We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel...classy people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
468 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Classy hotel...classy people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been traveling for over 40 years and know a great place when we stay there. How welcoming Brad was upon our arrival. We received the red carpet treatment. He was very knowledgeable regarding the Buffalo and other suburban areas. We received good tips on restaurants and attractions. I was greeted and welcomed by Laurie Giancola and Tanira. Every day I was wished a good morn ing, good evening, how was your day, how was your meal, etc. What a wonderful staff! They all seem to enjoy their jobs and visitors. Always smiling....always willing to assist you. Bruce Miller, engineer took my cart and returned it to the lobby for me and wished me a wonderful stay. I enjoyed getting up and going for coffee and being greeted. My husband and I try to stay at Candlewood Suites whenever possible. This is one of the very best places. The room was spacious, beds ultra comfortable, immaculately clean and quiet. We can't wait to go back there on our return trip to Buffalo. Many evenings we found ourselves in the lobby for one thing or another and was always greeted by staff. Brad shared lots of information that was very helpful on this trip. Although we are former Buffalonians, the areas have changed a great deal so it was helpful to be updated. This hotel should receive a "6" overall rating...over and above excellent.

Room Tip: We were in room 400 at the end of the hall. It was very quiet. Close to the Buffalo airport but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. The staff is small but very dedicated. Jackie Lewis, General Manager, and Laurie Giancola, Operations Manager have built a very professional and engaged group of front desk associates. I will share your comments with Tamira, Bruce and Brad. They all truly love what they do and it shows. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of the beds. We do appreciate it. Please stay with us again if you find yourselves back in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
17
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The location was very good, as we were in town visiting family that lives in Grand Island and since we didn't like our stay in GI last time we opted this time to stay in the Amherst area. The rooms are a decent size and with the full sized refrigerator , small cook top, and microwave it made the accommodations very comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. If you have a pet they charge $25 for the pet cleaning fee and there is plenty of space (parking lots mostly with some grassy areas) where you can walk your dog. My only complaint is that the towels were not comfortable , as they had ridges going down them and they were scratchy when you used them. I guess we are used to softer towels, but since that was the only complaint I say for the money and convenience in their location, we will be back! Maybe, down the road they can change their towels to what the Holiday Inn /Express use as they are much softer. (Just a suggestion) thanks !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for noticing we are pet friendly. Traveling with pets is more commonplace now more than ever. We try to make staying with your pet worry free.
I apologize for the scratchy towels. I will share your review with our Executive Housekeeper. We appreciate your kind words about the staff. We're a small staff but extremely dedicated to your hotel experience with us.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were traveling from TN to NY and knew we would arrive late. Jackie Lewis, hotel manager, did a great job of accommodating our needs. The staff was great, upon arrival. Beds were very comfortable and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Great location to Buffalo's finest and proximate to Niagara Falls attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. Jackie Lewis and her staff try to do as much as they can to help our guests out no matter the issue. We're a small staff, but dedicated to the guests experience at the Candlewood.
Thank you again and please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Amherst area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We made a return trip to this hotel and our stay was even better than the first. Took our Golden Retriever along. Very pet friendly as they only charge around 20 bucks as opposed to some places in the area that charge 75 plus. They honored out advanced request for a ground level room making it easy to walk the dog. Plenty of grass area on site for that purpose. Room was clean and comfortable with kitchenette and apartment size fridge with plenty of ice. Staff there made our dog as welcome as they did us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are "pet friendly" (especially Golden Retrievers...!). We understand many travelers do travel with their pets. We try to make it as painless as possible. Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area and stop by for a doggy treat for your Golden.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Love this hotel, the lobby us simple and the rooms are great! Full size fridge, dishwasher, stove top, microwave, ice maker and the best part a lazy boy chair to sit back and relax! Mattress was the most comfortable one I have slept on in my travels. Book online to get the best price. Great work out room with new working equipment. Clean room and you can wash your glasses and know they haven't been washed in a bathroom sink by the maids like most hotels...really hate this and will not drink from a glass cup in any hotel room unless I know for fact its been put in a dishwasher. Nice ppl at front desk, very helpful, great location close to shopping and dining...across the road from u of b. Will definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write about our hotel....
You should work here. I couldn't have said it better and I get paid to do it. Thank you for noticing many of the amenities at the hotel that our guests love. We also have gas grills by the gazebo so our guests can grill during the summer.
Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself back in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a very pleasant, pet-friendly property. We had a double queen suite on the ground floor on a busy weekend last summer, but it was very quiet and orderly. Free laundry was great as we were halfway through a long trip. We felt much more secure than we have before when staying at the Red Roof Inn right next door. Lots of great space for walking the dog and there seems to be a trail for runners. We saw a family of ducks in the little creek that runs between the highway and the hotel.Bonus!
The full kitchen would be great for long stays , but when you are just overnight it is hard to resist taking a run up the road to load up on Buffalo wings at Duff's, or even great pizza within walking distance. An added treat is that you can use the swimming pool at the Doubletree by Hilton a short walk across the parking lot, since both hotels have the same owners. A bit of an odd bonus, but the pool is nice. Also, the pet fee is $25, which is $25 less than the Doubletree pet fee, too. Looking at booking again this summer and discovered that Candlewood is now charging an extra $10 per adult (on the website), for the best flexible rate, but if you pay an extra $10 for BonusPoints you get the room plus 1,000 IHG reward points and you don't have to pay the extra adult fee. Go figure. You will get a good night's sleep in a clean and well-appointed room with a TV that gets a ton of channels. Cookies are irresistible.

Room Tip: Grnd. fl. room near exit away from front desk is great for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. The location of the hotel has a nice mix of residential, retail and woods...we get deer, turkeys and plenty of ducks. Depending on the time of year...geese living on the roof of the Doubletree.
Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the hotel. The housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the hotel up. We are not a typical hotel with all the bells and whistles. You pointed out we're great for a long term stay since all rooms have stoves, microwaves, refrigerator, etc...we are an extended stay hotel with many long term guests. It's nice having a sister property with all the bells and whistles to give our guests an opportunity to sample a different hotel.
Thank you again and please stay with us again if you're in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. They made you feel right at home. Always a greeting when you left and came back to the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Full kitchens, free wifi, free laundry. All the things you don't get from a big name change. This is my second stay at a Candlewood and I will continue to stay again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our free Wi-Fi, free laundry, free fitness center. We also have a complimentary managers reception every Tuesday from 5pm-6pm offering food and soft drinks.
Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 18 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.