We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Inn Keepers Lane, Amherst, NY 14228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Tucked away in Amherst, NY is the surprising Sleep Inn. We flew in late PM on the way back to Canada, and we booked a room at the Sleep Inn. Many of the reviews from Canadians about this property was quite positive so we thought we'd give it a try. We were delightfully surprised.

Room was clean. Beds comfortable. Staff courteous. Free breakfast, typical. Location, ideal for cross-border shoppers. Price, a winner compared to value received.

We'd requested a quiet, non-smoking room with extra towels. The staff gave us all that we asked for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Almoranis,

Thank you for being our recent guest and sharing your experience! I am glad we were able to be your stop on the way back to Canada and that you had a good night’s rest. Thank you for your compliments on the beds, staff, and free breakfast. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future for a longer stay, perhaps for some cross boarder shopping! We appreciate your business and hope you have a wonderful day!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    89
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
82
44
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for a night. Rooms are kind of small size. There is no tub only a shower. WiFi is fast. Room service was non existent. Small rooms good only for a night. There is ample parking space.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Utpaljeet B,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sleep Inn Buffalo/Amherst! I am glad that you found our cozy rooms comfortable for your one night stay and that you were able to find a parking space easily. Thank you for your comment on the fast WiFi. We know how important it is to stay connected and get things done quickly! We hope to welcome you back again to our hotel in the future. Next time you are here the front desk would be glad to give you local restaurant menus that deliver or recommend food options to you since we do not have room service available. Thank you again for your feedback!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times when visiting the Buffalo area.
Great location right off the highway. Close to shopping and decent food.
Ted's Hot Dogs is a must! Carrabbas Italian close by. Nice pool to relax.
Great staff who work hard (if you give them a kind word).

Room Tip: King rooms do not have a tub. Walk in shower. Pick a Queen if you want a tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Wag54,

We are thrilled to know we are your “Go-To Stay in Buffalo!” All of us at the Sleep Inn Buffalo/Amherst thank you for your kind words! We are glad you found our location to be convenient. From the sounds of it, you found all of the great restaurants that are located right down the road! Our staff will continue to work hard to serve all of our guests and make sure they have the best possible stay. Thanks again for sharing your comments. See you on your next trip to the area!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

our room was very clean and the proximity to shopping was excellent.We were 10 min away from all the major stores you would want:Kohl's,Target,Macy's ,Walmart ,Wegmans,Trader Joes

The buffet breakfast was very filling and the room was clean

well worth the price

Room Tip: away from the elevator and on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Shnipson,

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Sleep Inn Buffalo/Amherst! We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay and found a good value in our property. Our breakfast buffet is one of the best parts of our hotel and we are glad to know you found it filling! Thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back for another shopping trip!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Nice, clean and quiet. Minutes from the highway without the noise. Decent breakfast including sausage, eggs and all the usual carbs. But no half&half for the coffee. Comfy bed. Fridge, microwave and fast, free internet. All at a decent price for the area. Would be 5 stars if the room had a normal tub/shower combo instead of a compact shower. Will definitely stay there again as I have business in the area. BTW, every major big box retailer/restaurant is nearby.

NOTE: I originally requested a room with an accessible tub, but all of those rooms are adjoining rooms (per the clerk). Those rooms are separated from each other by a simple dead bolt. Three locks on front door, one lock on adjoining door. On top of that, the door knob latch didn't work so I requested a room change.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear DelawareTraveler_99,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sleep Inn Buffalo/Amherst! I am glad to hear that you found the accommodations to be clean and quiet! I am very sorry about your experience in with the door lock on the adjoining room that you were first assigned to. Thank you for bringing that to our attention so we could resolve right away. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND ISLAND
Top Contributor
665 reviews 665 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
412 helpful votes 412 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

this was a very satisfactory experience, clean with competent staff and a particularly fine breakfast... maybe being this close to the expressway isn't such a good thing, as the entrance has its drawbacks, but overall, a satisfactory night away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear DOUGANDPOLLY,

Thank you for being our recent guest and choosing the Sleep Inn Buffalo/Amherst! We were pleased with the opportunity to serve you and glad you enjoyed the breakfast during your stay. We hope you found easy accessibility with our location close to the expressway. We hope to be able to welcome you to our hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We arrived on an early flight and reached the hotel at 9:30 a.m. via taxi from Buffalo/Niagara International Airport. We were able to check into our room and come back down for the free hot breakfast before we had to head to campus for tour. Came to visit University of Buffalo with my daughter who will attend graduate school there.

Room was nice and clean. Beds were comfy but pillows too soft for my liking. There were 4 pillows, which is good but they were way too soft.

Was disappointed they only had indoor pool/hot tub but no fitness room. I would stay there again though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Janet B,

Thank you for your review of the Sleep Inn Buffalo/Amherst! We were pleased to welcome you to the area for a visit at the University and get you checked in right away on your morning arrival. Thank you for your comments about the comfortable beds. I am sorry to hear you found the pillows too soft. Next time you stay with us please ask the front desk about our partnership with a local fitness facility that is accessible to our guests for no charge during their stay. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 75 Inn Keepers Lane, Amherst, NY 14228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amherst
Sleep Inn Amherst
Amherst Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.