We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim in and out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Marriott Niagara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Swim in and out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The first time I stayed at this great hotel, my wife and I enjoyed a pool that started inside and carried out onto a lovely patio area. The next few times we simply enjoyed the location - so easy to get to.
And while we loved the hotel's amenities, the proximity of several great restaurants and shops - including a very decent liquor store (an admirable opportunity for visiting Canadians so accustomed to paying huge prices for wine and spirits) - was a great plus.
Marriott always delivers. This is your best bet if using the Buffalo airport and you want to add a day or two to the beginning and/or end of your journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for all the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the design of the pool is pretty cool as you can swim from the indoor to the outdoor throughout the summer months. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    193
    74
    22
    25
See reviews for
164
101
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We scored a room here on hotwire for $100 (after all taxes and fees). Great place for the price! The bed was super comfy, and the comforter is covered with a sheet-like cover, which made me very happy. Having worked at a hotel, I know most of those comforters are rarely ever cleaned. The bar/restaurant area was very comfortable and welcoming. We got food to-go, so we could eat in the room. Food was very, very excellent! We had vegan ravioli, a nice-sized salad, and a very good white-bean soup. While waiting I had a local beer, Flying Bison - Blizzard Bock, and watched some football. I recommend the beer as well!

My wife said the pool area looked nice, and that in warm weather the pool opened, so you could swim from the inside to outside.

For someone that always stayed at hotels that allowed dogs, this place seemed very fancy.

The only criticism I can think of is that the sofa chair wasn't very plush... but next to the super-plush bed to relax on, the chair was low-priority.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for all the positve feednack which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the new BlueFire Bar & Grill serves American cuisine with a flare so were glad you had the opportunity to enjoy. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back today from a two night stay at this hotel. We stayed here last year to ring in the new year and went back to celebrate ringing in 2013. We love the location of this hotel as it is close to great restaurants and fantastic shopping. The hotel staff are always friendly and cleaning. Hope to be back next year to ring in 2014! Thank you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Happy New Year and thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, we are centrally located with shopping, eating and entertainment options all around. See you next year. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay at this hotel often. The best in the Buffalo area. Great loction for shopping and the Buffalo Airport. Front desk staff always very friendly and helpful. Everytime we stay at this hotel we are always greeted by the conceirge Greg. He knows alot about the Buffalo area and always asks is there is anything he can do for us. He is one of the reasons we always come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for all of the positve feedback, especially regarding Greg, which we will be sharing with the staff. We are fortunate to have some of the best people in Buffalo that work at this facility. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was on the concierge floor in a corner room. In the morning I had a wonderful breakfast which included Oatmeal.

Was upgraded a day in advance on the Marriott webpage to this room.

Stayed on a park and fly rate which included a week of parking at the hotel. Considering the price of parking for the week it was a great deal for the hotel.

Front desk staff were all extremely kind and helpful.

If travelling out of Buffalo again would stay again on this rate.

Room Tip: Concierge floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We look forward to your next stay. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, worthy of the Marriott brand. The amenities are extensive in the lobby area which includes a restaurant, coffee café and gift shop/pantry. The meeting rooms and convention space is extensive; and was busy with a variety of activities at time of stay. My room on the ground floor was perfectly prepared with everything in its place. The furnishings were comfortable and up-to-date with an easy chair, ottoman & side table. The desk area was spacious for work, and the office type chair was very comfortable. There were adequate electrical outlets in the work area, along with a panel that appeared to allow connection of PCs to the large flat screen television along with some other untried AV functions. The bed, pillows and linens were comfortable for a good night’s rest; and the room was well lighted. The headboard mounted reading lamps were a nice touch for bedtime reading in a darkened room. The bathroom area was clean and well stocked. There were two sets of large closets with plenty of hangers. Temperature control in the room was responsive to setting for optimum personal comfort levels. The room service breakfast pre-ordered with a door hanger menu was punctual and well prepared. Check-in and check-out at the front desk was efficient and friendly. Overall, a very nice business class hotel in the Buffalo/Niagara/Grand Island area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We look forward to your next stay. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Buffalo Marriott Niagara for one night on our way to Michigan. The hotel, right off the highway, offers a convenient location with easy off/on access for a quick rest stop. This property has a lot of meeting space and seems to target the business/conference crowd, but it is also appropriate for a quick overnight. As a relatively mid-range Marriott, this facility is rather utilitarian, but the service was terrific! The front office clerk was welcoming and professional at check-in, the waiter in the sports bar was very personable and efficient, and the lady on club level was friendly and helpful. The guest rooms, on the other hand, are relatively Spartan. Although renovated and reasonably clean, they feel rather small and dated, and the double-bedded rooms are just that: double bedded. Overall, the great service and convenient location outweigh the basic accommodations, making this hotel a good value for the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Than you for the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. This property in consistantly ranked in the top 100 of all Marriotts for its service and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience it. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott
Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Marriott Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.