We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivory Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ivory Lodge to your Saves list
Ivory Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Hwange National Park, Hwange 5792, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for four nights with our two girls Helen and Kathryn aged 11 and 9. Peter and Belinda were truly magnificent hosts who made us feel like part of the Ivory Lodge family, and Peter our guide for the four days was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Rooms were beautiful, very comfortable with spectacular views of the waterhole where animal / bird life was constantly changing as the days progressed. Food was plentiful and terrific and the chats around the boma afterwards hugely entertaining. The lodge has its own private concession so no need to visit Hwange if you don't want to. A truly wonderful place, we will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear jgilly_12

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our camp! It is excellent to hear that the service, rooms and the guiding pleased you.
Please come back and visit us again and thank you again for taking the time to post this note about Ivory.
Best
Danni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
17
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at Ivory Lodge early September and had an amazing time. I was travelling solo so the staff were wonderful company and Belinda and Peter made me feel incredibly welcome. The Lodge is beautiful, food great, bar fully stocked and you can chill out in a stunning tree house or sit in the hide watching the animals at the watering hole, and they even have a small plunge pool for very hot days. My guide, Steven was incredibly well knowledged about all the animals and their habitats which made all the game drives even more special. If you are visiting Hwange National Park I'd thoroughly recommend visiting Ivory Lodge, and they also have a camping area with cooking facilities for those on a smaller travelling budget.
Mozza Spyer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Mozza S

What a wonderful piece to read - thank you so much for taking the time to review our camp!
Please do come back and join us again in magical Hwange.

Best
Danni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I mean, the painted dogs, at the Painted Dog Conservation Center. This center is easily visited on your way from Ivory Lodge to Hwange National Park and is not to be visited. The educational panels in the main facility are very well-done and the center is vital in informing visitors and local communities, especially children, of the value of protecting and conserving wild dogs. You can also visit their facility for rehabilitating orphaned or injured dogs for return to the wild. Your visit and donations helps sustain the center, so if you love wildlife stop in.

As for Ivory Lodge itself, it is a comfortable and enchanting place to stay, with great food, interesting guests from around the world sharing stories at dinner, and a terrific waterhole in case you feel like just sitting in camp for a morning or evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is incredible! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Peter everything was perfect. Who would go to the Hwange National Park lodge when at Ivory Lodge you can sit in a treehouse, or even better in the hide, and watch elephants from just a few feet away? Mealtimes were a wonderful experience, sitting around two enormous tables and being served with wonderful food served by Washington, the excellent cook. Peter and Belinda work hard to make this a uniique experience with a real family atmosphere. My daughter who is definitely a product of the television age, constantly looking for immediate diversion, loved the place so much she didn't want to leave but just sit and relax and watch the animals. That is definitley a first! I can see that some people were disappointed when they came up against problems on their game ride, but this is Africa. If you want immediate gratification and hi-tech solutions go to New York. If you want quiet, good viewing, good food, friendly staff and a real African experience go to Ivory Lodge.

Richard McNab

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Richard

WOW thank you for your fantastic review of 'Ivory Lodge'. It was just wonderful for us to read about your amazing stay and that you had such a fabulous time.
Please come back and stay with us again, we would love to host you in the near future!

Best
The Ivory Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ivory last week end. What a treat! Peter the manager is extremely courteous, helpful and discreet - everything you want from a manager! The staff are helpful without being intrusive and standards are high for food and service. The lodge itself is charming and comfortable with extra touches of luxury - the electric blankets were my favourite touch! The surrounds of the lodge are kept green but not verdant so that there is a feeling of returning to a cool and pleasant setting at the end of a hot and dusty day, but not a city park feel!

Elephant abounded at the water hole where the hide is close up and personal, making it 'my kind of lodge' in that one does not have go bundu bashing to see game, but can rather sit in the hide with a gin and tonic, copy of Roberts Birds and bins to hand! Ivory is also easy to access from the main road, so again, this makes for a comfortable and easy option for a lodge that appears to be deep in the bush, but does not require hours of bouncing around on dirt roads!

We already have our next booking! Thanks Peter!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to a suite, large veranda, large bath with waterhole view, and just that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed with froms who live in Zimbabwe and they took us to Ivory Lodge. Our "tree house" room was an experience I will never forget. The lodge accommodates around 20 guests and the ambience was wonderful. We ate meals at a huge dining room table which enabled us to meet so many people from different parts of the world. The most spectacular view was of the watering hole that we could see from the dining room and the "hide". I could honestly sit in the hide for hours watching the most beautiful elephants on earth. They serve snacks and drinks in the hide and it was so comfortable! The view from our room was also overlooking the watering hole so we experience seeing so many wild life. The staff are amazing and felt like we were staying with extended family members. The night drive was exciting and cold but there were lap blankets to keep us warm. We used the pool during the day but I would much rather participate on the game drives or lose myself in awe at the hide. This was a very memorable stay which I will treasure forever. I hope to return to Africa and Ivory Lodge one day soon!!

Room Tip: All of the tree top accomodations are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our fourth and final stop of our safari. Ivory Lodge was not our booking, but it became ours when the original lodge we booked closed down suddenly!! And our safari organiser did very well to put us into Ivory instead!!

The very moment we arrived, Peter and Belinda swept us off our feet with their so-warm welcome. Within minutes, a nice buffet lunch was served! Then, Peter gave us a welcome address and a safety briefing, and proudly showed us their lodge's waterhole! Some twenty elephants were still there with the nearest one just 4 metres away! We were then shown our lodges. It was amazing! Such comfortable and nice furnishings in the African wilderness! All members of our Group of 14 persons were bowled over! We had taken 8 of their 9 lodges which meant we had the place almost to ourselves!

The meals service were always announced by an African drum, and we had 2 memorable dinners, One was grilled beef over an open fire and the other was "steamed/baked" fish in alu foil! See the pictures. For me, the best meals of our trip!! Service was warm and attentive! Kasana amused us with his local dialect for "the frog crosses the road"! And over dinner, Peter came around with his quizzes, with prizes too!! We sat long after dinner to laugh and share experiences! It was marvellous to find such friendliness!

The game drives were good, but sadly, we missed the larger cats which we had hoped for! The scenery was still an attraction. As, this was our last stop, the drives were not filled with much excitement! The waterhole at the lodge was really nice to watch, as lots of elephants and others came throughout the day.

All-in, it was the most "luxurious" camp we had for our 11 days safari, and one which we all enjoyed tremendously. Thanks to Peter, Belinda and the warm staff at Ivory.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views of the waterhole. All are great and comfortable. But bring warm clothing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Lodge

Address: Hwange National Park, Hwange 5792, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hwange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivory Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bathed in the tales of pioneer hunters and explorers, Ivory lodge stands on tree-stilted platforms above the waterhole. Watch by floodlight the night animals and the sounds and smells of the great African bush emanates up into your room. Once these incredible sights, sounds and smells enter your system, you will never get rid of them and the want for more will haunt you for a return. Come enjoy Zimbabwe hospitality at its warmest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ivory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivory Hotel Hwange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivory Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.