We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLAST FROM THE PAST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Amherst Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lord Amherst Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lord Amherst Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BLAST FROM THE PAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

WE LOVED IT.If you are looking for a super modern updated motel keep on going. We loved it here as it was clean,comfortable, warm and charming. Our visit was Christmas eve day and Christmas day as we were visiting family near by. Honestly, we chose it at first for how inexpensive it was when we booked it on line thinking we would only be sleeping there. When we arrived and entered the lobby the girl who greeted and took care of us was very sweet and informative, There was a beautifully decorated large Christmas tree there in the lobby and Christmas decorations. Our room was spacious yet warm and cozy. Both mornings we had a light breakfast, before we headed out, that is set up in the lobby & was included in the cost of our room. We were there early (6;30am) and the woman who set it all up was so sweet & friendly. Other people must have felt like we did as each morning when we left the motel there were a lot of cars in the parking lot. We will definitely return : )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
39
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good value. For the same price and category of motel, it is better than average. We like the friendly staff. Especially the lady at the breakfast making yummy waffle for us. They have a wide selection of breakfast foods, instant oat meal, cereals, fruit(apples, bananas and oranges), apple and orange juice, milk, bread(wheat and white), bagels, danish. Nice settings for the breakfast lounge. We enjoyed the big Christmas Tree with all sorts of ornaments on it. King size room is huge. With 2 sinks, one in the washroom the other outside the washroom.

Even though the decor is outdated, everything else was good. Definitely convenient location right off the highway.

Book directly with the hotel rather than any other hotel booking website will give you the best rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I would return again!!!! Room was clean and stay was great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Hotel was comfortable and breakfast was okay. It was a little limited but can't complain as it was included with the room.

Room Tip: Rooms little dated but very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear HBuss,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Julie DeMay
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. I stayed with my wife and 1 year old son in this hotel and I was amaze about the service and cleanliness of the hotel. It is very old but well preseved and offer a very good conplementary breakfast. I will recomend it 100%.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was flyng out of Buffalo Airport early one morning and was driving down from Canada so I decided to stay at a local hotel nearby and picked The Lord Amherst online. Booking was easy but I wanted to find out if I could leave my car at the hotel while I was away for a week. My email was responded to promptly and they provided all the information I needed and yes, I could leave my vehicle there at no charge. I was greeted efficiently and given information about local restaurants. My room had been upgraded from my original reservation and ended with a larger room than anticipated. It is an older hotel which could use some upgrading but I was comfortable and the price was fine. I opted for the restaurant on the property but not operated by the hotel. I forget the name but the food was good and the patio was a great place to dine (it was September and very warm!)
I would certainly return if I was doing the same trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at Lord Amherst Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Mike D,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are striving to provide our guests with wonderful visits, and I hope we get the chance to provide you with an even better experience again.

Hope to see you again soon,

Julie DeMay
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAK LAWN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Lord Amherst Hotel. It was a great value and had an amazing location. I know people have commented that it looks a little outdated, and perhaps it does, but that doesn't bother me. What I want from a hotel is a clean, comfortable place to sleep, and the Lord Amherst was both of those things. The staff was very friendly. I didn't try their breakfast, so I can't comment on that. But I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking - especially for those looking to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A group of 6 friends used the Lord Amherst for a Saturday night stay over
when visiting for a Bills home game. Rooms were clean, spacicious (even with 2 double beds and a cot). Staff were friendly/helpful during our stay, and the breakfast brunch (free with stay) was excellent for its selection.

A good value location central to major shopping locations (Walden Galleria)

Room Tip: If your travelling with a group that need more than one room and has two people per room, for a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Amherst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Amherst Hotel

Address: 5000 Main St, Amherst, NY 14226
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Amherst Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Closed for renovation** Classic independent property located in Amherst, a suburb of Buffalo, just off NY state thruway (I-90) and I-290. Minutes from Buffalo-Niagra International Airport, area colleges, downtown Buffalo and the world famous Niagara Falls. Spacious, comfortably appointed rooms in traditional decor. Included in room rate is free high speed internet, continental breakfast and in-room coffee. Sonoma Grille restaurant and lounge located adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Lord Amherst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Amherst Motor Buffalo
Hotel Lord Amherst Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Amherst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;