We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Amherst Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Amherst Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Amherst Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel amenities
chittenango
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

thank goodness I read the reviews or I would have drove by and canceled my reservation.
This place is kind of run down , but I gave it a fair chance because of the reviews.
The check in area and place for breakfast are very cute. Kind of rustic and old but cozy. The man at the desk acted like he was so happy to see us.And I think he likes to see everyone and truely wants everyone to have a nice time.
Our first room smelled like smoke so we got it changed. I saw other rooms on our floor that looked newer.
Our room was big. The bed was old but more comfortable than it looked.I would not say the room was nice, but was comfortable and quiet.
It was nice to have an outdoor pool. Something you don't see often. It was clean and warm. The chairs were comfortable, and I enjoyed the piped in music.
This hotel is being renovated soon and a new hotel is going in the back lot.
I hope this independent hotel can hold its own. The owner sure was nice, and I like doing buisness with individuals instead of corporate giants.
Good luck with the renovations!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
39
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For being an older hotel, the Lord Amherst was exceptionally clean and perfectly kept. It has sort of a bed and breakfast feel, because while the building is three sided, it has parking in the courtyard area, and you can walk from the front desk to your room with out ever going outside.

Some of the rooms on the back stretch have an interior door, as well as an exterior door, which is very convenient for loading and unloading.

Everyone at the front desk was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast area is adjacent to the desk, has a fireplace, plenty of seating, and the breakfast is good quality (comparatively) for a hotel breakfast.

The pool is outdoor and heated. Its rather small, but has a nice atmosphere with ambient music an plenty of seating.

While not directly in the middle of town for Buffalo, the location is right off the 290, and is a short drive to Buffalo. We stayed here while we were attending the Buffalo Italian Festival, Aug 4, 2013.

Room Tip: ask for a room with both an interior and exterior door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel worked very well for us. It was close to the interstate and it only took 30 minutes to get to Darien Lake Center for a concert. Room was large with a new flat screen TV and hot shower. The heated pool was great since the weather had cooled down. The breakfast was good, bagels, croissants and a waffle maker.
Excellent value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside door on the first floor. There's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here one night. The hotel is old but the rooms look like they have been newly renovated. The view is fantastic and we had a quiet night. The price is great considering the area the hotel is in. Staff was very friendly and made recommendations regarding what to do in the area and what attractions to visit. The only reason I didn't give it a five is that there was a lot of rust in the bathroom sink and tub. I just don't take well to that but other than that it's a great place to book a room in.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor, it's quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last weekend.

The front deck is very helpful and offers the best solution to my inquiry. The room we had is spacious and clean.

Will definitely stay again and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for the NY bar exam in buffalo. The staff was friendly and helpful with wakeup calls, cabs, ordering food, and anything else I needed. Breakfast was much better than expected, with good range of pastries, bagels, fresh fruit, and waffle maker. Room was clean, and everything worked. All-in-all a first-rate experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two nights. It is a old hotel but the rooms are in well kept condition. I wish they had a refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was good. The staff was friendly. The hotel is close to the Highway and there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Amherst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Amherst Hotel

Address: 5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Amherst Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Closed for renovation** Classic independent property located in Amherst, a suburb of Buffalo, just off NY state thruway (I-90) and I-290. Minutes from Buffalo-Niagra International Airport, area colleges, downtown Buffalo and the world famous Niagara Falls. Spacious, comfortably appointed rooms in traditional decor. Included in room rate is free high speed internet, continental breakfast and in-room coffee. Sonoma Grille restaurant and lounge located adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Lord Amherst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Amherst Motor Buffalo
Hotel Lord Amherst Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Amherst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.