We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was in Buffalo for the weekend to visit some friends from college.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Amherst, NY 14228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Rochester, New York
1 review
“I was in Buffalo for the weekend to visit some friends from college.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the facility was clean and my room was nice. It was what looked like a very busy weekend with kids running around and they even had a security officer walking the halls making sure the kids weren't disturbing people. I found that very courteous. I would recommend staying here if you're looking for a good room at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Nicholas C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that the staff was friendly and hotel was clean. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to visit!

Hospitably,
Justin Zarnoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had placed my son's expensive Beats headphones in the hotel room dresser drawer, and of course in the craziness of leaving around hockey games, they were left behind. When I suddenly remembered this driving home I called the hotel and they acknowledged the headphones and would put them in the mail home to us. I was so relieved, offering to pay postage or whatever was needed. Going away for spring break, I assumed the package would be home when we got home. It wasn't. Calling the hotel, they now have no recollection of the item and any items left behind are owners responsibility. So sad and frustrating. I see in the reviews this has happened before at this hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Firstly, let me apologize that your stay with us has been marred by your lost headphones. Our strict lost and found procedures have reunited many guests with lost items that range from expensive jewelry to simple gloves. It is astounding how many items are left behind on a daily basis and we are happy to report that a high percentage of these items are reunited with their owners. Other times, missing items are found later on by the guests themselves upon returning home and unpacking. We did find an item similar to yours with the same brand name and mistakenly informed you we had found your item. We regret the confusion and have hopes that your item resurfaces for you. Please know that our staff works very hard to try to recover any guest item that has been reported as lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a great place to stay. They have an indoor pool that is just to dive for. Place is very clean, the staff is very accomodating. Its only ten miles from niagara falls. Highly reccomend. Rooms are clean, free wifi and a fitness center.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our housekeeping team prides itself on keeping everything clean and comfortable for our guests. I'm delighted you enjoyed all the extra accommodations we offer our guests like the indoor pool, the fitness room, free WIFI and our very own blvd Bar & Grill. We look forward to welcoming you as a guest once again the next time you visit our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had my wedding room block at this hotel and everything was great! The staff was extremely helpful! The rooms were great! Again, the staff was what made this experience so great as they were all so accommodating! Thank you again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We enjoy our wedding bookings as much as our guests. The excitement of everyone creates such a happy atmosphere throughout the hotel. Our staff enjoys making everything as perfect as possible. We also offer banquet space that can be just what you were looking for to celebrate that special event. Here's to wishing you many years of happiness that we were honored to be a part of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were given a room right next to the exit door at the back of the hotel. Despite the hotel being half full (possibly 1/3 full), the lady at the desk decided to assign us the loudest room possible. We were kept up all night by the sound of opening and closing exit doors, and then in the morning, the sound of the room service staff talking (really yelling) at each other down the hall.

Besides the noise, the shower is terrible. There are three levels of water pressure you can get (slicing, stinging, and painful). The room needs a refresh for sure (fabric on couches is worn, holes in curtains, etc.)

Never going back there.

Room Tip: If you go, be sure to look at the floor plan before you confirm the room. Do not stay next to exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Thank you for making us aware of the issues you had while staying with us. Our sincerest apologies that you did not have a pleasant time while you were in our care. We take to heart the comfort of our guests and feel disappointed that you did not have an exemplary time while with us. We would love another opportunity to impress you the next time you come to the Amherst area. I would be more than happy to make your reservation personally if you could offer us the pleasure of staying with us again. We are confident we can do much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stayed one night while shopping in area. Pool just closed for some lengthy renos which was tuff to explain to kids. Otherwise a good stay. Place needs some updates on the decor. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry the pool was out of commission for your stay. We try our hardest to choose a low occupancy time when updating areas of our hotel. We were offering any guests that wanted to swim a day pass to the Aquatic Center in Tonawanda which included transportation. I'm glad you enjoyed our staff and had a good night's sleep. We look forward to your next visit when you can once again enjoy our pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We stayed here for one night to visit Buffalo State (10 min car ride to college and 15 min to airport). It was just okay for a Holiday Inn. They allow people to come in and out of hallway outside doors which makes it VERY cold in the hallway while the lobby was blasting hot air. There was a bus full of teen kids that came in and ran rapid through the halls, other guests were screaming at them to be quiet and be respectful. This went on for over 2 hours. This hotel is a low level hotel (2 floors) with a great restaurant attached. No free breakfast like in most holiday inn's but convenience of waiter(ress) service was nice for dinner and food was pretty good! We went to Niagra Falls the next day (15 min drive from this hotel). We prob would pick a different hotel next trip back.

Room Tip: Ask for second room or away from washer or pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for being a guest with us. Let me apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on making a special connection with our guests and we are disappointed when we do not succeed. Buffalo has had a record breaking year with freezing temperatures and we absolutely agree with you that it has been a challenge keeping warm no matter where you visit in the upstate area and all it has to offer.

Visions Hotels is also dedicated to supporting our community and hosted a number of youth hockey teams during your stay. While their arrival can be exciting and energy filled, we shifted them to a common area away from the guest rooms after arrival to celebrate their making it to the playoffs and wish them luck.

Your stay was just as important to us and we would love the opportunity to have you back to give us another chance to impress you. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We thrive off of our reviews and look at them as opportunities to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 1881 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Amherst, NY 14228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst, conveniently located between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. Only a few miles from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport we offer free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location is ideal for taking in the sights around Buffalo. Only a short drive to Niagara Falls, the Boulevard Mall, University of Buffalo Center for the Arts, and many summer festivals including the Italian Fest, Allentown Art Festival, Wing Fest and the Canal Fest. The hotel offers an indoor pool, 24hr fitness center and full service restaurant; blvd Bar and Grill offering American fare including Buffalo wings and award winning Bar-B-Q Ribs. The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst is an ideal place to stay for the sports fan. Close to UB Alumni Arena, Northtown Center in Amherst Ice rink and Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons. Ralph Wilson Stadium, home of the Buffalo Bills, is only a 30-minute ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Holiday Inn Amherst
Amherst Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.