We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with one caveat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
mi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
431 helpful votes 431 helpful votes
“Great Stay with one caveat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We decided to take our dog on this two night trip so that limits you choices. We decided to try this hotel. Arrival and check in was fine. Friendly staff. Perks for reward membership. No breakfast but a pay as you go pantry. Kitchenette in room. Big rooms with comfy beds. Plenty of green-space around the property to walk the dog. Free internet worked fine.The one caveat; If you want to cancel a reservation, it will cost you a night fee. Didn't notice that when I made the reservation. But all in all a nice hotel.

Room Tip: pet friendly for only $25 for whole stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    32
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
15
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was just serviceable for us. We were there for a wedding weekend. There's no restaurant or breakfast, no maid service, no pool. My 8 year old said "what kind of hotel doesn't even have a place for breakfast??" While there was a functional kitchen area in the room, we didn't have time to go grocery shopping. In any event, since there was no maid service, if we had cooked, the garbage would have stayed in the room the whole stay. I like to have my bed made and my garbage emptied every day in a hotel room. There was also just soap and shampoo in the bathroom (no conditioner or moisturizer), and a lame blowdryer. The room was spacious but that's about it. I don't know how it compared price-wise to the other hotels in the complex (Marriott, Double Tree, Red Roof Inn), but I sure hope it was cheap. (We just stayed where the bridal party stayed without doing any research.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and taking time out of your day to do it. I'm sorry our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Our hotel concept is a little different than a standard hotel. We're an extended stay hotel which means limited amenities that you are used to. Having fewer amenities, pool, breakfast, daily housekeeping keeps our rates lower than a typical hotel. Our rooms are bigger, some say apartment like, due to the fact we sometimes have guests stay in that same room for months at a time.
Thank you again for your review. If you'd like to discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Built for business and not so much the overnight travelor. Small suites but affordable are its strengths, the negatives are lack of parking, no free breakfast and unreliable wi-fi. Not sure why people call it family friendly, I find it family non friendly and doubt I will stay again. They do too much business for their competition by pointing their guests for good coffee and breakfast to the doubletree next door. Very strange concept by holiday inn.. Good staff and clean hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. It is true our hotel is not "typical" hotel especially for the one or two night traveler. We're an extended stay property where some of our guests essentially live at the hotel, instead of renting an apartment. Without the "typical" amenities that other hotels offer, we can offer better rates for extended stay guests.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the cleanliness of the property. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the hotel clean.
Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish. Everyone that works at this hotel is friendly and kind. The hotel looks very clean, new and fresh. The Managers Jackie and Tamara really go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. This should really be a teaching/model hotel , to educate other hotels how to properly run their properties. It is definitely way above average in every way possible. . The price is very reasonable and the best thing is every Tuesday night they have a bbq for their guests !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms are nice and equipped with kitchenettes. Bath amenities like towels, bath soap, shampoo, etc. are all okay compared to surrounding hotels.

Although some of the rooms are already showing wear and tear and their wifi are a bit slow and unstable with frequent connection drops.

Parking at night can be hard as they have small parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear TravellingOracle,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room and bathroom amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding Internet connection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in the Buffalo area. We needed a kitchenette, easy access to Buffalo without staying IN Buffalo, and a room that fit us and our two college age kids, which means wi-fi. This hotel was perfect and I can't commend the value enough. A full size fridge, stovetop, microwave, great cable. Close to main roads but we slept soundly. Easy to find coming from the Falls, did some shopping too. We are a bunch of celiacs and it's close to several Wegman's, Outback, Bonefish grill and Carraba's plus the fine dining Buffalo guide is coded for gf fine dining. No, there's no pool or free breakfast. But it was seriously less expensive--- even after a charge for the foldaway bed and the munchies we bought at the little lobby store--- than my next choice and every bit as great a stay. We will never look for another metro Buffalo hotel. It's a keeper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good location right across from the entrance to UB North Campus, near lots of restaurants and stores. Very comfortable - very clean. A good place to stay if you are looking for a spacious room with a nice kitchen. Some things to note: This hotel shares a parking lot with what used to be a Hotel Indigo, but is now a DoubleTree. When it was a Hotel Indigo, you were welcome to utilize the facilities there as they were both IHG properties - that's where you will find a bar/lounge, pool, etc. Now that it's a DoubleTree, that's no longer the case. I'm sure they wouldn't mind you spending money at the bar, but you won't be able to use the pool, hot tub, etc. There's a fitness room at the Candlewood, but that's it. This is an extended stay hotel - these types of hotels generally only provide housekeeping once a week. You can get fresh towels and linens, etc. if you need them, but if you want your bed made every morning - you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: This hotel 'does' have connecting rooms - which can often be noisier, especially in extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Buffalo has to offer at the convenient, comfortable all new Candlewood Suites hotel Buffalo/Amherst. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Only a short drive from Niagara Falls and 8 miles from Buffalo Niagara International Airport BUF. You will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Buffalo/Amherst to do. And there is easy access to I-290, I-90 and I-190. Whether you re coming to Buffalo for business or just for fun your room at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high-speed Internet, work center, free guest laundry, fitness center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The best of Buffalo is waiting for you at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.