We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Buffalo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Buffalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I travel 3 weeks out of a month for business. I have stayed at a several hotels in the Buffalo area. This is my new favorite place to stay! The Candlewood Suites is located in Amherst, a short drive from the airport, close to a mall and major restaurants, the University of Buffalo, and not too far from Niagara Falls. Check-in was quick and easy. As a priority club member, I was given a goody bag which included a coupon for a complimentary glass of wine at the Indigo Hotel. The hotel is modern, contemporary and still looks brand new. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and spacious. The rooms are equipped with a full kitchen, a work desk and free internet access. Additionally, they have a flat screen TV and DVD player. You can borrow movies to watch in your room. I stayed in room 114 across the hall from the gym/laundry and beside the elevator. Other than occasional noises from the elevator, the hotel was very quiet. Use of the guest laundry facilites is free. The front desk and housekeeping staff are exceptional. They catered to my every need and went above and beyond to make sure my stay was pleasant. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I hope to stay here everytime I'm in Buffalo, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
14
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leavenworth ks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

During a terrible time due to a death in the family we had rooms booked for us from an employee/relative.
The rooms were in great shape and the staff very helpful and friendly. Constantly asking if there was anything they could do.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

It was by far the best experience we've had in hotel living. The manager Judy went above and beyond the "job" to make sure all of our needs were met.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed here for just one night and we were definitely impressed. Exceptional customer service at the front desk at both check-in and check-out. A friendly smiling welcome and equally as friendly good-bye, both giving great impressions. The customer is most important at this spotless hotel. Our 2 queen bedroom "suite" (though really just one room) was a very pleasant surprise with its large size, full-size refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishwasher. The beds were absolutely incredible comfortable, we all slept so well ! Very nice large flat screen TV and DVD player and an entire list of DVD's available from the front desk. Amazingly quiet hotel for such a busy area, we never heard a sound from the time we checked in at 4:00 pm and all through the night. We had originally requested a top floor room and the check-in clerk informed us that there was a large group all on that floor. She suggested the first floor as a quieter alternative. I wouldn't normally take a first floor room, but we're so glad we did. Again, so peaceful, you couldn't hear a sound from rooms on either side or above either. Oh, and can't forget the free internet service, which was excellent the entire time and free parking too.
I think we paid a very fair nightly rate considering there are a couple of other chain hotels in the area that are $50-$60 more! We wouldn't have traded our room for either - we had everything we needed and more.
I highly recommend this hotel, it truly couldn't have been a single bit better! WOW, we were totally impressed!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Decided to have a weekend shopping getaway in Buffalo and turned to Tripadvisor for advice. We decided on Candlewood based on reviews and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is very new, just a few months old. Everything still smells new, the bed linen was very clean & fresh, bathroom spotless. Room had fridge & stove, etc, everything you need for an extended stay. This hotel however does not offer free breakfast, that is one reason why it is so reasonably priced, but don't worry, Denny's, Tim Horton's, etc, located very close to hotel for breakfast. Excellent location, Boulevard Mall (in my opinion best mall in Buffalo area) is only about a mile down the road. Many restaurants, stores, etc, in this area. Front desk people were very friendly & helpful. For our next trip to this area there is no doubt we will return to this hotel.... highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

i over heard the housekeeping manager yelling at an employee about reporting a dicomfort feeling about being an employee. it was obvious that the manager was upset about the girl reporting it to a higher position boss named judy. it was terrible and early in the morning on oct 10th 2009. i would never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here during our trip to Niagara. All the hotels near Niagara were expensive and this place was just 20 mins from Niagara, so decided to stay here. We were worried how the hotel would be and we were taken by surprise. The hotel was really wonderful and spacious and very clean. This hotel is much better than the 3.5 star hotels you get in Manhattan. There was even a proper kitchen and dining table for 4 within the room. I wish I had pics to show you how nice the hotel was. The hotel also had a fitness centre and a laundry room.

Just had one bad incident - we heard some loud thumping noise on top of our room in the middle of the night and the front desk receptionist knocked our door at 3 am as someone in the floor below us had complained about it. I wish they called us to inquire instead of coming to the room. Even in the morning to find out if we are checking out, they knock on the door and inquire.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Buffalo has to offer at the convenient, comfortable all new Candlewood Suites hotel Buffalo/Amherst. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Only a short drive from Niagara Falls and 8 miles from Buffalo Niagara International Airport BUF. You will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Buffalo/Amherst to do. And there is easy access to I-290, I-90 and I-190. Whether you re coming to Buffalo for business or just for fun your room at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high-speed Internet, work center, free guest laundry, fitness center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The best of Buffalo is waiting for you at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.