We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel restaurant is a nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Amherst, NY 14228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel restaurant is a nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is OK, but the restaurant is terrible. Not only our dishes went back to the kitchen but also at least two other tables sent their dishes back. Overall a very dissapointing experience. Do not go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tonttu_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    62
    20
    11
See reviews for
59
29
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight after a road trip from Ithaca to Niagara Falls. The room was clean & comfortable with free parking, wi-fi & coffee. After a good night's sleep, I had a perfect breakfast (service could have been quicker) & headed back on the road to NYC. The front-office staff is awesome & always willing to assist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is located at a great location for us to do many of the shopping facilities and eating places. The hotel has lots of parking facility and free wifi and guest facility for internet use. Hotel also has an attached restaurant and Bar which they promote with coupons. Rooms are large enough and pleasant furniture with latest TVs and cable facility. Bathroom was an avg. All in all for the price, I booked thru priceline, was a very good value for the money. I will certainly stay there again and would recommend to others to try it out. Just go thru some online booking to get the best rates.

Room Tip: Some rooms were going thru fresh paint which created a smell problem in the hallway. Some upgrading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have frequented this hotel with approx 6 stays over last 6 months.

1 room reeked so bad from black mold coming for toilet area that I immediately requested room change. This month Sep 2013, checked into room, found carpet with dirt in corners.Bed linen rumpled and aged. Housekeeping after night one made bed, little else, dirt still there.

Front staff friendly.

Am surprised this was rated a 3.5 star. Should be a 1-2 star.

Room Tip: A different hotel until they inject quality control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear J Z,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel, updated, super friendly staff, and very clean. Only complaint, like most hotels, you can hear the everything. Thin walls. Other than that I'll definitely stay here again on my next shopping trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you Jessica0218 for writing such a nice review. We appreciate when guests take the time to provide such positive feedback! The staff takes great pride in providing a clean and well serviced product. I do want to apologize for any inconvenience of our seemingly thin walls. We anticipate continued upgrades and improvements going into next year and hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting the Buffalo Amherst area for shopping in the future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Title sums it up. I came for a friends engagement party and didn't spend a significant amount of time in the room. The front desk was very friendly and obviously works very hard. The ability to use the shuttle was clutch because I didn't bring a car. I'm a stickler for cleanliness and the room could have felt a little cleaner. Just comes down to age and use.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Reed V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the room cleanliness. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on a Canadian long weekend to do some cross border shopping. Rented 2 rooms and both were clean and bed was very comfy. Location was excellent, close to several strip malls, restaurants (Olive Garden, Denny's, Ihop etc). Hotel did have a restaurant and a pool however we did not use either. 15 minute drive to Military Road and the outlet mall.
Front desk very knowledgable about services in the area and provided a list of same. Check in and out was fast.
Good value for the money. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 1881 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Amherst, NY 14228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst, conveniently located between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. Only a few miles from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport we offer free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location is ideal for taking in the sights around Buffalo. Only a short drive to Niagara Falls, the Boulevard Mall, University of Buffalo Center for the Arts, and many summer festivals including the Italian Fest, Allentown Art Festival, Wing Fest and the Canal Fest. The hotel offers an indoor pool, 24hr fitness center and full service restaurant; blvd Bar and Grill offering American fare including Buffalo wings and award winning Bar-B-Q Ribs. The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst is an ideal place to stay for the sports fan. Close to UB Alumni Arena, Northtown Center in Amherst Ice rink and Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons. Ralph Wilson Stadium, home of the Buffalo Bills, is only a 30-minute ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Holiday Inn Amherst
Amherst Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.