We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem and pet-friendly, too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   One Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226-1047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A real gem and pet-friendly, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is one of the best Comfort Inns I've ever stayed at. The lobby is welcoming with a large. bright sitting/breakfast area. Check-in was fast and friendly. We had an accessible king-bed room on the first floor. It might not work well for someone in a wheelchair (no roll-in shower, tight space), but served us very well, with many discrete touches. The room was well-appointed with a dynamite 37-inch LCD plasma tv and a superior tv channel package. The bed had a lovely duvet and the mattress was superb. Everything about this Comfort Inn seemed fresh, bright, clean and well-maintained by a constantly smiling and helpful staff. Breakfast was much better than the usual fare (real bacon) and constantly being re-stocked. Didn't use the pool, but it looked inviting, if small - probably perfect for families with small children. May try the newer restaurant at the nearby Marriott next time, but would not trade the Comfort Inn room - besides the Marriott doesn't accept pets and the Comfort Inn welcomed my dog with his own little gift bag for a reasonable fee of $20. Lots of space around the Inn to walk the dog. Location is convenient to shopping and the university. AND after we got home I realized that somewhere along the roadtrip I had lost my health card. Argghh. Then I got a phone call from the Comfort Inn. They found it and offered to send it to me. How great is that? And the kicker - I stayed there for free on one of the Best Internet Guarantee program claims (yep, I found a lower rate and matched all of the criteria for a free night). Would I pay full rate to stay at this Comfort Inn? Absolutely. A real gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    75
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
103
46
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently spent a weekend at your hotel and must say that this is one of the cleanest, friendliest and best kept secrets so close to the border. We had one of the best sleeps on those comfy mattresses. The room like the rest of the hotel was spotless. The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start to the day. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable. Your hotel name definitely suites!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Great to know you had such a good night's sleep and enjoyed breakfast before heading out to go shopping...we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I and 2 other couples stayed at this hotel from Dec 8 to Dec 10 2012. When we got there the desk staff went out of their way to accomodate our rooms being close together.
When we had trouble printing a page from my laptop they we very helpful.
We wanted to play cards in the late evening before going to bed and were able to do it in the front lobby.
The staff of Roslyn, Noel, Marvin and Brandy were so very friendly and helpful it every way. Whatever questions we asked they went out of their way to find us the answers.
We will definately be staying at this hotel again.
It was very convenient to shopping and the football stadium.
Thats guys for a great weekend.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 112, 113 and 114. They were near the end of the hall and we did not hear any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank YOU for a wonderful reveiw. I'm so glad you had such a great weekend and that our hotel and staff were part of the reason why! See you for the next game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel for four nights, and it was a pleasant experience. In the past I have avoided staying at Choice hotels because of past bad experiences at Quality Inns. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was better than some of the more pricer hotels that I have stayed at, and appreciated having coffee, tea, and hot chocolate always available. The hotel was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal Choice Hotels guest. We're glad that you found our hotel such a good value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a short stay here for a meeting and was really pleased. I'm really annoying when it comes to cleanliness of the bathrooms and I was very impressed. Great value, extremely clean and a very attentive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again the next time business or pleasure brings you to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently spent a night at this hotel in Amherst while on a shopping getaway. We were pleasantly surprised at the extreme cleanliness of the hotel. I have found many times in the past that bathrooms are not as clean as they should be...well this hotel's bathroom was definitely the cleanest we have experienced in a hotel of this level. The beds and bedding were comfortable and the added provision of a refrigerator and microwave were appreciated. The complimentary breakfast buffet was better than most. Would return in an instant !

Room Tip: We were ground floor midway down the hall...a very quiet location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
So glad that you were so happy with your stay with us...see you on your next shopping trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found the staff and the hotel policies to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. From printing a document that we needed to the in room fridge there was nothing we wanted that was not provided. Love the walls in the rooms, very eco friendly. Rooms were clean and kept that way. Bedding was very comfortable; pillows, mattress and comforter were just right. Morning breakfast was surprisingly good for options. All in all a most pleasant place to stay.
We travel world wide and this is the one and only tripadvisor we have ever done it was that good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We strive to make all of our guests feel like they are home and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: One Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amherst
#3 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to both Downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls and directly adjacent to the University at Buffalo North Campus, the Comfort Inn University is the place to stay when visiting the Amherst/Buffalo, NY area. All of our rooms include flat screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron/boards and hairdryers. Our guests enjoy the Comfort Inn signature breakfast "Your Morning Breakfast" that includes...hot eggs, sausage and/or bacon, make your own fresh waffles, yogurts, fruit, breads, bagels, muffins/danish, cereals and more! Take a soak in our indoor heated pool, workout in our fitness room and surf the web with our fast high speed wireless internet. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Amherst
Comfort Inn Amherst
Amherst Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.