We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Inn Keepers Lane, Amherst, NY 14228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed at this Sleep Inn before ... nothing fancy about it and the rooms are pretty small with a stand-up shower in the bathroom, but it is clean and conveniently located near restaurants and the mall. To take advantage of the free continental breakfast you have to get downstairs pretty early since the small breakfast room quickly fills up. The lobby and hallways were very warm and humid during our stay (Buffalo was in the high 80's), but our room air conditioning worked great.
I will stay here again ... compared to other hotels in this price range, this is one of the nicest around Amherst/Kenmore/Tonawanda.

Room Tip: Stay on a low floor if you want the wireless internet ... their router doesn't reach far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInn030, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. Comments such as this help our team grow stronger each day, as we know we aren't perfect, but we want to be as close to it as we possibly can. It is important that every guest walks away knowing that we have made every effort to ensure your stay is exactly what you expect and what your rightfully deserve. We certainly appologize for any waiting you may have had to do for a seat in our breakfast area as yes sometimes it can get a little crowded and we do recommend coming down early as our busiest time is always that last hour, especially on the weekends when everyone wants to enjoy that extra sleep time! We also offer trays, and will pull out extra tables to do our best to accommodate as many people as possible at once. So once again we are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused you during your stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    88
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
77
44
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here one night while in the area for a family reunion, and this Sleep Inn property adequately served our purpose as a place to sleep. It was easy to find, the staff at the front desk were excellent, and the room, though small, had all of the expected amenities.

Free breakfast in the morning was a nice touch, and the selection exceeded my expectations. The only negative here is that the dining area is too small.

This property advertised free WiFi. I was never able to get my ipad to detect anything other than a connection labeled "hotel" (too generic!), and I was unable to connect to that hub. Disappointment number 1.

Disappointment number 2 is that the king size bed was smaller and noticeably less comfortable than I have experienced with similarly priced hotels in the Hilton, Hyatt, and Marriott chains.

The WiFi issue as a small problem (in my book), but a poor nights sleep is a BIG disappointment.

I will most likely try a different property the next time I am back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInn030, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for staying with us while in town for your family reunion. Our team really enjoyed having you and your family as our guests. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and all comments are taken seriously by all members of our team. We strive to improve ourselves and our property day after day and comments such as these will only help us accomplish that overall goal. I personally will look into the wifi issue that you have explained in your comments as we certainly were unaware that anyone was experiencing any problems with it, as our wifi support team would have immediately helped trouble shoot or fix any issues that had been brought to their attention.

We are sorry to hear that you did not get a comfortable nights sleep. When staying at a hotel, sleep is everyones number one priority. If the bed was uncomfortable then we need to replace it. We will take a look at this as well, and make the appropriate arrangements to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We hope you will reconsider and give us another chance to show you that comfortable nights sleep that you were expecting and rightfully deserve as our guest. Thank you again for staying with us and like I said before we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is very clean. Complimentary breakfast was great - scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, donuts, toast, hot and cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, make your own waffles, a variety of drinks. We highly recommend this hotel to families looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an accessible room, they're bigger and have bath tubs instead of just showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInn030, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for such positive comments about your stay, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff and clean rooms are both very important keys to success, so your positive comments mean so much to all of us. Our breakfast is certainly something we are proud of and continue to work hard to always improve. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Breakfast options were surprisingly good and varied. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Not too many good restaurants in the immediate area, but don't need to go too far to find some. Neighborhood itself isn't much to shout about, but located conveniently off the highway near SUNY-Buffalo and about half an hour from downtown.

However, what really guaranteed my return business (if I am ever in the area again) is that the hotel has a written noise policy that all guests must read and sign. It covers not only in-room activities but also using public areas and hallways. If the front desk receives a noise complaint, the noisy guest covers the bill of the room lodging the complaint. Needless to say, the place is quiet and restful. Wonderful! I am going to suggest this to every hotel I visit from now on.

Room Tip: Request room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInn030, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
It is an honor to hear that you liked one of our policies so much that you will share our idea with every hotel that you stay at, thank you so much for those positive comments. Our noise policy was put in place to ensure all guest receive the quiet night sleep that you all deserve and rightfully expect. This policy is something we stand by 100% and take extremely seriously as we understand the importance of a quiet, relaxing, and enjoyable night's rest. Thank you for staying with us and yes please if you are back in the area again stay with us as we look forward to seeing you again. If you do come back please stop by the front desk and introduce yourself as I would like to personally say thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed one night in this lovely hotel. We were a group of 15 on a shopping trip; the 2 young ladies at the front desk had all 5 rooms ready and we were all checked in within minutes!
The rooms were very clean, shower was a nice size. The pool was a bit small, but served it's purpose for the 3 kids (7, 14 & 15 years old) at the end of a long day of shopping.
The rooms were a great price. considering it was a Canadian and American long weekend.
We would all stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInn030, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Your comments are greatly appreciated, we are honored that you decided to stay with us while in the area doing some shopping. The property is centrally located for all the outlets and malls in the area so that is certainly a plus for shoppers such as yourself. We are glad to hear that the check in process was quick for you and your group as we certainly wouldn't want to take away from any of your shopping time! Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not bad in overall, they have a swimming pool, but really small. Breakfast was nice, but coffee is awful. But would definetely stay there again, if I need to visit Buffalo.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011 via mobile

I used to love the Sleep Inn showers but anymore at most locations they are in need of repair. This one had severe mold and filth all around the doorframe and needed caulked badly. There was lipstick or pink crayon on the wall near the bed. All glass fixtures were smeared. Rooms are very small.

Pluses include a quiet location down a dead end street in a wooded area. It is very quiet. Staff was very friendly. Room fixtures were new.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 75 Inn Keepers Lane, Amherst, NY 14228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amherst
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amherst
Sleep Inn Amherst
Amherst Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.