We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest 5 star hotel in Jordan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Hussein Street | PO Box 1441, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Aqaba
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Finest 5 star hotel in Jordan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at several five-star hotels in during our Jordan trip, but Kempinski really stood out for us.

Its austere exterior isn't the most attractive (depending on taste of course), but the insides -especially the lobby, breakfast terrace and rooms- are grand in a modern style.

The hotel exudes a mood of tranquility, geared towards winding down and luxurious relaxation.

The staff is extremely friendly and efficient, and the 'Ladies In Red' concierge service is no exception: friendly, fast and professionally handling any request or question.

Incredibly (included!) luxurious services include a 'butler service' for unpacking your luggage when you arrive and packing before you leave, the option of requesting a breakfast in the room until 3 AM, and a daily turndown service!

There's no hassle with 'towel cards': towels for the beach or pool are handed out by an attendant and tidied up after you leave. An added bonus is that you get nice little light bites free when you are lying at the beach or by the pool. The restaurants are very good (we recommend the kingfish in the Black Pearl) and  the breakfast buffet is outstanding (with complimentary fizzy whine). 
Also try the fun pool bar (in the pool)!

The spa is very restful, and -for an additional fee of course- you can order a massage, which I heartily recommend. The massage therapists really know their business!

* Tip: the bar directly on the beach serves cocktails that are VERY light on alcohol, so you're better off ordering non-alcoholic drinks there.

* Tip: ask one of the Ladies In Red about arranging a Wadi Rum balloon ride. Very much worth getting up early for.

Room Tip: Go for the slightly more expensive Panoramic View rooms: very much worth it for view and room size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masami Egami E, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your extensive experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that Kempinski Hotel Aqaba was your favourite hotel during your visit to Jordan, We would also like to thank you for recommending our staff who take their utmost care to fulfill our guests needs.
I have shared your feedback regarding the pool bar alcohol portion with the concerned department, please rest assure that everything would be exceptional during your next visit.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    132
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
134
429
33
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A great way to start jump your trip to PETRA. Swimming pool and jaqcusi overlooking the beach. The restaurant on the beach had a great lunch menu with great green lemon mint drink.
Room is very large with everything you want in it. They even brought us a dvd for a movie we brought with us.
Breakfast is included and the spread is generous with fresh breads and fruits.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the red sea. all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masami Egami E, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to the travel community.

We are glad to know that we have succeeded to accommodate you with a pleasant stay during your visit to Aqaba.

We hope we get the chance to welcoming you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Its in the centre of Aqaba. Luxury, comfortable and very good service. Although it was on construction, it didn't bother us much. The best thing is sitting in the bar beside the beach watching sunset and had a glass of wine...One thing important, there is no internet in the room!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masami Egami E, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I couldn’t agree with you more that sitting on our pool bar (Sea Breeze) during sunset time is sensational, we are glad you had a smooth and pleasant stay with us.
Regarding the internet in the rooms, we have a wired internet connection and we are working on covering all our rooms with a Wi-Fi internet connection in order to make sure that our valuable guests are accommodated with everything they might need.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is a gorgeous property right on the beach of the Red Sea in Aqaba, Jordan. It's family-friendly, with a kids club, several pools, and attentive staff. The suites are spacious, with modern decor, very comfortable beds, and an amazing bathroom with a clear window to the bedroom. You can sit in the tub and look out on a view of the Red Sea - gorgeous.

Breakfast is delicious, with a huge assortment of Jordanian and European specialities, fruits, yoghurt, meats and baked goods. My favorite part was the 'honey bar', where you could break off bits of honeycomb and choose a light or dark honey to go with your labneh yoghurt or croissant. Amazing.

The wifi was not great in the room, as it is an extra charge. If the suite next to you has purchased wifi, you may be able to share in their access, but otherwise you need to be in the lobby, where it works very well and is complimentary.

The hotel well located, close to the souk of Aqaba, many shopping areas and restaurants, and the staff are professional and friendly.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have a view onto the Red Sea and the pool area. I would opt for a higher lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Loved our stay in this comfortable hotel. Staf was very nice and service minded. Room (suite)was very spacious with beautiful view and I never had such a good night's sleep.
Beach was nice as well as the pools.
The only little downside was the price/quality ratio at the beach restaurant.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Loved this hotel. It's posh but not snobby, the pool is perfection and the staff are lovely. Beds are amazing as are the balconies, we were super comfortable. Only less than perfect experience was the massage, I splurged but in hindsight wish I had saved my money, it was nice enough but I think overpriced, and I felt pressure to buy products afterwards. Would definitely come back though. Amazing breakfasts too!! Great staff, think I already said that but worth saying again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Travelemmy,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The quality of materials used in this hotel is excellent. The spacious rooms all have a nice view and minibar usage is free. Wifi was only available in the lobby and on the balcony of the room. This could be improved. The bathroom is stunning and looks like your personal spa. Service level is good and the breakfast buffet variety, quality of coffee and juices are great. Price is high: ~ 200 Dinar / night (3 persons), but still very good value.

Room Tip: All nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Gjwater,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Address: King Hussein Street | PO Box 1441, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Family Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated on the white sandy beaches and azure waters of the Red Sea, The Kempinski Hotel Aqaba offers a transcendent sensory experience. With an array of culinary options, leisure activities, and top-tier pampering and perfectly at home within its picturesque surroundings, this resort is heaven to explorers and leisure seekers alike. Set against a stunning backdrop, the hotel combines the warmth of the Jordanians with the highest standards of a luxury European resort. Style is contemporary chic and the resort’s fascinating tear drop design guarantees sea views from every room, complemented by luxurious facilities and state-of-the-art technology. There are three lounges and three eateries to choose from serving everything fromextensive gourmet buffets, delicious fresh seafood and an assortment of tantalising treats. At night the hotel blossoms with wondrous façade lighting, paving the way for an unforgettable evening of cocktails and malts, around the sunken pool or at Aqua Lounge, a favourite with romantics due to its gorgeous views of the Red Sea.For pampering and healing both inside and out, Kempinski The Spa offers a journey of tranquility with treatments using an assortment of luxurious elixirs and ingredients. With a fully equipped gym overlooking the ocean, the resort offers everything your body needs to unwind and rejuvenate. It goes without saying that the diving here is incredible and guests can explore the largest collection of natural soft corals in the world when delving into the glittery, calm waters. Aqaba is a warm and inviting city, fringed with palm trees, shopping and a vast array of leisure, sporting and entertainment facilities. Ideal for year round sunshine, Kempinski Aqaba is the perfect location to explore all the delights that Jordan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.