We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service trumps good food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco Ristorante

San Marco Ristorante
2082 Kensington Ave, Amherst, NY 14226
+1 716-839-5876
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Amherst
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Locally owned and family operated for 31 years. We strive to provide you the best Northern Italian cuisine in all of Buffalo.
Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bad service trumps good food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I know this is a top rated restaurant and I (we) will try it again. A special occasion event (anniversary) left us high and dry because of the lousy service - not lousy but rude.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everyone is right - this place does have exceptional food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Finally went last week with my family and truly enjoyed a great meal with excellent wine menu that is reasonably priced. Superb northern Italian food with plenty of specials to choose from. Pricing was just as competitive or cheaper than most others in the area. Make reservations ahead if time since they always seem busy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Delicious! Authentic Italian food. Excellent service. Elegant. Perfect for a romantic dinner.
Each time we go, it is the same perfection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere, very elegant yet cozy. Authentic Italian host, attentive friendly waitress. Great Italian wine. And now the best part...the food! Truly delicious meals. I had the ravioli appetizer and fucilli entree. They taste so different than anything I've ever had, a wonderful unique combination of flavors. Definitely one of my favorite restaurants in buffalo!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere, Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

From the moment you enter, you realize you are in a special place. The owner provides a welcoming greeting and escorts you to your table. The specials are just that, special. The wait staff is top notch and the ambience second to none. The food is fresh and delicious from appetizer to entree. We had a wonderful table and a fantastic time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marco Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to San Marco Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.