We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service lacks maturity” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
4350 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 129 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service lacks maturity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My guy friend and I wanted to try a new place last night. The service was the worst I've ever encountered. We were not greeted upon entering. The hostess left us standing by the door and I had to ask for a table, but was met with attitude and confusion. There was a strong lack of maturity. We made the manager aware and he made excuses and took no action. I'm not sure how anace that's treats it's customers like his is still in business.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stopped here for a bite and a few beers ! FANTASTIC selection of microbrews !! We had a couple really nice sandwiches too ! Atmosphere is "sportsbar-ish" but we still had a nice quiet place to sit, relax and had a nice meal. I would recommend for the beers alone..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Slainte!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wonderful Irish pub with a wide selection of beers on tap and a great menu. In addition to traditional Irish favorites and pub fare, the menu features a craft-your-own-sandwich option, choosing from on-site freshly baked bread and slow roasted meats. I'm particularly delighted to see that, having visited some of McGregor's other locations in Rochester, food and service have remained consistently good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Service and food lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On the day we visited, the service was slow and the food was mediocre. Wouldn't recommend for food, but the beer selection is great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
“Great Beer and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

MacGregor's has one of the best beer selections in Buffalo with great rotating seasonals and local choices, I especially like Flying Bison! The food is pretty standard American pub food, but really tasty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.