We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient/functional when travelling with a 3 month old!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Amherst
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very convenient/functional when travelling with a 3 month old!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 month old on a weekend getaway/shopping trip.

Location/Access: roughly in between Niagara Fashion Outlets and Walden Galleria, so if you're planning on hitting each place on separate days, it's a great location; lots of restaurants close to the area;

Room: our room (#210) was directly above the entrance doors, so at times (especially at night), we can hear when people were coming in and out -- eventually though, it turns into background noise and don't even notice; the convenience of having a kitchenette was very convenient for travelling with a 3 month old, and heating up leftovers!

Staff: very friendly staff; quick and hassle free check-in/out;

Other: No, there is no daily housekeeping, but if you do not require daily towel changes or if you keep your room as clean as you would at home -- you should have any issues :)

Overall: both my wife and I are happy we chose to stay at Candlewood Suites!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
15
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night on our way home from vacation. The hotel is very nice and in an excellent area, very safe. Lots of restaurants close to the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful with any questions. The room was very clean and very nice, especially if you were staying for more than one night. The beds were comfortable. My only complaint would be that the only sink and mirror is in the bathroom, so it wasn't possible for all 3 of us to get ready at the same time. I prefer hotels that have a sink and mirror in the both the bathroom and outside the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My teenaged daughter and I stayed here for a weekend shopping trip. The hotel was very clean, bright, well appointed and in a great location for shopping and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and the highlight was the kitchenette which we used several times for making popcorn in the microwave and for enjoying cheesecake and coffee (which we brought home from the Cheesecake Factory Restaurant). We enjoyed the free wifi and we also used the self-serve "kitchen cupboard" store in the lobby for drinks and snacks. Very convenient. My only complaint is that our room had only one queen bed. At check-in we were provided with a cot - which made the space in the room it bit tight. It was not a great solution for my very tall teenager. However, she didn't complain so I didn't push it.There is no daily housekeeping so fresh towels and sheets are conveniently located in a storage area near the lobby along with extra pillows and bedding. It was a great stay and I would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while we were in NY for a funeral. I loved the little kitchen and the room was quite comfortable. Everything was clean. I also liked the little 'honor system' store where you could buy snacks and where there was always free coffee. My only complaints are there isn't daily housekeeping service and you can hear a lot of noise from the room above you. It'd have been a perfect stay if we were on the top level!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top level so you don't hear the people above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here during a visit to my son who is in Buffalo for the summer. The hotel is very clean and our rooms were nicely appointed. Even though we only stayed the one night, the fridge came in handy. The only complaint we have is that the air conditioning unit was really loud and my friend who was using the sleeper sofa had a hard time sleeping. Also, the only AC for the bedroom in the suite was provided through a small in-wall fan that was intended to move the cold air from the AC unit to the adjacent room. On the 95 degree day we had, it really came up short and the bedroom was quite warm while the living room was freezing. Other than that, the common areas are nicely maintained and the exercise room was great. Overall, a very nice stay and excellent value. Front desk staff was extremely helpful, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed this hotel for 8 nights during a hockey tournament and camp. Served our needs perfectly! A nice clean and comfortable room, a full size fridge, microwave and two burner stove.

The free use of laundry facilites, comlimentary BBQ on Tuesday nights and access to the amenities at the Double tree Hilton were wonderful touches!

Excellent proximity to Northtown Ice Centre and University at Buffalo. Lots of great restaurants and shops within minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My bf and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for his business trip. Their reception area is very welcoming and clean. There's this girl with dreads at the front desk that helped us and she was very friendly and accommodating. Since we researched all over Buffalo and its surrounding areas for hotel, we knew that there were no maid service for this hotel. Since we usually tidy up after ourselves, we really didn't think it was a big deal. The room was very clean, no odors of any sort. Kitchen was thoroughly cleaned even the microwave and the fridge. Bathroom was also spotless. The pillows do seem small, but if needed more, you just go and pick up some from the front desk. There is no swimming pool, but you are allowed to use the swimming pool of the Hotel right in front, which used to be Hotel Indigo.
There are many restaurants near the hotel which was a plus, if you have a car. There is also a mall less than 5 minutes away. If you do want outlets, there is one 20 mins away by a local road.
The one thing that made me choose this hotel is their laundry facility which is free. If looking for an adventure, there's this Whirlpooljet boat tour and its only a short drive from the hotel. Over all, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Will definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Buffalo has to offer at the convenient, comfortable all new Candlewood Suites hotel Buffalo/Amherst. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Only a short drive from Niagara Falls and 8 miles from Buffalo Niagara International Airport BUF. You will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Buffalo/Amherst to do. And there is easy access to I-290, I-90 and I-190. Whether you re coming to Buffalo for business or just for fun your room at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high-speed Internet, work center, free guest laundry, fitness center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The best of Buffalo is waiting for you at the Candlewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.