We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel to your Saves list
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10th Avenue Josiah Tongogara | Box 1876, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bulawayo
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

When you stay at Bulawayo Hotel remebmer you are in Zimbabwe! Staff is friendly but things don't happen first time try. Needs some patience to get organize (e. g. door card worked only after reset, WIFI key was wrong, early breakfast on a Sunday morning difficult). Lively neighbourhood with music that went on until midnight. Bring earplugs. Rooms are comfortable, fairly big size, new bedding and fresh feel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at Bulawayo rainbow on the 13th and 14th of september 2012. i enjoyed about the hotel was the food that they served in the evening but alas that was one of the few aspects i enjoyed. First of all i was shocked to discover that i was supposed to pay cash upfront instead of when i check out. I belive that is a process that shows that the company has no trust for its patrons and not inline with other international hotels. I was also shocked to find out that they insist for cash upront even for companies a strategic decision by management i have no doubt contributes to their low occupancy levels. As if the cash request wasnt bad enough i was shocked by the terrible state the carpets in the hallway were. It looked to me like some left the tap running and that spoiled the carpets yet the hotel wasnt concerned to fix them. I did however get a pleasent suprise in the rooms as they were well maintained and had comfortable amenities. I do not believe that my stay there was value for money and suggest that the hotel be rated a 2 star hotel given their services. If the company is serious about the hotel business they should seriously reneovate their hotel. For anyone planning to visit Bulawayo i would suggest the Holliday Inn as the difference between these hotels in night and day as i sadly discovered too late.

Room Tip: Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel room was comfortable and had the necessary amenities. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Do remenber to take your own adaptors as they have none. Telephone calls are made through the business centre and charged at USD 1 per minute.

I did not eat at the hotel, but there is a lovely steakhouse down the road called the Cattleman.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Bulawayo Rainbow is excellent value for money, with spacious rooms, stylish amenities and excellent food! Located near the city center, it is the ideal place to stay in Bulawayo, for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room above the 3rd floor - it can get quite noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The hotel bar has a good vibe, especially on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: There is a club in the same street as the hotel which does get quite nosiy, so I would recommend req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed here during ZITF 2011 - they are organising club parties with DJ`s in their basement during the week while they are having international guests - one cannot sleep with this overbearing noise. There is also a lack of warm water. Asked to be moved to another room and they just look at you with a blank face

Room Tip: Don`t stay at the Bulawayo Rainbow at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaborone botswana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

if u talk nicely to Zimbabweans u will b friends in a sec..

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel

Address: 10th Avenue Josiah Tongogara | Box 1876, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.