We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roof Inn University at Buffalo Amherst” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Mississauga
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Red Roof Inn University at Buffalo Amherst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Paid $87 a night for two nights. Expected a better quality stay but was disappointed. Check in was fine. The reception was welcoming. Surrounding area was ok. A few eateries in the area. Room was well prepared when we saw it for the first time. Bedsheets and pillow cases looked clean. But bath room was a just a washing basin with a WC and a standing bathing area. No table top or ledge to keep toiletries. No bath tub. Very spartan. Towels appeared well used. Flat screen TV was installed right in front of working desk so when the wife is watching tv, I could not sit in front of desk to do work. Worst of all was the sound insulation from the next door rooms on both side. First night we had a baby who decided to cry at 3am and we could not sleep after that. Second night we had a couple making a lot of amorous noises while they were going at it at 5am. Couldn't sleep after that.

I should have paid another $30 a night to stay at a proper hotel. For what I paid, I expected better than Howard Johnson quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay. I want to start by saying I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests have a great stay with us and I am sorry we failed to deliver. I do want to thank you form mentioning our welcoming staff and our clean rooms. From reading your review it seems as though you were booked into one of our ADA accessible Superior King rooms. The ADA rooms are set up a little differently then our standard rooms to due to ADA standards. Our standard Superior King room would of suited you better I believe. It has a counter outside the bathroom with the sink and plenty of space to put toiletries. Also, the living area of the room is set up so there is a larger L-shaped worked desk away from the new flat screen televisions. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    121
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
93
73
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardners, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have Stayed at the Red Roof Inn at Amherst at least 3 times per year for the last 7 years. Born an raised in Buffalo area but relocated to the South Central Pennsylvania area 25 years ago. Stay at the Red Roof Inn at Amherst when visiting family in Western New York. Employees are friendly, rooms are clean and the Inn is very close to the major highways. Room rates are affordable, king size beds are comfortable and the outside of the Inn is well lit for safety. The Buffalo Zoo, Niagara Falls, Ralph Wilson Stadium and the First Niagara Center are all easy commutes from the Inn. Will be back in the spring to stay at the Inn again.

Room Tip: Superior King Rooms have more room for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We certainly enjoy having you as a loyal guest and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to see your family. Thank you so much for mentioning our clean rooms, friendly staff, and affordable rates. Thanks again for staying with us and we will see you in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanona, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

i travel for business and stay at the buffalo amherst location its in the middle of where i do business, the roooms are all recently up graded and very impressed with the new rooms , The rooms are clean the beds comfortable for a good nights rest , its very quiet even when theres a bills game in town. Lisa always has fresh coffee made in the morning best coffee in town,Steph always has my checkin paper work done before i get there The general manager goes out of his way to correct a problem i will stay there many more night to come

Room Tip: out side buildings have more parking then in the center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Thanks for mentioning our clean rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. Our staff tries to ensure that each and every guest has a great stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town for work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a clean - updated room for a good price. Nothing more, Nothing less.
The service was good and friendly, parking was ample and was close to many food places and things to do.
Complimentary coffee was bad, but there was 50 coffee shops right in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate that you mentioned our clean updated rooms. Our recently remodeled rooms now have faux hardwood flooring, flat screen tv's, new mattresses, and all new furniture. One again we appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First thing I would like to say is Red Roof Inn has a new customer for life! This is the First Red Roof I have ever stayed at, and I was impressed. During my search for a hotel to stay at, I came across the Buffalo Amherst property as a pet friendly hotel. Newly renovated, the room was perfect. It was the perfect size for two people and two Corgis. The front staff was very friendly and efficient, getting us checked-in, in a matter of minutes. We stayed three nights on our visit to Niagara Falls. This is a great location with the Falls a short 15 minute drive. Our room was in the far building, away from the street making for a very quiet nights rest. Amenities were gracious, loved the big flat screen TV and the complimentary toiletries.
During our stay we needed a quick clean up of our room and the housekeeper for our building was very efficient and happy to oblige us. I wish I could remember her name, (Anastasia or something unique like that). It was a great stay and now when we travel, we will be searching for Red Roof Inns along the way. Thank you for a great Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the second building away from the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time write such a positive review about our inn. We are sold glad that you decided to stay with us and that we have now gained a new Red Roof Inn guest for life!!! Thank you so much for mentiong our great staff, locations across from the University at Buffalo, and our newly remodeled rooms. Our new rooms have flat screen televisions, new mattresses and box springs, new wood like flooring, and new furniture. We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Red Roof Inn - University at Buffalo-Amherst. They recently completed renovations and the rooms look great! Comfortable beds -- clean room and the staff as always is very helpful and accommodating! This past weekend was sold out at the hotel and it was still surprisingly quiet. I have always gotten great rates and wonderful service from the staff here - from restaurant suggestions to assistance with some extremely loud room neighbors during one visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are so glad that you had a great stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean renovated rooms, our comfortable beds, and our wonderful staff. Our new rooms now have flat screen televisions, wood like flooring, all new mattresses, and new furniture and sinks. We are glad you liked the renovations and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night to visit Niagara Falls en route from New York State to Michigan. Staff very helpful, letting us drop off bags early so they weren't left in the car at Niagara. Room was surprisingly quiet considering the position in the centre of a triangle of busy roads. Only gripe is that the water wouldn't run cold - had to drink wine instead! Bed very comfy, facilities all worked, can't quibble at the reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. Thank you so much for mentioning our friendly staff, quiet location, and comfortable beds. I will make sure we look into why the water was not running cold in your room to ensure this is fixed right away. Once again thank you so much for staying with and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Address: 42 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#2 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.