We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will anyone help?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will anyone help?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good luck trying to check in. Everyone seems to be doing much more important things behind the desk to to look up at us as we stand here obviously waiting to check in.

Then when we pointed out we had been standing waiting, they said someone at another desk was to help us. Back we go to the other desk, but in the meantime someone has walked right up and got waited on with absolutely no problem.

We finally got checked in. I hope the rest of our visit is okay. But it definitely got off on the wrong foot.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience that was caused. This property has the new Marriott Great Lobby which includes individual pods instead of one long front desk. The goal is to help both the staff and the customer be able to interact easier. Yes, sometimes people will just walk up instead of waiting in a line as the configuration is set up for that type of interaction. We appreciate your time and your understanding. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    216
    93
    24
    27
See reviews for
184
121
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Only stayed for one night but am certain that a long term stay would be just as relaxing. Staff in helpful and courteous. Although this is a chain property you don't get that vibe here. Lobby is clean and bright, there is a bar and restaurant right off the lobby. The elevators to the hotel rooms is a bit of a walk to get to so plan on using a luggage cart if you have more than one suitcase. You can always have your bags brought to your room if you ask. Our room was comfortable and there were lots of pillows on the bed. The bed was so comfortable that I overslept. We had plenty of towels and amenities. There was no fridge or microwave in our room, if you need these, be sure to ask when you make your reservation. We paid a little more and had breakfast included with our stay, it is not complimentary. The food was very good and plentiful and the servers were friendly. I happened to leave my cell phone on the table and didn't realize it for several minutes later, I was soooo happy to find that our server had left it at the hostess desk for me. This property is close to restaurants, UB campus, shopping and theaters. There is plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Check out the gift shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our guests. I'm glad you had the chance to experience the Buffalo way. Thank you for your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Peninsula, Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This Marriott has an interesting and welcoming lobby floor. The space is wide open with places for quiet get-togethers. A large bar filled with contemporary furnishings is prominent, and immediately attracts the eye with loads of comfortable, relaxing space. The hotel staff were very helpful. The food quality in the restaurant was good. We were pleased with our standard room. Imagine this perk however, the night we stayed, the New York Jets were there because they were scheduled to play the Buffalo Bills the next day. The first tip-off was the presence of a lot of security in the hotel. If the hotel can attract an NFL team then you know you are in a good spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

the hotel was excellent. the room was big with a welcomeing abiente. in the hotel there is a rather large gym available with clean training gear. the morning buffet offers a wide range of food and the fruits are fresh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are happy you had the opportunity to experience what the Buffalo Marriott has to offer. We appreciate your business and your time. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our family (wife, my self and 2 kids 5 and 7) stayed again on this Marriott on Saturday,
November 2nd.

We crossed the border to buy some baby items and decided to spend the night to make it a mini vacation.

I always get this Marriott via Priceline.

Differently from previous stays (when I used to pay CAN 60.00 + priceline taxes), I paid way more, CAN 92.00 + taxes, probably because there was a football game that weekend and the hotel was pretty full.

This is a very nice hotel, with an indoor pool (at this time of the year), hot tub and nice fitness room.

Our room had 2 queen beds as requested and everything was in perfect working order. Sleep was very comfortable.

Breakfast next day was a little bit on the expensive side and we were sad to see Jeannie not working there anymore. We were told she had a surgery but should be coming back soon.

I keep recommending this hotel but what I paid this time would be my limit. You can get cheaper hotels in buffalo or Armherst if all you want to have is a clean room to spend the night. the fact it doesn't include breakfast and with a family of 4, it adds another 50.00 to a night stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 311, no complaints at all with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your being a returning customer and look forward to your next stay. We appreciate you! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

When I stay in the western NY area for business, I usually stay here. It is convenient to the airport and is a full service Marriott with a concierge lounge. I like to have that amenity as I find it convenient not having to order room service or find a breakfast place in the morning as I usually just want toast and coffee.

With that said, the rooms and hotel are clean enough, the staff nice and efficient enough, but that is about it, it is a good enough place to stay, nothing outstanding. Would I stay here again, probably yes but have been considering another Marriott property like the Courtyard or Residence Inn next time for comparison.

Room Tip: It is more convenient If you have status and can get a room on the concierge floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the property is fortunate that 75% of our business comes from that of rewards members and does its best to accommodate all requests such as rooms on the concierge floor. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. It appears recently refreshed - the rooms and linens are nice (only complaint would be the pillows were a bit hard for me but my husband had no issue with them). The lobby bar is really nice and quite modern looking with a beautiful fire place. Great indoor/outdoor pool (outdoor part obviously currently closed - but we will be back in warmer months to give it a try). The staff are great and offer shuttle service within a 5 mile radius when they are not engaged in airport pick-up/drop-offs. So gives lots of options for going out for dinner without a designated driver (give Black and Blue a try). They will also drop you off for shopping. If not too much more go for the bkfast included rate as you can order off menu or indulge in a fairly good buffet - makes for good value. Free parking/free WIFI and happy hour Mon-Fri, just off the highway - easy to get to and close to great shoppinng! What else could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are glad you had the opportunity to see what the Buffalo Marriott has to offer. Thanks for your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.