We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al-Hammamat Al-Tunisyya Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From JOD 85
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My first thought was they transported the hotel from back in the USA, clock radio included.

There is security x-ray for bags and a metal detector to walk through at the entrance. No issues with security as had been mentioned. Water bottles in luggage and at one point we walked in carrying a large water bottle.

Pool is quite small and was crowded. Room and bathroom were perfect. As it was over 100F we at dinner in the hotel which was quite good. Breakfast the next morning was also good.

We were in a non-smoking room however from time to time the smell of cigarette smoke was present in the room. We had a wireless router in the room – which enabled us to have great wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its services and facilities were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    114
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
74
148
25
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would like to thank the staff for the great hospitality and the wonderful treatment we had in the hotel specially Saeed at the Front Desk & Mr. Alaa Shishani the Front Office Manager. We stayed for 3 days in the hotel and be sure that it was one of the perfect holidays that i had, The check in was professional, as i said the way the front office deals with guests is what needed to keep the guest happy, which in my opinion was so professional from your side specially Saeed with his great smile and wonderful coordination. Our room was perfect and the hotel was fantastic, also the service was excellent with some beautiful surprises in the room. once again i want to thank you for this vacation and will come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel and its services were up to your liking.We would like to thank you for the kind words you had given on behalf of the team and be assured that your comments have been conveyed to them in the meantime.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

stayed in Doubletree Aqaba for 3D2N in June 2013. I chose this hotel because it seems a good value with acceptable price (JD69/N) for a Hilton. gd pts: - Room was clean, tidy, modern as shown in webpage. - welcome cookie was yum. - staff really helpful bad pts: - no wifi in room, only LAN line. wifi only in lobby/business centre - bed is a bit too soft - infinity pool is not what I expected. - shuttle bus only 3 times in/out each daily. and the beach is quite far. so ended up didnt get to go. Overall, it's satisfying stay. and I'll sure recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its services and facilities were up to your liking.

We have also noted your comments regarding WiFi not being available in the guestrooms and would like to inform you that we are working on upgrading the hotel’s internet connectivity and installing WiFi in the guest rooms within this year.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very new and modern hotel with great facilities. The front office staff were a pleasure to deal with. Slept well in super comfortable bed and enjoyed the spacious bathroom and lounge. A plus having a balcony too.
The breakfast was SO generous - an amazing array of food which negated the need for lunch.
Have stayed at several Hiltons in the past with work and holiday and this is by far the nicest. Enjoyed the free shuttle to and from the beach resort where I had a lovely day at the beach/pool.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its location, rooms and services were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for the second time during a short business trip, and I have to say, they still provide a consistent superb service.

One advice would be, is to keep an eye on front desk staff, as the guy who checked us out, took more than half an hour to give us bills for separate charges, but they're all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted to have welcomed you again at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba and glad you our services were up to your expectations.

We have also noted your comment regarding the delays that took place during check out and would like to assure you that we have went through your comments extensively with our Front Desk Manager who has already followed up on them to prevent them from re-occurrence to any of our other guests in the future and ensure our guests’ utmost satisfaction.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Double Tree Hilton at Aqaba proudly shows some kind of 5-star rating outside and behind the reception. This is a warning sign. No actual five star hotel displays it.
If this is 5-star then the other 3 hotel I stayed, Movenpick,Petra, Jordan Valley Marriott and Dead Sea & Four seasons at Amman should be 7 or 8 star.

Nobody comes & opens the door or helps you with the luggage & loads it to their X-Ray machine. X-Ray machine is to harass guest if they have any food or drink in the bag. The 'Security' guy acted stricter than the one at airport and asked us to open the bag. As soon as we opened the bag he jumped into it and started digging all over and pulled out our duty free shopping (at Dubai) with some alcoholic drinks, Cigar and magazine and a couple of Beer cans and just took it away. We were made to feel as we did some kind of crime. They do that every time you come back from dinner or some shopping. When we bought some nuts from near by shop to take it home or a water bottle, the 'Security' guy gave me another crash course on their 'No outside food or drink' policy.

After few hours when we were going out for dinner, the security guy asked me to wait (I thought they also had no outside drinking policy :-) ) and returned the cigar package. This shows how eager he was to confiscate everything he could.

Reception guy 'apologized' but was definitely not apologetic and blamed it on hotel policy in that area. I told him that I'll not use any F&B facility in the hotel as a protest (even though I had dinner/breakfast & some lunches in all hotels I stayed). Good thing about this hotel is its location as there are so many eating options nearby. Alibaba across the street is great and offers drinks. There are nice pizza place, burger king/mall and many local joints nearby. Thanks to their behavior, we could explore many such restaurants during our 2 day stay.

In terms of hotel quality, as I said earlier it is nowhere closed to other 3 hotels I stayed. Rooms & pool are small, service was non-existent to poor (except for the welcome cookie which was nice). I asked for a water bottle, which never arrived. Place in general looked sleepy.
I booked it because I got a really good deal with my HHonors points & I'm a silver member.

Our next stop at Marriott we were careful & kept the 'duty free' bag separately but the X-Ray person asked me to take it with us. They also have no outside food/drink policy but their offerings are tempting enough for you to enjoy what they offer.

I'll write separate review for Movenpick at Petra and Marriott at Dead sea, but these two hotels are outstanding & deserve their position in the TripAdvisor rating. I'm surprised at this hotel rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced during your recent stay with us as we have noted your comments regarding the luggage check and the hotel’s policy of not being allowed to bring food or beverage from outside the hotel. Kindly note that the safety and security of our guests is one of our top priorities and therefore we have put in place these security checks. Even though we are not able to reduce the level of security check which are being performed when entering the hotel, please rest assured that we have went through your comments extensively, together with our Security Manager, who is following up on your comments to make this process more guest friendly and to prevent this from re-occurrence to any of our other guests in the future.

Kindly note that the hotel, as well as other hotels in the area, has a policy of not allowing food and beverage from outside the hotel.


DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our family vacation of the Holy Land; most everything about it was excellent. Prompt, courteous service, clean, well-apportioned rooms, and great location in the middle of a restaurant/downtown area. Easily walkable to area sights. The front desk was somewhat disorganized and messed up our room reservations, but they promptly corrected it when it was brought to their attention.

Room Tip: If possible, choose one of the few rooms with a sea view or, at least get one on the opposite side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its location, rooms and services were up to your liking.

We have also noted your comment regarding your room reservations which was promptly resolved.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba

Address: Al-Hammamat Al-Tunisyya Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Aqaba hotel overlooks the Red Sea’s Gulf of Aqaba on the southern coastal tip of Jordan. Our upscale, full service hotel in Aqaba City Center is conveniently situated in the heart of the business district, a short walk to the sea shore and all major shopping areas. King Hussein International Airport (AQJ) is less than 15 minutes from the DoubleTree, making our hotel the perfect location for those visiting Aqaba on business or leisure. An Aqaba hotel with DoubleTree by Hilton comfort. Our modern hotel, influenced by contemporary Italian design, boasts spacious guest rooms and suites with a long list of upscale guest room amenities. Enjoy Red Sea views, 32-inch LCD TVs, generous work surfaces, luxurious baths, our ultra comfortable Sweet Dreams® by DoubleTree Sleep Experience beds and high-speed internet access. For your convenience, wireless HSIA is available in public areas throughout the hotel. Our guests also have full access to first rate hotel amenities and services: Semi-covered, infinity-style swimming pool overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, Two whirlpools, Sauna and steam room. A well-equipped Fitness Center by Life Fitness® Concierge services 24-hour in room dining. Superb dining at our Aqaba hotel near the sea shore. You'll enjoy a variety of dining and refreshment options at the DoubleTree Aqaba, including tasty lunch menu favorites and a tempting dinner buffet. And don't forget to start the day right with our extensive DoubleTree Breakfast buffet. Beef lovers will feel at home in our King’s restaurant, featuring an excellent selection of top-quality meat and international premium wines. For a hip music and dining experience, join us at D-Lounge for trendy decor and fusion cuisine. Or, for a quick bite or casual meeting, stop by our Tree Cafe serving freshly brewed coffees and teas, homemade pastry and a wide selection of snacks. Prefer to combine lounging and lunch? Infinity, renowned for its scenic views over the Gulf of Aqaba, is your kind of place. Sip exotic cocktails and mocktails and energize with a healthy lunch and snacks by the pool.Our modern hotel in Aqaba is tops for business. Planning an important conference or meeting in Aqaba? Our meeting and banquet facilities are at your disposal. Our team of meeting and catering professionals will ensure an impressive and successful event. Valet parking, elegant pre-function space, break-out room and conference support services such as state-of-the-art audio/visual solutions with integrated synchronic translation cabin, a Business Center, printing and secretarial services and inspired food and beverage services are available for your next Middle East business meeting, conference, seminar, dinner, reception, or gala social occasion. See Aqaba from the DoubleTree. From the DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba hotel, take in Jordanian cultural sights or simply enjoy the crystal waters of the Red Sea. Visit local and regional Aqaba attractions such as Aqaba Fort, built by the Crusaders. Lounge on sandy beaches or partake in water sports including water skiing, fishing, snorkeling and world class scuba diving. Divers of all levels will appreciate dive tours from Aqaba on the Red Sea coast and the beautiful Yamanieh coral reef, home to stunning marine life. Experience extraordinary dessert scenery in the Wadi Rum river valley, visit the ancient ruins of Petra or haggle at the Jerusalem Bazaar. Whether you come to Aqaba for business or a seaside vacation, our courteous and helpful hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to Jordan with our signature, warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.