We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Amherst Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lord Amherst Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Amherst Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel amenities
Amherst
1 review
“Great deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is a great deal, and right next to Buffalo. The rooms were a good size, very clean, and plenty of hot water, and service was great. The free breakfast was a big bonus. It's a great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Susan D,

Thank you for staying with us. We take much pride in the value that we have to offer our guests, so it is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time here!

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on tripadvisor, and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Julie DeMay
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    71
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
39
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My late husband and I stayed in the Lord Amherst in the past. I knew it was a nice motel, but I kind of forgot how nice it really was. On this trip to Buffalo, my niece and I were there for a wedding.

Arriving at 9 pm on a Wednesday. we were greeted by a most gracious young man at the desk. He immediately joked around with us and that was welcomed because we were REALLY tired. He informed us that he had upgraded our room -- at no charge to us. Wow, that was nice!

Our room was clean, warm, and very welcoming. Our four night stay in Buffalo (my home town I might add) was so enjoyable. It was so close to everything we needed to do. The price was extremely reasonable and I will not hesitate to return to the Lord Amherst in the future.

If I have any complaint, it was the exercise room. My niece did not care for it.

Room Tip: Our king size bed was so very comfortable. Room 120 was in the back corner.... was quiet and wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed the Lord Amherst Feb 13-Mar 13, 2013. Bruce and his staff are wonderful. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and it was perfect. Front desk, house keeping, maintenance are very receptive and ever so helpful. Continental breakfast is very good and staffed by a very nice lady. We have stayed here before and have always been treated like family. This is a must stay and we will be back. Great hotel run by great people. Dovie and Jack Sorensen, Crosby, Texas

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during a wrestling match. We got a connecting room. Like everyone has said: The hotel WAS older but very clean. Staff very friiendly. There were many families staying there and it was pretty sound proof. Beds were older but comfortable. Breakfest waffles were really good. I would stay there again if I were in the area. A much more affordable option than a big chain hotel that you pay double the rate and get the same thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here overnight on 2/22 for a concert in Buffalo. We were very pleased by what we saw when we walked into the lobby as it had the look of an older but very well kept place with a large lobby with plenty of seating and a fireplace going. When we got to our room we found it to be plenty large enough, in spotless condition but needing a little updating on the furnishing, maybe. However, the king sized bed was very comfortable and my wife loved the great shower.

Room Tip: Outside perimeter rooms had inside hall doorways so no cold air admittance. Inside rooms had both ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, and taking the time do do a review. We take so much pride in providing a great experience for our guests, so hearing how much you enjoyed things like our cozy lobby and spacious rooms is great! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank You,

Julie DeMay
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had a court deposition in Buffalo, got in the night before to find the front desk unreceptive
Room was one of the worst I've been in, not the worst, but not worth over $40 a night even with the location. Bed was like a rock with a hole cut out in the center where other persons had left their imprint on the mattress in the decades of use. Shower was dirty and carpet had food crumbs left on it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear NukedNative,

I am apologizing on behalf of our entire staff for the experience that you had when you stayed with us. I will completely agree, an unreceptive front desk and crumbs (or any remnants of a past stay) in your room are totally unacceptable. I am so disappointed that you had that glimpse, as this is most certainly the exception rather than the rule. We pride ourselves on being attentive and keeping our rooms pristine. I only wish you would have reached out to me or our staff sooner so I had an opportunity to rectify the situation. Had I known that this is what you experienced, I certainly would have taken care of the situation, and would have loved to use your unfortunate circumstance as a serious learning tool for all staff, especially those you encountered during our stay. I will be sharing this with my management team and ownership in order to make sure to prevent anyone else from having such an experience in the future.

I would be more than happy to speak with you personally. If you wish to further discuss the situation, please call me at 716-839-2200 or you can e-mail at sales@lordamherst.com

Thank You,
Julie DeMay
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booked this motel for two nights while visiting Williamsville for a funeral. Check in and checkout staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very large with a king bed and two sinks (one in bathroom and one out) which was very convenient. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. This is a classic motel - it needs updating, but we enjoyed being back in the good old days and having the convenience of parking our car next to our room and direct access to the outside from our room. The price was fantastic $62.00/night). When returning to Williamsville, we will stay here again

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor so you direct access to the outside and your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Amherst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Amherst Hotel

Address: 5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Amherst Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Closed for renovation** Classic independent property located in Amherst, a suburb of Buffalo, just off NY state thruway (I-90) and I-290. Minutes from Buffalo-Niagra International Airport, area colleges, downtown Buffalo and the world famous Niagara Falls. Spacious, comfortably appointed rooms in traditional decor. Included in room rate is free high speed internet, continental breakfast and in-room coffee. Sonoma Grille restaurant and lounge located adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lord Amherst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Amherst Motor Buffalo
Hotel Lord Amherst Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Amherst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.