We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Buffalo Amherst)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great staff, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gret staff and clean, modern hotel. Restaurant/bar staff is friendly and food is pretty decent. Not much around but there is two nice bars down in a shopping center on the corner and Univ of Buffalo is across the street. Rooms are comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi LaurLaw,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad you pointed out our friendly team and the level of cleanliness you experienced. Please remember on your next visit, we shuttle our guests anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the building, so we can easily take you the the Maple Road Entertainment Corridor which is 1 mile from the hotel. There is a large mall, dozens of restaurants, movie theater, and other activities right around the block.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    176
    85
    38
    18
See reviews for
189
86
19
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotels in Niagara falls during peak season are crazily priced and thus I didnt mind staying a few miles away for the difference was huge. Being a Hilton aficinado, i opted for this Double Tree for it was the closest and cheapest to Niagara Falls and who doesnt loves the signature Double Tree cookie.
So the hotel is a good 20-25 minute drive to Niagara falls and is very close to SUNY so for students or visiting professors, this is a good option. There are several hotels in this area, however there isnt any restaurant closeby so you have to drive a bit.
being a status holder with Hilton, i got upgraded to a 2 room suite which was good as the living room with the kitchenette was great. the bathroom was a great size too.
A big dampener was the breakfast, being a privileged member and being entitled to free bfast, unlike most double tree's, this one only provided me an option of a juice bottle and a danish pastry from the hotel's coffee shop which as a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Request for one of the few suites this property has, you'll like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello thewanderer,

Thank you for the nice review. Yes, we are close to the falls and yes, we see a large number of Niagara Falls visitors staying in our area. Thank you for being a HHonors member, we appreciate your loyality, and the upgrades are always our pleasure. I am somewhat perplexed about your breakfast situation, as our complimentary Diamond HHonor Member Breakfast includes a large variety of items and choices for you. Please contact me directly so I may further understand what happenened during breakfast on this visit. My information is listed below.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
716.689.0015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Not being familiar with hotels in or near Buffalo airport we spent lots of time searching the Internet and reading reviews. We have been happy with Double Tree and this location is no exception.
The location is very easy to get to, not far from Buffalo downtown (or the Peace Bridge)
The hotel has a very nice lobby with an open area, small bar area with flat screen tvs and a small dinning room area.
The rooms are not huge, but they are adequate with 2 double beds, desk and chair and HDTV.
The washroom is clean, but again not huge. Free WIFI.
The most impressive part is how friendly and accommodating all the staff are, the ladies at the front desk, the bartender and even the gentlemen that appeared to be doing some maintenance in the hallway. In today's society with customer service this is truly noteworthy.
The parking at the rear of the hotel is where the vehicle is left when you fly out, so there are no issues about having to drop it off at another location. A shuttle service is available for rides to and from the airport.
If you need a convenient location to stay near Buffalo airport that has included parking you should give this location a serious look.
Even our 2 teenage kids have complemented the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was lovely, had everything I needed. Loved the music station selections on the TV - smooth jazz at night, classical in the morning with my in-room tea! The staff was outstanding....from the room maids, the cleaning personnel in the hallway, the front desk, every person had a smile and a hello or good morning! I would DEFINITELY stay here again!! Excellent!!

Room Tip: I saw several of the rooms of the people with whom I was traveling - all were fine. Everyone slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeville, on
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rated as 3 1/2 star - no way. Room tiny - no closet, can't provide fridge (probably because not enough room). Beer caps and debris in the electric heater - room 223.. Curtains look like original with hotel. Not well maintained. We paid for 2 nights through t/p company. Going to cut our losses after tonight and go somewhere else. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Trevor C951,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Let me first apologize for what sounds like a not so pleasant stay. I have deployed our maintenance team to investigate the issues you noted about your guest room. I would also like the opportunity to speak with you further about this stay. Additionally, we do have multiple type guestrooms in the hotel, some room types offer larger spaces for those requiring a bit more room, and also rooms which feature refrigerators and microwaves. Our hotel does have 187 rooms to offer a wide variety of options which we try and satisfy the many varied needs of our many guests.

Please telephone me at the number below so I can learn more about your stay.

Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely.

Tom Molenda
General Manager
716.689.0015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff always very friendly, as well as the shuttle drivers. Bartenders are nice and the food is good. Fun and good sports bar/restaurant across the street(Santoras), if the hotel bar is closed. The rooms are warmly decorated. Beds are very comfortable. Overall a nice place to stay when in Buffalo. And of course the Doubletree warm cookie you get at check-in is a great way to start your stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As a business traveler and Hilton Diamond member, I spend many nights in Hilton properties. This one is simply not up to par. I understand it was previously an Indigo hotel, and from my experience, it has not upgraded to what I have come to expect from the Hilton chain.
I arrived at around 10pm and although I was the only guest at the desk, the clerk couldn't take her eyes off of her computer screen to help me. I cooled my heels for quite a while as she continued to start at her computer, until finally another staff came over to check me in. First impressions count greatly and this was not a good one.
Room was average but had a poor layout and no place for one's suitcase. Bed was good but clearly the room needs renovation.
Room service was also average or below and not a good value for the money. I regularly use room service at Hilton Hotels and this was not up to par.
The worst was the fitness center which had only 1 item of cardio equipment which was working. The rest either had "out of order" signs or were in fact out of order. Not good.
The entire 2 day stay was average at best.
I will not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst

Address: 10 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Buffalo Amherst)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst welcomes you with an innovative blend of contemporary design and traditional hospitality. Conveniently located just off I-290 in Amherst, NY, the hotel is between downtown Buffalo and beautiful Niagara Falls. Park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and fly from our suburban, northeast Buffalo hotel, just 10 minutes from Buffalo International Airport. Drive less than one mile to the University of Buffalo North Campus (SUNY) and only minutes to shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Amherst
Amherst Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.