We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Inn

White Horse Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Horse Inn to your Saves list
White Horse Inn
Laurenceville Rd, Bvumba, Mutare, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Mutare B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food and service is what makes this inn worthwhile. The bedding, towels and mattresses could use some updating. Things are a bit tired but that is part of the charm in 70's decor. Considering the financial state of the area, this kind of maintenance may just be too costly. The avocados from the property are very delicious and creamy. Guinea Fowl is a great entree. Very nice wine selection.
Arrange for a bird watching tour with Sam.. He is not only an expert in this specialized field but he can make bird sounds and actually talks to the birds.

Room Tip: Be sure to walk in the gardens no matter which room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCNgorora, Marketing Consultant at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. Our focus on continuous improvement will see a Bedding, Mattress & Linen renewal executed in phases. We hope you will find agreeable these changes on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nestled in a fold in the Vumba Mountains, which provide a backdrop to the small picturesque Zimbabwean City of Mutare, and amongst old lichen encrusted trees and shrubs in a rain-forest like setting, is the White Horse Inn. I last visited this tiny Inn in the early '80's over 30 years ago, and it is still the same ! :) Indeed, David Graham, the owner/manager has been there for 33 years and some of his staff have been there almost as long. Benjamin, the Head Waiter, has been there 28 years. This contributes to the sense of unchanging continuity, which these days in a modern hurly burly world is very refreshing and comforting ! Certainly, Comfort is a keynote of this magical little Inn, which is impeccably kept, and the furnishings and general decor and atmosphere cosset you and provides you with a 'home from home' feeling. The welcome and service provided by David, Benjamin and Frank, is old fashioned and extremely personal, without ever feeling intrusive. David is the epitome of a courteous elderly English Gentleman, complete with Tweed Jacket and walking stick and a quiet sense of humour :) You feel as if you have been transported back to the Colonial '50's the instant you walk in the door, and the various pictures and photographs which adorn the walls, plus the old signs and nick nacks, complete the picture ! The small Lounge and Bar are cosy and with log fires in the Winter months, you are trapped and coccooned and find it difficult to drag yourself away to bed. The Little White Horse Pub befits a '50's colonial style, and there is a pleasing array of drinks and wine available, and bar service of course provided by David. Then into the Dining Room, which is a larger version of your favourite old Aunt's ! :) Where Benjamin attends to your every need, like an old fashioned butler. The food is what you would have by now come to expect. Hearty old favourite dishes and there is even a Venison roast :) We had Pate starters and Rump and Fillet mains and Ice Cream & Chocolate sauce, which were simple and delicious. To round off the evening, back into the Pub by the fire and some Port and gentle conversation with David. The Gardens are a delight, rustic and colourful and surrounded by an amazing variety of trees and flowering shrubs, with a small and pristine swimming pool. Tea and Scones on the terrace is a must ! White Horse Inn is a little Olde Worlde gem, exuding charm and character and almost hidden from the world, but only 3 kms off the road from Mutare to Vumba. A perfect place to just chill out and relax, but also well-placed to visit all the local attractions around and about in the Vumba, which is a spectacular and scenic part of Zimbabwe. Put it on your 'Bucket List' and go there. You won't be sorry ! :)

Room Tip: Speak to David Graham the Owner and Manager personally, who will arrange the perfect room to suit yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went to my family to this place on one of our trips to Harare, Zimbawe. We travel by car to Mutare and stay in this Hotel. It was a very calm and relaxing place, The rooms were nice, confortable and clean. The food was very good, the pool was nice and the best of it was the forest around the hotel. We enjoy be in contact with nature and did nice walks around it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweru, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you want a Nice home like place to stay in eastern highlands then White Horse is it. Owner managed, it's a small cozy place.the owner personally sees to it that the guests are happy. the restaurant is top notch and has won the Zim on a Plate Award. The wine list is quite good as well, also having scooped national awards.
rooms are in need of slight touch ups but not to change their nature.
location is in forest just 3km off major rd. Nearby is a brook with fresh mountain spring water.
Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbabwe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this hotel about every ten years since 1984 in that time they have managed to maintain the same standards of value and quality. A pity the same cannot be said for all the other hotels in Zimbabwe. The breakfast puts other B&B establishments ( for example in Bulawayo ) in the shade. The quality and choices for dinner are really excellent. When it comes to value for money , I rate this place as the best value for money in Zimbabwe. It is such a pity that Mutare has been on the slide for the last 12 yrs and the charms of the Vumba are now enjoyed by so few. For furnishings and atmosphere , expect an Agatha Christie style.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What an unexpected surprise to come across such a friendly and charming place with beautiful gardens well kept by the owner. We stopped off for lunch with the family after a trip to Leopard Rock and were welcomed by David Graham a lovely charming man who made us very welcome.
Our lunch was superb with a choice from an extensive menu which all available, a first class service in a lovely location and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eersel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome by the staff. We found the owner a friendly man, and a good host.
The building looked a bit dated, but on the other hand, this is part of the charm. We felt like travelling back in time.
Our room was nice, with the company of monkeys on the balcony. However, we had to switch room late at night due to unexpected swarm of ants in the room. The new room was less quality though.
We loved the garden with its Samango monkeys. The area is great for exploring and hiking, we had too little time.
Dinner was cooked in English style, and was okay.
When we were ready to leave, we found our landrover washed at the compliments of the hotel! Nice surprise and keeps the good memories.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: Laurenceville Rd, Bvumba, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mutare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Inn Zimbabwe/Mutare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.