We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Pepper Chinese-Vietnamese

Red Pepper Chinese-Vietnamese
3910 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14226
(716) 831-3878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 113 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I LOVE this place! The lunch specials are a GREAT deal. However, dinner prices are reasonable and portion sizes increase. We've eaten in and have ordered takeout as well. When eating in, you get a glass of water and a pot of black tea (this doesn't cost extra), in addition to some fried wonton strips with a choice of two dipping sauces (chilled duck sauce - not like the kind in a package, sooo much better and a yellow spicier sauce). I love the lo mein, but my favorite is the vegetable and the pork (same pork they use in the fried rice, which is AWESOME). We also love the General Tso's chicken, wonton soup, and hot & sour soup. I also have friends that rave about the Pho. If you want chopsticks, you have to ask for some. For leftovers they'll package everything up for you in the white take out boxes. When ordering takeout, everything is packaged so nicely!!! If you have a lot of items, they make sure you have a sturdy paper bag or a box to make transport easy. For parking, if there's nothing available up front there is more parking in the back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh food, friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This combination of cuisines means I can always find something interesting to eat. I usually go for the Pho (5 varieties) because it's the best in the area and my husband loves to try things from the Chinese menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is your typical Chinese restaurant. The food is good and you have plenty leftovers for lunch the next day. Their sweet and sour chicken is good. The won ton soup however needs work. The broth is very weak. But a good value for your money,.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My go-to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is my family's go to Chinese restaurant. it is reasonably priced with a wide variety of choices. One of my family members is sensitive to MSG and this is the only Chinese restaurant we have been able to find that doesn't bother his stomach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Orange beef lunch special with white rice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It does not matter when you come here- they always get it right. The service is great. The food is tasty, and the consistency is what makes the pepper awesome! Best lunch special in town! Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Pepper Chinese-Vietnamese also viewed

 

Been to Red Pepper Chinese-Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Pepper Chinese-Vietnamese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.