host again during your next visit to Aqaba and assure you in advances our best care and attention to your comfort at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

After driving through the desert for a couple of days we finally arrived to Aqaba. Upon check-in we were told that the room with sea view that we had booked was not available so the hotel had upgraded us to an executive suite! The suite was perfect. Our luggage was carried up to the suite and we were shown were everything was and how to get to the beach/breakfast etc. Having complimentary soft drinks in room that are re-filled every day was a great touch.
Service in the hotel is excellent. Everyone from the valet who parks your car to the guys on the beach do their jobs with a big smile on their face. Attention to detail was generally very good too. Aqaba as a place is little boring but if you want a relaxing time by the beach or pool then this place is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#8 Family Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.