We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay but perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One night stay but perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just stayed here for the night with family and the hotel was very nice. Room was very large and bed comfortable. Would be a great place for a longer stay with a full fridge and little kitchen. Workout area was nice and clean and they even had a laundry area if needed. Front desk staff was so nice and very helpful each time we were in the lobby and gave great options for dinning and directions. We like local places to eat instead of chains (unless they are local chains) and we were not disappointed by their suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We're very happy your stay was enjoyable. We are an extended stay hotel and as you pointed out a perfect place to stay for a long period of time.
If you ever find yourself in the Buffalo area please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
15
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This pet friendly suite hotel is conveniently located. Our suite on the third floor had a separate bederoom and nicely appointed kitchen. The central air vent is located just below the window in the living, unfortunately the sofa is also next to that window -- mkaing it very uncomfortable when the air is blowing directly on you as you sit on the sofa. The central air vent in the bedroom was just a fan coming off the central unit in the living...a noisey vent at that. We were staying four nights but, becuase it was less than a week, we didn't get any room cleaning or even extra bags for the trash cans. We "exchanged" our dirty towels at the front desk for clean ones when necessary.The doggy "walking area" was a small patch of grass behind the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, you might want to get a first floor suite...we were on the 3rd floor and some cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear FreqTravRet,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the AC unit in the room has been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were there for two night at the beginning of September for the Bills first game of the year. It was quiet and the room was clean. However, the maid mist some spots in the bath and there were some stains on the sheet. We had two beds so it was not a problem, we slept in the other one. The reception clerk was helpful and polite. Note that they do not have any swimming pool or hot tub. We would certainly go back if we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: 20 minutes from Downtown Buffalo and 30 minutes from the Bills Stadium,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Arrived early and the woman at the desk tried her hardest to accommodate us. We took a trip to Niagara Falls and were pleasantly surprised when we checked in that night. The room was very well appointed and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room had a nice size kitchen. Again, the staff was super and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. Our hotel is not the typical hotel room. All of our rooms have a complete kitchen. Our staff strives to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for noticing their efforts.
If you ever find yourself in the Buffalo area please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern US
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is NOT the hotel for a romantic getaway, but if you want a large, comfortable room with a full kitchen and comfortable beds, give it a try. It is especially well-suited for longer stays. I have never been to a hotel that has free washers and dryers for guests! The staff were very nice. It was immaculately clean and much quieter than some of the other hotels in the area. (It has no bar or restaurant and no large public areas so I think it doesn't attract party-goers.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate it. We are not your typical hotel. We're an extended stay hotel without all the bells and whistles of "normal" hotels. We do offer our guests free parking, free Wi-Fi, free fitness center, free laundry and every room has a full kitchen. Our rooms are large and the beds are comfortable.
Our staff is really enjoy what they do and it shows.
If you find yourself in Buffalo again please stay with us again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights great location appr. 20 min for Galleria Mall and Prime outlets close to restaurants and just off highway.
The rooms are fair size queen beds we were 5 all together an the rooms was comfortable.
Priced pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are located in such a great area. 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 20 minutes from the Walden Galleria, 20 minutes from Downtown Buffalo.
Our pricing is different than most hotels because we don't offer all the "bells and whistles" you get at most hotels. Our rooms are big and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, free guest laundry.
Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First the elevator was broke for 2 days so had to carry all my stuff to the 4th floor. OK things happen; but on check out I left a day early and they would not refund the last night because I booked on booking.com BEWARE if it is pre-paid they said they could not refund it. The hotel was ok average; I was able to bring my cat as they accept pets. Not much within walking distance regarding eateries so a car would be needed or a bicycle. No pool but you can use the one next door however it is indoor and I was there in July.

Room Tip: Do not stay near the elevators! Don't bother with the sister hotels food; not worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Jane L,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Buffalo has to offer at the convenient, comfortable all new Candlewood Suites hotel Buffalo/Amherst. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Only a short drive from Niagara Falls and 8 miles from Buffalo Niagara International Airport BUF. You will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Buffalo/Amherst to do. And there is easy access to I-290, I-90 and I-190. Whether you re coming to Buffalo for business or just for fun your room at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high-speed Internet, work center, free guest laundry, fitness center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The best of Buffalo is waiting for you at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.