We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I've stayed at this Marriott twice now. Overall, great place with great staff... This second time I left a shirt in the closet, called them and they are sending it to me without any trouble, excellent.

Only problem I have is the same as the last time. I specifically went up to the staff this time and said, "Please do not provide a paper bill under my door, just e-mail me my bill in the morning instead." Was told, "Absolutely." First thing the next morning, paper bill under my door, no e-mail. I work in IT security so the idea of having a sheet of paper with my full name and part of my credit card isn't something I am fond of. I requested the bill be shredded at the front desk, hopefully it was. When I got home later that day I had to call again to request an e-mailed bill. Luckily the girl I spoke to sent me a pdf within minutes. Why this has to take 3 requests and 2 phone calls, I'm not sure.

If I came back to the area, I'm sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business and your time. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    216
    93
    24
    27
See reviews for
184
122
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Traveled here on business. Very nice looking hotel and great restaurant that we happily had some post-flight food at. The rooms were nice once you get to them, but you have to walk past multiple conference rooms that is a fairly long walk. My main concern was the walls - the block almost no noise. I'm really glad I knew the person into the next room because I could hear her moving around.

We moved to a different hotel the second trip in the month for a variety of reasons. Staff here was

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with the staff. When the hotel was constructed the high energy niteclub was put off the lobby and the guest rooms located in the rear to be away from all of the noise. We apologize for the short walk but the premise was to ensure all customers a good nights rest. We appreciate your business and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The last leg of a long day was a flight from Chicago to Buffalo. I called the hotel for shuttle service which arrived 12 minutes later. The young man who was driving was exceptionally polite and helpful. When I arrived at the front desk, a little envelope with my name on it was already waiting. The room was immaculate. We were on the first floor - the ceilings are 10 feet.

A couple of items that would take "very good" to "excellent". I had forgotten to note the hotel's telephone number and it was nowhere to be found in the advertising in the baggage claim area. I called another Marriott that was advertised and they kindly transferred my call.

The walk from the front desk to the room was very lengthy - too lengthy

Room Tip: The first floor room was exceptionally quiet. I would never pay the rate advertised on their websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience the great service that the Buffalo Marriott can provide. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott for business and had flown in. The Marriott provided transportation from the airport. Whenever we wanted to go to a restaurant, the drivers would drive us and the drivers were all so very nice. We had no problems checking in and the staff was professional.

The hotel lobby and restaurant were very nice and I understand it had been recently remodeled. They have a gym and indoor swimming pool which I did not use.

We stayed on the fourth floor. The room is small and the bathroom was really small and was clean. The beds have white comforters which I like because you can see they are clean.

The ice maker on this floor did not work. There are no safes in the rooms.

Room Tip: The hotel is far enough from the highway so we didn't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, on a business trip. This is a standard business-oriented hotel, on the older side, and with typical amenities such as swimming pool and gym (but, if you are on a business trip, you may not care about swimming pool and gym).

Standard rooms, nothing really fancy, nothing really bad. Something really nice is that the air conditioning is not noisy, so you can sleep well. My room did not have a fridge with beverages to buy. There was a vending machine on the floor, but with a very limited choice. They may consider putting a better vending machine on each floor.

The hotel has a restaurant and a coffee place next to the lobby: I did not try the food, so I cannot judge.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter. Make sure you ask the price before diving into the breakfast buffet (can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay. I"m happy to hear that you slept well. All of the mini-bars in the guest rooms were taken out a few years ago. There are vending machines on several of the floors, and well as a lobby store which sell snacks & beverages.

We appreciate your time and comments. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty good and has great staff. The breakfast crew is friendly, warm and professional but the really big surprise was the dinner that eight of us had at The Blue Flame restaurant. The meal was fabulous; three of us had the pan sautéed chicken which was one of the best chicken dishes ever. The other guests were equally blown away by their entrees.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are so glad you had the opportunity to experience the Blue Fire bar and grille. Make sure you try the sweet potato tater tots! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

On my last stay, a prostitute knocked on my door and when I told her to go away, she -- or her pimp started pounding. When I complained to the manager, his response was, "there is prostitution at every hotel and we had 3 prostitution visits that night." So I am staying elsewhere in Buffalo. On a side note, the staff is super friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Mr.Lang. Thank you for your feedback which I will be sharing with our staff. We apologize for any inconvenience that you were caused. After speaking with the General Manager regarding this situation we offered to compensate you on your next visit. This offer still stands. Please contact me prior to your next arrival. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.