We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ringworms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Amherst
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Ringworms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently stayed for one week due to business travel, I noticed red round bite like marks on my stomach and legs, my first thought after the 3rd day was bedbugs, and I asked the front desk for a new room. The front desk staff dismissed any sign of bugs and did not provide any concern. Now that I'm home, my doctor says the bug like bites are actually ringworms. I am on anti-fungal medication but the problem continues to spread. I must return to the area for another week soon, but I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. Stay away from room 911.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for your concern. I have 30 years of experience in the hospitality industry and actually had to look this up to see what it is. Unfortunately this is a hygiene related skin condition that is not prevalent in a hotel environment. We appreciate your time and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    202
    88
    23
    26
See reviews for
178
109
19
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great property smooth check in, Alejandro answered all my questions and did it with a smile.Room was clean and bathroom had no signs of neglect. Classic Marriott Spirit to Serve as we were greeted in the morning by everyone from the Engineer to Banquet Staff to Gift Shop Attendant. Kids loved the pool and hot tub even though they had a small amount of time due to the excitement of the day. Would highly recommend and will stay again next time we are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great hotel experience, stayed here for two nights while I was going to Niagara Falls. I used Tingo and got a very good deal on our room. Check in is easy and the staff is polite. The hotel is clean, smells good and feels alive. Wi-Fi in room was free and fast.The pool area is good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been renovated . I found the bed uncomfortable and not the quality I would expect from a Marriott. There is a large gap at the bottom of the room door and had to place a towel to reduce noise in the hallway. The room decor was nice and the room clean. The bar area is modern and spacious. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the main chef was very friendly and asked if we were pleased with our meal. She was delightful. The staff was friendly and our shuttle service to the airport was prompt and the driver courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 2 mid-week nights. Check-in was fast and efficient. Ample parking in front and back (use the back door once checked in - close to the elevators). Room was spacious, modern and clean. Bed was wonderful. Very quiet and good sleep! Clearly a business-oriented hotel. We did not use the restaurant, bar, pool or exercise room.

The bad news is the concierge lounge for breakfast - what a disaster both days. The one attendant on the first day could not possibly keep up with the crowd. She was doing her very best and working so hard - we felt sorry for her. She kept calling "downstairs" asking for help and it never came. The bacon/sausage was empty the entire time we were there. Cereal was spilled on the floor. The sterno light under the oatmeal went out. Piles and piles of used dishes needed bussing - how can one person do all of this?

The second morning was no better. Only one attendant - no additional help. This time, the eggs were gone with just brown residue in the bottom of the chaffing dish. I buttered my English muffin with the end of a fork, because they ran out of knives. But the worst part was they ran out of COFFEE! How can this happen? Coffee? The lone worker was doing her best, but could not be expected to keep up with this mess. Marriott prides itself on pampering elite status members of their Marriott Rewards program, and this is no way to show them "Marriott cares". Please send help up there!

We have stayed at enough Marriott properties and use the concierge lounges many, many times. This was absolutely the worst. The potential is there - they just need to add another employee or two. Or close it down and give everyone a voucher to use the main restaurant downstairs, and avoid such a chaotic and fixable situation upstairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the elevators - the halls are very long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff as well as the comments regarding our concierge that we will be assessing. We appreciate the feedback. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff was completely useless and extremely rude. Every time we asked to be taken somewhere (which by the way they tell you the shuttle takes you anywhere you want to to within range) we got rude looks and were treated like we were completely inconveniencing them. Not to mention all there drivers were terrible drivers. Then they refused to take us to the airport when we wanted to go. They never fully made our beds or gave us enough towels. There were bugs in the bathroom. There is also no complimentary breakfast and the restaurant there is really expensive. Definitely do not want to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and apologize for any inconvenience that occurred. The shuttle that the hotels provides is a courtesy shuttle which is mainly used to transport guests to and from the airport at designated times. When the staff has time they try to provide guests transportation to other places within a 4 mile radius. But unfortunately, if there is a request for airport transportation there may not be availability for transportation to other locations. We do use and recommend the airport taxi service which can accommodate guest needs as well.

Thank you for your comments and we hope this clears up any confusion regarding the courtesy shuttle. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Overall positive experience. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating (which was different than the phone conversations I had with them). The hotel was well maintained and it was very quiet on my floor. The food at this hotel is excellent, and the bar staff was friendly and prices of drinks surprisingly reasonable. I also appreciated having a car rental agency on location as I flew in for a conference and rented a car for the day. I would return to this hotel on my next trip to Buffalo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are glad we had a chance to enjoy our hotel. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.