We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, little dated and upgrade required.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Amherst Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Amherst Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Amherst Hotel
5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, little dated and upgrade required.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Happen to be one of the last hotels available so we thought we would give it a try. Close to shopping Walden, TJ Max's. Marshalls. My family and I could live with the fact that the place is dated and in need of a huge renovation. We enjoyed the breakfast very acceptable. It was August 2013 and the outdoor pool was acceptable. Gym was very small. The biggest downfall to this established was the experience we had with the beds....they are terrible!! If you dont want to spend $$ on back adjustments, this is not the place to stay......Upgrade the beds and the place would be most pleasant and tolerable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Diva416,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am so glad that you found our location convenient for your shopping endeavors! I am sorry that you were not comfortable on the mattress, we have some guests that love them and some that do not. I am happy to tell you that we will very soon be undergoing a complete comprehensive renovation, and that will include the installation of all brand new mattresses! I hope you will come back and stay with us again once those are complete so you can gain a new experience with us. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Julie Bishop
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
39
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I don't come here to spend time in the hotel...so don't need the meany costly accutraments that many mainline hotels offer. I wouldn't have time to use them anyway. I need a convenient place and the complimentary breakfast get's my day started right...good variety of offerings quickly provide a good substancial breakfeast that is healthy as well. Only once were we awakened during one stay by inconsiderate customers who were boisterously noisey in the hallway. And one year the older TV was not working well, and that was replaced the next day while I was away. This time the TV was newer again, but still the older style. The convenient parking close to my ground floor room is an added plus! I've had the same room a number of stays now. I'm delighted!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Paul602,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for your loyal patronage over the years! It is so wonderful to hear from our guests that frequent our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoy our accommodations, including our breakfast, convenient parking and location. It is our repeat guests that really keep us going, and I thank you again! We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Julie Bishop
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having grown up in Buffalo and passed this hotel for many, many years as it is conveniently located right off of Exit 50 of the NYS Thruway, and offering a very reasonable rate including breakfast, I decided to stay here for three nights. While the room was big, clean, and the bed comfortable, it is very dated. The TV in the room has a tube; the bath tub was stained from many years of soap rings, the hall ways look like something out of the 50's. The positive was two sinks in the room and the woman running the breakfast buffet (more of a continental breakfast buffet) was very helpful and pleasant to speak with. I would probably stay here again but it just might not be my first choice. That said, it is a fabulous location for getting on and off the highway going either East or West.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hotel somewhat outdated but understand rehab in the works. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Rooms are large, just a bit outdated. Stay here typically severat times a year, can't beat price for good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I'll start with the negatives.:
The gentleman who checked me in was very curt and not helpful at all. The room had a very stale odor and the television picture was dark and difficult to watch. I checked in late at night so there was little to do about anything.
The next morning I asked the desk clerk about the room odor and she reported that all the rooms smelled that way because "we used to be a smoking hotel". I told her about TV , but it was not fixed. Oh well, just one more night to put in...I spent that night watching my computer.
On the positive:
The next day, on checkout, I told the desk clerk about my stay. She was very receptive and thanked me for my honest review. She was kind enough to take $20 off my final bill.
She reported the hotel is going to go under a full remodeling and invited me back next time I was in the area. It is in a good location, so I guess if they improve the rooms I could possibly consider returning.
My advice: it will be a great place to stay but it will need a lot of work before that happens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Angela4819,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay! I would like to start by deeply apologizing for the unpleasant encounter at check-in. Above all we are here to give you service with a smile and ensure a friendly and positive stay. We have discussed your comment at great lengths at our last managers meeting and are taking actions to prevent this kind of thing in the future. Your tv should have also been addressed right away. I am so glad we were able to talk to you before you left, and explain that we definitely will be renovating in the very near future. We do take these reviews very seriously and appreciate our guests taking the time to do so, so that we may improve our processes for the future.
We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Julie Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster bei Dieburg, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights to visit the surrounding area (and of course Niagara Falls State Park).

The price is more than competitive and the room was big and clean! The staff was friendly and helpful and the parking was great - lots of room!

The bathroom was kind of small, but that didn't bother me at all since my bathroom at home is small, too ;-)

The wifi was a little slow, but otherwise worked fine!

I would definitely stay here again if I get to come back to the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Had to spend the night in Amherst as my Mother had eye surgery and could not travel for 24hrs. The staff was personable, accommodating and friendly. The room clean and well taken care of. The price was more than competitive!! Matter of fact, we would have easily paid twice any where else for the sane thing!! I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words!

We take great pride in providing our customers with the best value! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again and we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Julie Bishop
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Amherst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Amherst Hotel

Address: 5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Closed for renovation** Classic independent property located in Amherst, a suburb of Buffalo, just off NY state thruway (I-90) and I-290. Minutes from Buffalo-Niagra International Airport, area colleges, downtown Buffalo and the world famous Niagara Falls. Spacious, comfortably appointed rooms in traditional decor. Included in room rate is free high speed internet, continental breakfast and in-room coffee. Sonoma Grille restaurant and lounge located adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Lord Amherst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Amherst Motor Buffalo
Hotel Lord Amherst Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Amherst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.