We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my home in bulawayo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hornung Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hornung Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hornung Park Lodge
79 Burnside Road | Burnside, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“my home in bulawayo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I love this place. Have stayed many times over the years in good times and bad and Fredi and Rita are always so welcoming with their delicious coffee and cookies that it feels like coming home. and an amazing new chef now

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We arrived after a tiring trip in Harare to be greeted by warm and friendly people from the time we entered. Dinner was awesome and specially prepared for us (vegetarian). The lodge is perfect, especially when you are away from home for a few days....our clothes were washed and ironed and left ready for us. The rooms are spacious, and really felt like home. My supplier from Germany was really happy to be there, and enjoyed the overall stay....6 days!! Fredi and Rita are very friendly hosts and their fresh baked bread and homemade jams brought back memories from my childhood when we used to get these from our grandparents! I enjoyed every bit of it and when leaving Rita gave me a jar of Mulberry Jam.....I really enjoyed my stay at Hornung Lodge and would recommend it to everyone....in fact I will return there soon with my wife and then go to the Victoria Falls from there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Fredi and Rita make staying at the Lodge a pleasure, they are friendly and very professional. Nothing is too much trouble. The immaculate Lodges have everything for self catering. For those who prefer catered, the dinners and breakfasts are excellent. When we bring colleagues to Bulawayo from overseas, they always request a booking at Hornung. After many visits we have yet to find a fault in the accommodation!! Rare indeed in this environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Österreich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there many Times over the Last years. And the lodge kept the Standard High Even in the Most difficult Times Zimbabwe has gone through. Roms Are perfectly clean and breakfast was always exzellent.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed in Hornung several times between 2008 and 2012, always a more than enjoyable experience. Immaculate grounds, top chalets and the best breakfast in Zim! Travelling in Zimbabwe poses its own challenges, but Hornung definitely gives you a break from them all! Fredi and Rita are the best hosts ever.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hornung Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornung Park Lodge

Address: 79 Burnside Road | Burnside, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hornung Park Lodge is a peaceful gem that is hidden away on the outskirts of Bulawayo. If you are in Bulawayo for business or would like to get away for a few days, Hornung Park Lodge is the ideal place for you.Clients are also able to use the swimming pool, the tennis court, braai area, as well as the adjacent golf course, Hornung Park Golf Club. We are able to provide an extra bed for younger children for a small fee. The rates are US 120.00 For a single B&B and US 140.00 For a double. Dinners are US 25.00 Per person for a three course meal and are available from Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hornung Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hornung Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.