We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, older Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice room, older Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been renovated . I found the bed uncomfortable and not the quality I would expect from a Marriott. There is a large gap at the bottom of the room door and had to place a towel to reduce noise in the hallway. The room decor was nice and the room clean. The bar area is modern and spacious. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the main chef was very friendly and asked if we were pleased with our meal. She was delightful. The staff was friendly and our shuttle service to the airport was prompt and the driver courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    211
    92
    24
    26
See reviews for
184
115
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 2 mid-week nights. Check-in was fast and efficient. Ample parking in front and back (use the back door once checked in - close to the elevators). Room was spacious, modern and clean. Bed was wonderful. Very quiet and good sleep! Clearly a business-oriented hotel. We did not use the restaurant, bar, pool or exercise room.

The bad news is the concierge lounge for breakfast - what a disaster both days. The one attendant on the first day could not possibly keep up with the crowd. She was doing her very best and working so hard - we felt sorry for her. She kept calling "downstairs" asking for help and it never came. The bacon/sausage was empty the entire time we were there. Cereal was spilled on the floor. The sterno light under the oatmeal went out. Piles and piles of used dishes needed bussing - how can one person do all of this?

The second morning was no better. Only one attendant - no additional help. This time, the eggs were gone with just brown residue in the bottom of the chaffing dish. I buttered my English muffin with the end of a fork, because they ran out of knives. But the worst part was they ran out of COFFEE! How can this happen? Coffee? The lone worker was doing her best, but could not be expected to keep up with this mess. Marriott prides itself on pampering elite status members of their Marriott Rewards program, and this is no way to show them "Marriott cares". Please send help up there!

We have stayed at enough Marriott properties and use the concierge lounges many, many times. This was absolutely the worst. The potential is there - they just need to add another employee or two. Or close it down and give everyone a voucher to use the main restaurant downstairs, and avoid such a chaotic and fixable situation upstairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the elevators - the halls are very long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff as well as the comments regarding our concierge that we will be assessing. We appreciate the feedback. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff was completely useless and extremely rude. Every time we asked to be taken somewhere (which by the way they tell you the shuttle takes you anywhere you want to to within range) we got rude looks and were treated like we were completely inconveniencing them. Not to mention all there drivers were terrible drivers. Then they refused to take us to the airport when we wanted to go. They never fully made our beds or gave us enough towels. There were bugs in the bathroom. There is also no complimentary breakfast and the restaurant there is really expensive. Definitely do not want to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and apologize for any inconvenience that occurred. The shuttle that the hotels provides is a courtesy shuttle which is mainly used to transport guests to and from the airport at designated times. When the staff has time they try to provide guests transportation to other places within a 4 mile radius. But unfortunately, if there is a request for airport transportation there may not be availability for transportation to other locations. We do use and recommend the airport taxi service which can accommodate guest needs as well.

Thank you for your comments and we hope this clears up any confusion regarding the courtesy shuttle. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Overall positive experience. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating (which was different than the phone conversations I had with them). The hotel was well maintained and it was very quiet on my floor. The food at this hotel is excellent, and the bar staff was friendly and prices of drinks surprisingly reasonable. I also appreciated having a car rental agency on location as I flew in for a conference and rented a car for the day. I would return to this hotel on my next trip to Buffalo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are glad we had a chance to enjoy our hotel. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I didn't love my three night experience at the Marriott Buffalo Niagara, with it's $140 + tax price tag. While the hotel isn't a dump, there is no justification for the high cost.

Noise
I could hear every little sound from the hallway thanks to the one inch crack beneath my room door. It made for three sleep-disturbed nights.

Cleanliness
The housekeeping staff need a refresher on daily housekeeping chores. While my bed was made each day & dirty towels removed, that was the extent of the housekeeping services. The sink & shower were definitely not touched as hair, toothpaste and soap scum from the morning use was still evident when I returned to my room each evening.

Wi-Fi
As a business traveler, it was extremely frustrating to deal with such spotty, intermittent wi-fi service. While free, it's TERRIBLE. It was impossible to maintain a connection at a decent speed to conduct any work or conversations whatsoever.

Mattress & Pillows
I may be alone in the fact I prefer not to sleep on slightly softened rocks, but the mattress and pillows were extremely firm for my liking. My face and hip bones actually hurt after trying to sleep on my side for ten minutes. I'm sure this contributed to my sleep-deprived nights along with the hallway noise.

Location
Side of a highway/extremely busy road with nothing to walk to nearby. No scenery, trees or nice ambiance.

The one positive I can think of about this hotel is the shuttle driver, Trevor (I think). He was very helpful in assisting my colleagues & I when in need of a restaurant each night for dinner. We were often set astray by the ladies at the front desk who kept recommending these dingy, hole-in-the-wall restaurants in strip malls. I mean, I know it's Buffalo, but still - there have to be at least one or two classy restaurants to eat in! Anyways, thanks Trevor for your shuttle services!

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the very end of the hallway would help reduce noise from the hallway as most peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay and we apologize for you not being satisfied. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for one night after shopping in the area during the Victoria Day weekend. We are Marriott fans, so we expected this to be good, and the hotel itself is good. The room was clean, the beds were clean with the mattresses sealed to prevent bed bugs, the beds were comfortable. Our requests, though not guaranteed, was honored which were feather-free and high level floor away from elevators. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by the staff and everything went smoothly.

The hotel bar and grill served average (subpar for a Marriott though) fare at expensive prices. The mussels were so overcooked they might as well be rubber. The restaurant staff wasn't the most courteous and did not even bring enough cutlery for the 3 of us, even though the restaurant was practically empty and they were not busy.

Another gripe we had was the free WIFI - it was cut off the next morning before 6am, even though our checkout time was noon. We did tell the front desk when we checked out, and they said it wasn't normal to have that happen, but it did for us, and we only had free WIFI for the night we stayed. It wasn't that big a deal but it felt stingy to cut off the guests' WIFI like that before they even checked out.

Overall, the hotel itself is nice, but I can't say this is the best Marriott we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for all of the posive feedback and we apologize for the issue with the WiFi. If at anytime you have a concern there is an 800 number provided in the room in which the vendor can diagnose the problem immmediately. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed the Saturday June 1, 2013. Booked via Hot Wire and got a room for $65 CDN, taxes included and that was about what it was worth.

1) Check-in was fine.
2) Hallway to room spelled a bit funky, like the place didn't have proper air-flow.
3) Our room was fine and looked clean.
4) The fridge was making a humming sound, we quickly rectified that by unplugging it. We were staying one night and it was an easy fix - no big deal.
5) Air Conditioning: worked but there is a vibration coming from the wall, again, staying only one night and it didn't bother us so badly that we had to make an issue out of it but, I would recommend it get looked into (same with the fridge and the hallway muskiness)

Main issue: the doors - they SLAM! Also; we could hear the people in the room opposite our room. It didn't help that they were being completely inconsiderate by going in and out of their room constantly and letting the door slam. In hindsight, I should have called the front desk - their inconsideratation is not the fault of the hotel but the fact that the doors SLAM so loudly, is.

Check-out: we were not asked how our stay was - we were told your account is paid so you're good to go! We said we needed a receipt and were given one. Normally when I stay at a hotel upon check-out I am asked how everything was - this is an opportunity for front line staff to receive feedback from their customers who, I assume, they want to keep.

Purchase your room on Hot Wire if you're staying - it's not worth the regular rate and bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the posive feedback and we apologize for the doors slamming by other guests. For safety reasons Marriott calls for doors to close from a 90 degree angle which makes sure that the door closes all the way. Sometimes people get busy or have their hands full so this helps ensure that the door closes. We appreciate your feedback and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.