We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miombo Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miombo Safari Camp
Save
You added Miombo Safari Camp to your Saves list
Dete Road, Hwange, Zimbabwe (Formerly Miombo Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Miombo Safai Camp situated on the boundary of Hwange National Park is a 3 hour drive from Bulawayo or 2 hours from Victoria Falls and a few kilomters from the park entrance. We stayed for 2 nights in August and were really impressed. First Class experience for a very reasonable price. Accommodation from Chalets to Honeymoon suite but the best value are tree houses overlooking a waterhole. We spent one night in a chalet and the second night in a treehouse which was really special with elephants and buffalo coming and going all night.3 simple but good meals a day all clients eat together and a large dining table which encourages meeting new people and comparing game sightings. Morning and evening game drives for fly in clients and airport transfers from Vic Falls. a really fantastic weekend

Room Tip: The original 2 tree houses have the best view if the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wow, what a lovely place. The friendly greeting of the staff meeting us with ice cold welcoming drinks was such a great kick-off to a lovely stay!
We spent 2 nights in the luxury tented accommodation overlooking the flood-lit waterhole (a mere 20-30 meters away from our wooden deck).
The beds are so comfortable and the white crisp linen was such a treat!

We loved sitting around the camp-fire at night with a glass of red wine and discussing the events of the day spent in Hwange National Park (a short drive from Miombo).
The food was fantastic.

My highlight though was sitting on our tent's wooden deck - viewing all the animals coming and going to get their sip of water for the night. Elephants, Impala, Kudu's, Warthogs etc. etc.

And not to forget the Camp's house-cat who crept into all our hearts!

Thank you to Simon, Bernard and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!
We had a great time and hope return in the near future.

Room Tip: The luxury tents and tree house accommodation surround the waterhole - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safaripartners, Owner at Miombo Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you Mari for your wonderful review. Our management team at Miombo was thrilled to have hosted you during your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the special view from your luxury tent. Our resident wildlife has been very good about making nightly appearances! We hope to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The directions posted on the Miombo website were very precise. We had no problem finding the camp which is located just a short drive from Hwange National Park's Main Camp. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Bernard who offered us drinks, introduced us to the camp facilities and walked us through the check-in process.

We enjoyed two nights in the "Ndlovu" tree house, named appropriately after the elephants which frequent the watering hole it overlooks. The room was clean and comfortable with a surprisingly spacious bathroom that had storage space for clothes and bags. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In the evenings they placed hot water bottles at the foot of our bed and in the mornings they warmed our mugs and plates to keep breakfast from getting cold.

We were entertained the second evening by the Inganyama performers who sang, danced and impersonated animals - in some cases using two or three guys to build a giraffe or elephant. This is one of the better performance groups we have seen in Zimbabwe and would jump at a chance to see them again.

There was a slight confusion upon checkout about the vat not being included in the price, will be sure to ask about that next time, but overall we had a lovely stay. We highly recommend Miombo Safari Camp for visitors to Hwange National Park.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a tree house, ask for Ndlovu, best view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our treehouse which overlooked the flood-lit waterhole. We watched hyenas, nyalas, baboons, elephants, jackals, and kudu come in for drinks throughout the evening. We stayed two nights and had some very good food. The staff was friendly and helpful. Initially, there was some confusion on the part of the staff as to our booking but it was worked out and we had a very enjoyable stay. Our game drives were also enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Loved our time at Miombo, perfect for safari accommodation that doesn't break the bank and is very easy to get to in your own vehicle. We were very well looked after by Simon and his team, lovely sundowners by the fire, great game drive in the park and a very relaxed stay. Loved the hot water bottles in our beds to take the edge of the chilly african winter!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the watering hole - try the new elevated tents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Miombo Safari Camp is absolutely lovely Having stayed there for two days (which was certainly too short) with a group of friends, I can't recommend it enough.

The best thing about Miombo is that you are not treated there just as a customer but as a family member. The two Zimbabwean ladies who are managing the place take very good care of their guests and want to spend a lot of good time with them and get to know them, still without being too close or disturbing too much. They even dine with the guests; all the guests and hosts are around one big table.

Speaking of dining, the food was delicious and all the drinks were included in the price. In the evenings the staff set up a fire around which we could relax, have aperitifs and wait for the dinner to be served.

Our tent was beautiful and elegant, although very cold at this time of the year. Remember to ask for hot water bottles. The tents are around a small waterhole and elephants often came there to drink which was lovely to see from your private terrace. Some our friends who we traveled with stayed in chalets. While the chalets are much simpler than the tents and have no view over the waterhole, they are still comfortable, have ensuite facilities and offer good value for money.

The game drives were excellent and our guide Macko was really competent and friendly. The park is about 20-30 minutes from Miombo but there's a lot of wildlife outside the park too. During our drives we spotted a leopard, a pangoline and dozens of giraffes and elephants. Too bad we did not spot a lion, but you can't expect too much in two days. What makes Hwange special compared to some other parks in the region is that there are very few other tourists - you can really enjoy tranquility.

Miombo also offers other activities. On our second evening they had asked a local dance group to come to perform to us before dinner. These local young men were dancing and singing and imitating various animous - they were so talented and so entertaining and funny! And they even invited us to a dance and we spent some really great time learning traditional Zimbabwean dances. The dance group charged 50 dollars for the show - it was totally worth it. What a good way to support the local community.

All in all, Miombo is an intimate, beautiful lodge with lovely staff. An absolute gem with great value for money,.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Miombo, we had a great time, though too short, the meals are homely, the staff friendly and the wildlife in the area amazing. My family and I had a memorable two days there. The entrance is not too far away, and we got to see elephant and buffalo at the waterhole in front of the our unit. They also have a pool that is a great place to chill by.

The New tents are stunning - next time.

Room Tip: Need to get into the new rooms / tents which have recently be refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miombo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miombo Safari Camp

Address: Dete Road, Hwange, Zimbabwe (Formerly Miombo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hwange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miombo Safari Camp has the distinction of being the closest quality accommodation to Hwange National Park Main Gate & is located in the DETE annex, on a private concession within the eastern border of the Hwange National Park. Having undergone a total transformation we have four brand new boutique raised above ground level platforms that are 75sqm, atop of which are exquisite luxury 55sqm safari suites, configured to accommodate two guests in a queen sized double or twin-bed configuration. Each of these guest suites has a main bedroom, with a wardrobe & storage space for clothes & footwear, a private en-suite bathroom with twin ´His & Hers` basins, ample hot & cold running water on demand, an interior private shower & separate private toilet. We also have two standard tree houses. These accommodation units are rustic & not of the same standard as the new platform units. Instead they cater to safari lovers who may have been to Miombo Safari Camp prior to its transformation, or folks who are seeking a slightly less luxury & more `rustic` bush accommodation. In addition to the raised platform guest suites there are four classic ground level thatched roof rondavels, each one accommodating two guests, with bedroom, wardrobe, private bathroom & shower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miombo Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.