We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been going to this location for years. It recently was renovated and the rooms look very modern and clean. The rooms with fireplaces and full kitchens are great and a place to call home after a busy day of shopping and having fun. Also a good location for shopping at the Boulavard Mall, Wegmans plus many other great stores.Kohls, Target, Macy's etc

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we enjoy the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
66
22
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here last month for the weekend. It was the first time staying here and I admit is was not my first choice. We stay in Amherst quite often since it's close to the border and the shopping is really good. The rooms here are clean with a kitchen if you prefer to cook. They are also quite roomy which is a change from the crowded hotel rooms in the area. It is close to the highway and there are many great restaurants within a short drive from the hotel. We will add this to our list of great hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being from Buffalo - returning home for a visit requires just the right place for an extended stay. The Residence Inn fit our needs perfectly - it may for you as well.
The facility was recently renovated - I believe in 2012 so it had the signature Mariott elements in the room. Some new - a few leftovers but they were not that noticable.
I remember the Residence Inn when we lived in the Buffalo area in the 80's so the facility is not what you typically see in new construction. There are individual buildings that contain groups of rooms on two levels. There are stairs that go to the second level - no elevators here.
The management is also serious about quiet - at check in you sign a document informing you about the policy. During our stay it was certainly quiet! In addition - Mariott staff and local police patrol the area so the facility is quite secure.
Our room was spacious and updated. Some of the quirks you may find are a part of the age of the facility.
In our room the counter for the bathroom sink was unusually low - not a big problem - just odd. The AC worked great. Oddly with all the conservation efforts the toilet was the old style that seemed to run forever. And the ultimate quirk - no place to put soap/shampoo, etc. in the shower - usually there is a soap dish built in the wall.
Overall the room served us well - my point here is that it was very good - it just didn't have that pollish that new construction has - just so you know.
The breakfast was standard Residence Inn fare - several of the staff were attentive and helpful - others were sort of in drone mode seemling oblivious of the crowd. There didn't seem to be an overall coordinator to make sure that everything was kept up as efficiently as possible, There were a lot of people there (Memorial Day weekend) but this is what they do so they should be experts at it.
It was great pulling up to the unit and walking a short distance to the room to unpack/pack - super convenient. On the day it rained...opps I have to go outside..hmmm just a reality but overall just something to consider.
And if you are in the senior category - Mariott has an amazing senior rate - we paid 118.00 a night which was perfect for our budget!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you have anyone who might have an issue with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttontown, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Aptitude and Attitude are at excellent standards here. The best cleaned and maintained facility I have encountered on more than 20 business trips. The staff here cares about how they do their job, front desk, managers, room service, outside and public area property workers. They maintain and deliver as if they owned the property and were hosting their daughter's wedding reception at their home and hosting dozens of overnight guests. I had suite 928 and the kitchen appliances were cleaned to showroom standards, the bathroom modest but shining clean as if in dress uniform for inspection day. The staff is genuinely concerned with your comfort, security and satisfaction: no phoney smiles or sugar coated voices, just welcoming dispositions. The breakfast is 4 star among its competitors.The grounds and public areas exquisitely kept(there are trees planted on the property with plaques honoring employees with 10 years of service).

Room Tip: When on business more than one night stays I like having the illusion of a lot of room space. The 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loira74
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had some problems, which they resoloved to our satisfaction. Full kitchen with silverware, plates and some cooking utensils. We were actually able to have dinner there once.We had a 2 story room, it was pleasant and homey. Good location. WONDERFUL breakfast. Pool only open briefly during summer months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As many of the other posters said, the front desk clerk was extremely friendly and very helpful. I think her name was Kelly. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but she was kind enough to call my cell phone to let us know when it was ready. The room was clean and well accommodating. Their breakfast was really nice and the location was perfect! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night and found the hotel to be the best Residence Inn we've stayed at. Free spaghetti and meatballs (plus wine and beer) on the night we stayed, and the complimentary breakfast was up to the Marriott standards. About 25 mins from Niagara falls, and for the price, we thought the location was great. Front desk staff was very helpful - providing directions and such. There were stray cats on the property (saw that in an earlier review), though the scattered when we were near and we did not hear them inside (we saw them walking inside at about 1000 pm).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.