We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Buffalo Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Buffalo Amherst to your Saves list
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Sheridan Drive, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Above Average Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a pretty typical courtyard. I say above average since it has been renovated sometime in the past few years, and because the people working the front desk were well above average. They were efficient with check-in, helpful with directions, etc. We spoke with a few different people at the desk at various times and found all of them competent (which sadly is not the case in every hotel). The breakfast buffet was average at best. We ate there the first morning, but chose Starbucks another, and IHOP on the third day.
I have also stayed at the Marriott nearby. I think I prefer that one when visiting the University of Buffalo. Although this one is convenient, the other is better located to the school. Plus, having a full service hotel is always nice.
Free wireless is nice, however, connection could have been stronger.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    15
    0
    6
See reviews for
45
20
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Spent 1 night here a week back, front desk girls very friendly and helpful. Property is central to shopping all over Buffalo, so dont hesitate. I have traveled all over the world and you wont find a cleaner property. Rooms were clean and modern. Hot tub could be hotter, and the indoor pool is very small, so dont expect to be doing laps for physical activity. Common areas were clean and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I spend many nights each year on the road as a solo. When I called from the airport on Sunday evening, reception said "the shuttle will be there in 10-15 minutes". After 40 minutes wait and another phone call, a new voice said the shuttle had not been sent but it would be: it took over an hour to be collected. So be warned. Hotel is almost new and very clean, congrats housekeeping. Staff are friendly and obliging. Location requires a car as it is removed from any food or drink outlets. At 1.10 AM someone started smoking in one of the nearby rooms and the foul smell went through the AC system. Woke me with a start. This type of event is becoming more regular as hotels change over to non smoking. Not the fault of the hotel, but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, IN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Spent two relaxing nights at this inn on the north side of Buffalo, I-290 exit 6. Modern, attractive, comfortable. Welcomed as usual at Marriott properties- made to feel at home. Had the "eggs -to-order" continental breakfast for a fee- $8.95 or 6.95/no eggs. Great staff, small indoor pool, etc. Close to all Buffalo has to order (Niagara Falls, Lockport canal, lake front attractions) and the best rate for the quality received when compared to other inns in the Buffalo area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I was bit worried about this property but I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed my stay here. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in at a hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey but it was better than going out in 20 degree weather. Since it was so cold outside, the room was nice and warm. The location is close to the University of Buffalo and not far from eating establishments. The front desk can recommend a lot of delivery options as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

The bill they slide under your door is very deceiving! By the time you get home you will find a lot less money in your bank account after numerous fraudulent charges are tacked onto your bill and disguised as fines.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed at the Courtyard Mariott on a two day business trip. Got in late Thrusday night, front desk was gracious and very helpful. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable. My only gripe about the room was the bathroom was too small, felt like everything was really close together. However, I do like how they had an extra sink outside of the bathroom. Internet connection was fast and reliable within the rooms.

The breakfast buffet was overpriced for what they served. But the waitresses were very attentive.

Front desk again was helpful when asking for directions to Niagra Falls, they had nice and clear printed out directions. Though their business center consisted of one computer and printer, it was sufficient for its purpose.

All in all I would definitely stay here again if was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Amherst

Address: 4100 Sheridan Drive, Amherst, NY 14221
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Buffalo Courtyard
Buffalo Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Buffalo Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.