We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Team Activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel for Team Activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is across the road from the University at Buffalo. We have stayed at this hotel 2 years in row and will stay there again if we can for NAPS. The Hotel is very team friendly and the pool is clean and great to hang around at. Everything is fairly close.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with the staff. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy all that the Buffalo Marriott has to offer. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    212
    93
    24
    26
See reviews for
184
117
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good: safe, close and enough parking from room. I had a two double bed. Room was clean, staff was helpful. The room was good looking. Nice Marriott Hotel.

Bad: Only one night stay. We didn't found anything bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very Nice trip and wonderful stay but little upset with the check in process. No water bottles available for the platinum members..but the hotel is really very big and very close to niagara falls. The swimming pool is really great both indoor and outdoor pool connected.. lots of parking area. happy hours in the evening and during bar close. The rooms are really good and great view from the room.

Room Tip: 5th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience so much that our hotel has to offer. WE appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

usually at residence inn, but could not get in...greeted nicely...bed was vey comfy, concierge meal was chicken wings, fresh veggies, cheese and crackers...no desserts....breakfast had hot eggs, sausage cereal bar, oatmeal, 2 very pleasant attendants...only bad experience was the internet went down, couldn't get my work done...front desk apologized but did not offer discount or points...very sad

Room Tip: back side of hotel was quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We also apologize for any concerns you had with the internet as sometimes mechanical devices will fail. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As a high-level, decades long frequent stayer at Marriotts, I am extremely familiar with the Marriott experience. The essential issue with this location is that the management does not appear to care much about anything, as all comments (during and after my stay) were met with indifference. As an indication of this, a management representative e-mailed me after a recent stay - apparently as a routine follow up - asking how I liked my stay. When I pointed out a number of problems I heard nothing back, not even the usual perfunctory apology.

A few of the issues are: not seriously attempting to honor my request for a room with a king-sized bed; blocking me from registering my upgrade request before my arrival; many dirty (supposedly clean and ready for use) utensils and dishes in the concierge Lounge (food particles etc. stuck on after the dishwasher, suggesting poor quality control); poor internet service (their automatic sign-on internet did not work and I had to contact the internet service provider myself to deal with the issues that in the end appeared to be due to their automatic system being faulty)!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The property is fortunate that over 75% of our business comes from that of Marriott rewards members. As a rewards member, and even though all requests are based on availability, the hotel makes every effort to try and accommodate your requests.

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and look forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really nice hotel. Great service, clean and very close to major highways, restaurants and SUNY/Buffalo. Very good value.
We will definitely stay again!
We will definitely stay again!
We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff, We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is our second time at this hotel. We choose it mainly because it's conveniently located on the highway close to the border and are usually headed into Canada for an extended road trip when we travel through Niagara.

The mattress while comfortable was unusually noisy - it crunches with every turn. Very odd. My husband who suffers mild hypothermia found the mattress and sheets too cool.

The dinner was excellent: I very much enjoyed the grilled Caesar salad with chicken (very well prepared). My husband had the half chicken dinner which also was tasty and well prepared. The portions were more than ample.
Breakfast was not as satisfying and overpriced for the quality: the granola was highly sweetened, the muffin was inedible and the fruit below average. The egg and sausage breakfast was totally mediocre.

Room Tip: Not sure you get to chose. No one asks room location preference although they do suggest parking you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused. If at anytime during your stay you are not completely satisfied just let us know so we can try and rectify for you. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.