We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most luxurious hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Hussein Street | PO Box 1441, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Aqaba
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Most luxurious hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a room! Immense, beautiful, sparkling. A state of the art bathroom with a glass wall between it and the room, looking straight out on to the Red Sea with beautiful swimming pools along the immense sweep of the hotel. Incredible breakfast buffet, offering absolutely anything you could dream up, including a complete honeycomb hanging vertically in a frame. Several restaurants, a children's club, lots of boats and activity on the Sea so the many pools are a cleaner option.

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They even come to your sun lounger with a box of tissues to clean your sunglasses!

Room Tip: They all seem to face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Woodwander,

Sunny greetings from the coastal city of Aqaba!

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    132
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
133
429
33
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We choose this hotel because we wanted to have a relaxing beach holiday. I have never seen so dirty water as it was on the hotel's beach. You swim between plastic bags, bottles, glasses and other trash. It’s not hotel’s fault because all the trash is coming from the boats which are very close to the hotels beach, but they could be much better in cleaning all the trash which is coming on the beach. They do not care at all! This is really terrible. So if you would like a holiday on the beach – this is not a place. The swimming pool was OK, but I never use swimming pool so this does not matter if you want to have a beach holiday.

We stayed at this hotel for one week and hotel itself is very nice. Our room was on the 5th floor – very spacious, clean room with a nice sea view from the terrace. Free mini bar is very good to have, especially taking into consideration the prices at the hotel. The room was cleaned twice a day. The bed was very comfortable, good pillows. But there is a building area near the hotel and it can be very noisy in the mornings when you want to relax.

We had a breakfast included and we enjoyed it every time (almost). There was enough food both local and European. The only negative thing – cold pancakes – they make those in advance and when you get them pancakes are cold and hard (I tried twice). We had dinner in "fish in" once and were very disappointed – overprized and the food was not good at all. That’s why we had only breakfast at the hotel and ate other meals in local places in the city. We decided not to spent money at the hotel because of very high prices – even for non alcoholic drinks. In the city you can get really good food (for 2) for the price of 1 drink at the hotel.

We will not be back at this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful week in Kempinski hotel Aqaba. The staff at the hotel was very sweet and gave great service. The room with sea view was delicate, fantastic and clean. The bed was Heavenly and big. The only problem with the hotel, was the prices. The restaurant Fish in had good food, but it wasn’t Michelin-standard and to expensive. The same with the beach bar, spa - to expensive. So we went to town - and used Our money there instead:-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel has its own private beach and from the entrance side it is on the main street of Aqaba. So, the location is very good. Since it is at the beginning of the street it is also quiet. We got upgraded to a panoramic room for 15 dinars, but a think that all the rooms has a very nice view. We got half board deal at the hotel website. The food is OK, not amazing and this is for both dinner and breakfast. They have decided not the move the clock to winter clock for 2 years, so only summer clock for Jordan. They offered us to dine on the beach for diner and again the food is just OK not more. The pool and the outdoor Jacuzzi are nice. The pool was NOT heated on November 16 although they said it was. This did not stop us from going in the water. The beach is nice and the fitness area and spa are very small. Will definitely go again.

Room Tip: All rooms has view of the sea. Don't go for the higher cost rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Shay-Jan

Sunny greetings from the coastal city of Aqaba!

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just got back from a week in Aqaba. We considered Interncontinental and Movenpick next door, but after going by all the larger hotels in the city, we're happy we went for Kempinski. Housekeeping does an excellent job, the rooms had a wonderful view and the pool/beach was well kept. Generally, the service was a bit fuzzy, uncoordinated and inconsistent, but I never felt that it was because they didn't want to offer smooth service. They were just doing their best and at times it was average. Their prime restaurant Fish In is really nice, but overpriced. We had breakfast included and it was good. Nothing more, nothing less. But the breakfast staff was very sweet and attentive. They made an effort to accommodate special requests. The fitness room was decent and had everything we needed to get our daily work out. We had an Executive Deluxe suite which was very nice, however they should consider adding some more furniture to the balcony which is huge, also the light design in the room was a bit stark - you were either in the dark of full flooding light. More spread out lamps would have given a better ambiance. The best thing about the hotel is the view, the clean design, the housekeeping and generally the relaxed atmosphere. Would consider going back in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend a room on a high floor (ours was on 5th floor) so you avoid any noise from the lounge / da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We walked in and got a way better rate than the hotel's website and websites like Booking.com. The rooms are very light and spacious. All have sea view. Free mini bar that is refilled every morning (no alcohol however in the mini bar). Lovely bathroom. The room is done twice a day!
Breakfast: excellent. Includes even bubbles (champagne?).
Small but adequate gym. Didn't use the spa because of high prices
Beach if fine. We liked the beds. However shade can become a problem during the day as the shade changes and other beds will get it. More umbrellas would be better. For us it was no problem, as the hotel was not full. But during busy times it would become a problem.
Good thing is that people that do not stay at the hotel are not admitted to the beach. Neighbor hotel Movenpick for example does for a entry rate.
Drinks/food at the hotel are expensive. We drank the drinks from the minibar and went to town (5-10 minutes walk) for lunch and dinner.
Overall a great stay. Would definately return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

+ = nice view in the rooms, rooms very clean/very design, huge breakfast
- = fitness is poor (I had to go to the intercontinental to train), concierge is nice but seldom available, waterskiing offers only old waterskis, no so much place on the swimming pool / beach during busy period,
- - = the swimming pool is made of a slippery marble => I fall on my knee, and 2 weeks later I can hardly walk...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Address: King Hussein Street | PO Box 1441, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Family Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated on the white sandy beaches and azure waters of the Red Sea, The Kempinski Hotel Aqaba offers a transcendent sensory experience. With an array of culinary options, leisure activities, and top-tier pampering and perfectly at home within its picturesque surroundings, this resort is heaven to explorers and leisure seekers alike. Set against a stunning backdrop, the hotel combines the warmth of the Jordanians with the highest standards of a luxury European resort. Style is contemporary chic and the resort’s fascinating tear drop design guarantees sea views from every room, complemented by luxurious facilities and state-of-the-art technology. There are three lounges and three eateries to choose from serving everything fromextensive gourmet buffets, delicious fresh seafood and an assortment of tantalising treats. At night the hotel blossoms with wondrous façade lighting, paving the way for an unforgettable evening of cocktails and malts, around the sunken pool or at Aqua Lounge, a favourite with romantics due to its gorgeous views of the Red Sea.For pampering and healing both inside and out, Kempinski The Spa offers a journey of tranquility with treatments using an assortment of luxurious elixirs and ingredients. With a fully equipped gym overlooking the ocean, the resort offers everything your body needs to unwind and rejuvenate. It goes without saying that the diving here is incredible and guests can explore the largest collection of natural soft corals in the world when delving into the glittery, calm waters. Aqaba is a warm and inviting city, fringed with palm trees, shopping and a vast array of leisure, sporting and entertainment facilities. Ideal for year round sunshine, Kempinski Aqaba is the perfect location to explore all the delights that Jordan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.