We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumb concept” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Amherst
Benton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Dumb concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Built for business and not so much the overnight travelor. Small suites but affordable are its strengths, the negatives are lack of parking, no free breakfast and unreliable wi-fi. Not sure why people call it family friendly, I find it family non friendly and doubt I will stay again. They do too much business for their competition by pointing their guests for good coffee and breakfast to the doubletree next door. Very strange concept by holiday inn.. Good staff and clean hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. It is true our hotel is not "typical" hotel especially for the one or two night traveler. We're an extended stay property where some of our guests essentially live at the hotel, instead of renting an apartment. Without the "typical" amenities that other hotels offer, we can offer better rates for extended stay guests.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the cleanliness of the property. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the hotel clean.
Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    33
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
17
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish. Everyone that works at this hotel is friendly and kind. The hotel looks very clean, new and fresh. The Managers Jackie and Tamara really go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. This should really be a teaching/model hotel , to educate other hotels how to properly run their properties. It is definitely way above average in every way possible. . The price is very reasonable and the best thing is every Tuesday night they have a bbq for their guests !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms are nice and equipped with kitchenettes. Bath amenities like towels, bath soap, shampoo, etc. are all okay compared to surrounding hotels.

Although some of the rooms are already showing wear and tear and their wifi are a bit slow and unstable with frequent connection drops.

Parking at night can be hard as they have small parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear TravellingOracle,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room and bathroom amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding Internet connection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in the Buffalo area. We needed a kitchenette, easy access to Buffalo without staying IN Buffalo, and a room that fit us and our two college age kids, which means wi-fi. This hotel was perfect and I can't commend the value enough. A full size fridge, stovetop, microwave, great cable. Close to main roads but we slept soundly. Easy to find coming from the Falls, did some shopping too. We are a bunch of celiacs and it's close to several Wegman's, Outback, Bonefish grill and Carraba's plus the fine dining Buffalo guide is coded for gf fine dining. No, there's no pool or free breakfast. But it was seriously less expensive--- even after a charge for the foldaway bed and the munchies we bought at the little lobby store--- than my next choice and every bit as great a stay. We will never look for another metro Buffalo hotel. It's a keeper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good location right across from the entrance to UB North Campus, near lots of restaurants and stores. Very comfortable - very clean. A good place to stay if you are looking for a spacious room with a nice kitchen. Some things to note: This hotel shares a parking lot with what used to be a Hotel Indigo, but is now a DoubleTree. When it was a Hotel Indigo, you were welcome to utilize the facilities there as they were both IHG properties - that's where you will find a bar/lounge, pool, etc. Now that it's a DoubleTree, that's no longer the case. I'm sure they wouldn't mind you spending money at the bar, but you won't be able to use the pool, hot tub, etc. There's a fitness room at the Candlewood, but that's it. This is an extended stay hotel - these types of hotels generally only provide housekeeping once a week. You can get fresh towels and linens, etc. if you need them, but if you want your bed made every morning - you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: This hotel 'does' have connecting rooms - which can often be noisier, especially in extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel was clean, modern, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The suite provided a fridge, small cooktop and dishwasher.

However, this was not enough to make up for the fact that there was NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING (fine if just one night) and NO POOL!

This information is buried on their website!

What hotel chain doesn't provide daily housekeeping in this competitive market?

For over $300.00 for 2 nights, this hotel is overpriced!

There are plenty of other options available in the area that do provide these amenities for a similar price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear mason1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and modern and our staff friendly and accommodating. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and we are happy you were able to experience it. On the other hand, please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. As for our extended stay hotel, we only have weekly housekeeping. Nevertheless, we appreciate you letting us know about your concerns. This helps us understand areas we can improve upon.

Thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Cozy, has a nice kitchen with a normal size fridge inside, great location. Large rooms (especially after big city hotels that barely have room for a bed). What's not to like? Close to a little plaza with bars and pizza-places, not far from Galleria mall, NOTHING LIKE DOWNTOWN BUFFALO. If this is your first visit to Buffalo - I'd recommend to pick this place over any other in core downtown, this will create a good impression of your visit. As I mentioned above, this would be a good option for a long stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.