We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great at first but then....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great at first but then....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay at the Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel. Before I go in with the negatives...let's start with the positives. I love the fact that this hotel is incredibly close by to shopping centers, drug stores, and restaurants. If you're worried about it being to far from Niagara Falls don't worry, you'll only be a 1/2 an hour drive away from the NYS view of the falls. The hotel staff was friendly, and gave us great advise when we inquired about travelling over to the Canadian side. My family and I stayed in a room with a double bed. The hotel offers great room service options, as well as a breakfast buffet. On the flip side, although we are no where close to being particular and stuffy when it comes to hotels, there were a few things that bugged us. This hotel ONLY changes your sheets every three days, so if you're staying there for awhile that might be something you'd want to take into consideration. Also, we had to constantly ask for fresh towels, which started to become a bit annoying (especially since there were three of us staying in the room, and one towel would be left there). The mattresses are NOT the most comfortable to sleep on. Every time I turned to the other side of the mattress I felt as though I was about to fall off. When we booked this hotel we did it with the understanding that breakfast (for two individuals) would be included, but the third person would need to pay. No big deal right? For some reason after breakfast we received a bill that charged all three of us for breakfast. When we inquired about it, the receptionist told us that breakfast wasn't included. Really????? The breakfast buffet was okay, however, the egg substitutes and salty bacon left us longing for something better. All in all, this was our first stay at any of the Marriott hotels and it may end up being our last.

Recommended Places to Dine:

Seneca Niagara Falls Casino
Old Country Buffet
Ihop

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback regarding your stay and we apologize for the confusion regarding the rate you secured. Most hotels have a "green" program where the bed linens are not changed daily to save on water. There is a card available in the room that if placed on your bed the linens would be changed daily. We appreciate your time and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    231
    94
    26
    28
See reviews for
193
125
23
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently stayed for one week due to business travel, I noticed red round bite like marks on my stomach and legs, my first thought after the 3rd day was bedbugs, and I asked the front desk for a new room. The front desk staff dismissed any sign of bugs and did not provide any concern. Now that I'm home, my doctor says the bug like bites are actually ringworms. I am on anti-fungal medication but the problem continues to spread. I must return to the area for another week soon, but I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. Stay away from room 911.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for your concern. I have 30 years of experience in the hospitality industry and actually had to look this up to see what it is. Unfortunately this is a hygiene related skin condition that is not prevalent in a hotel environment. We appreciate your time and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great property smooth check in, Alejandro answered all my questions and did it with a smile.Room was clean and bathroom had no signs of neglect. Classic Marriott Spirit to Serve as we were greeted in the morning by everyone from the Engineer to Banquet Staff to Gift Shop Attendant. Kids loved the pool and hot tub even though they had a small amount of time due to the excitement of the day. Would highly recommend and will stay again next time we are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great hotel experience, stayed here for two nights while I was going to Niagara Falls. I used Tingo and got a very good deal on our room. Check in is easy and the staff is polite. The hotel is clean, smells good and feels alive. Wi-Fi in room was free and fast.The pool area is good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been renovated . I found the bed uncomfortable and not the quality I would expect from a Marriott. There is a large gap at the bottom of the room door and had to place a towel to reduce noise in the hallway. The room decor was nice and the room clean. The bar area is modern and spacious. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the main chef was very friendly and asked if we were pleased with our meal. She was delightful. The staff was friendly and our shuttle service to the airport was prompt and the driver courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 2 mid-week nights. Check-in was fast and efficient. Ample parking in front and back (use the back door once checked in - close to the elevators). Room was spacious, modern and clean. Bed was wonderful. Very quiet and good sleep! Clearly a business-oriented hotel. We did not use the restaurant, bar, pool or exercise room.

The bad news is the concierge lounge for breakfast - what a disaster both days. The one attendant on the first day could not possibly keep up with the crowd. She was doing her very best and working so hard - we felt sorry for her. She kept calling "downstairs" asking for help and it never came. The bacon/sausage was empty the entire time we were there. Cereal was spilled on the floor. The sterno light under the oatmeal went out. Piles and piles of used dishes needed bussing - how can one person do all of this?

The second morning was no better. Only one attendant - no additional help. This time, the eggs were gone with just brown residue in the bottom of the chaffing dish. I buttered my English muffin with the end of a fork, because they ran out of knives. But the worst part was they ran out of COFFEE! How can this happen? Coffee? The lone worker was doing her best, but could not be expected to keep up with this mess. Marriott prides itself on pampering elite status members of their Marriott Rewards program, and this is no way to show them "Marriott cares". Please send help up there!

We have stayed at enough Marriott properties and use the concierge lounges many, many times. This was absolutely the worst. The potential is there - they just need to add another employee or two. Or close it down and give everyone a voucher to use the main restaurant downstairs, and avoid such a chaotic and fixable situation upstairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the elevators - the halls are very long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff as well as the comments regarding our concierge that we will be assessing. We appreciate the feedback. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff was completely useless and extremely rude. Every time we asked to be taken somewhere (which by the way they tell you the shuttle takes you anywhere you want to to within range) we got rude looks and were treated like we were completely inconveniencing them. Not to mention all there drivers were terrible drivers. Then they refused to take us to the airport when we wanted to go. They never fully made our beds or gave us enough towels. There were bugs in the bathroom. There is also no complimentary breakfast and the restaurant there is really expensive. Definitely do not want to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and apologize for any inconvenience that occurred. The shuttle that the hotels provides is a courtesy shuttle which is mainly used to transport guests to and from the airport at designated times. When the staff has time they try to provide guests transportation to other places within a 4 mile radius. But unfortunately, if there is a request for airport transportation there may not be availability for transportation to other locations. We do use and recommend the airport taxi service which can accommodate guest needs as well.

Thank you for your comments and we hope this clears up any confusion regarding the courtesy shuttle. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.