We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food, for tourist only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of floka seafood restaurant

floka seafood restaurant
nahda st., Aqaba, Jordan
00962-3-2030860
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 71 Restaurants in Aqaba
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: serves seafood
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“Bad food, for tourist only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Bad food, bad fish, bad service, bad ambiance, and expensive. Go to Abu and Syrian place. Its far from any of the reviews I read in tripadvisor. Salads where nice, fish was very bad, we ordered 1.2 kg red grilled.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    30
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

we came here several times in our two weeks stay. The food was ok and a good location. the only thing was the restaurant has to bright light. so it feels a bit industrial. Back to the food, it was good but i think they use to little spice. I missed the spices.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good grilled fish, "meh" service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I hand-picked a Moon Garoupa fish and ordered it grilled with garlic sauce and grilled vegetables. The staff was not pleased that I picked the best fish in the restaurant and they were not used to customers picking their own fish. That might explain why they didn't like us but I wasn't going to pay for anything less than the best for the price (comparably expensive considering living standards in Aqaba). Food was great and turned out to be worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Checked this place out on a Saturday night. To our surprise, the place was fairly empty at 8pm. Nevertheless we decided to stay and were treated to excellent service (professional, attentive, and very friendly). The waiters played with my 5yo daughter and even comped her some ice cream at the end of our meal. :-) We really appreciated that...and it put a big smile on her face.

The food we ordered was pretty good. Its comparable to Ocean on Manara Street but I'd say just a tad inferior and more costly. Like at Ocean, you can inspect the fish before ordering and ask for it to be cooked however you\d like. We ordered grilled Hammour, fried red snapper, and some fried Threadfin Bream (aka "Sultan Ibrahim" which is fairly similar to smelt). Everything was good but nothing was over-the-top great...though I did like their chili sauce.

At any rate, I would recommend Floka to anyone seeking seafood fresh from the Gulf of Aqaba at a reasonable price. Floka is cleaner, more refined, and more conveniently located than Ocean but the food is less tasty and costlier. Either way you can\t really go wrong though...they\re both more authentic and far less costly than anything you'd find at the resorts.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Good food, but a little pricier than other restaurants in the area, but we would recommend it

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed floka seafood restaurant also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to floka seafood restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage floka seafood restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.