We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, good service, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bulawayo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Bulawayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milnerton Drive | PO Box AC 88, Ascot, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bulawayo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, good service, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night on business. The exterior of the hotel is deceiving as it looks old. Inside the hotel is clean and seems to be newly renovated. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Wifi signal is very good especially considering that it is complimentary from the hotel.

Will definitely stay there again for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiku M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bulawayo, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm greetings from the Holiday Inn Bulawayo Heart branded Team,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your candid feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We appreciate the honour of hosting you every time you are Bulawayo on business. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,


Chiku Mulinde
General Manager
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
1
1
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I had an overnight stop at Holiday Inn Bulawayo on business during the busiest time of the year, the Zimbabwe International Trade Fair. I was booked into one of the recently refurbished rooms which look quite nice and fresh. The partial refurbishment however has not given a full makeover which reminds guests of the rather staid old look through Zimbabwe's economic crisis. The breakfast is still great and so is the service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I found myself at the Holiday Inn one late night due to work engagements in Bulawayo. The frontline staff were very cordial and even offered a discount. The rooms are spacious with 2 queen size beds and a variety of pillows to choose from. Complimentary WiFi of 100MB. However the room service could improve as i once came back from work and found the bathroom floor still wet (there are no shower cubicles, so the water drips through the tub/shower curtain).

And stay away from the Arizona Spur restaurant as the service is deplorable as it took me an hour to served dinner, i asked for the manager but he still came after 20 minutes.

The Pumulani restaurant has a frugal buffet and the salt shakers was greased.

But overally a very good hotel as long as you stay away from its restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

During my last travel I found myself in Bulawayo Zimbabwe.
I was looking for a place to stay overnight and I was happy to find Hotel that I know.
The standards of Holiday Inn is well known and in this case, I didn’t take any risk of choosing the HI Bulawayo to stay overnight.
The welcome was warm and friendly. Great welcome by the front desk people.
The room was great. 2 Wide beds, working table, TV, Air-condition and most important VERY clean!
Breakfast was rich with wide variety of choices. Really recommended!!!

There is one issue that I didn’t like and this is the reason why I am not giving to this experience the full top mark and it’s the A/C system. It’s an old window system that made a lot of noise and when it was turned off, cold wing get into the room from it. I was expecting that hotel like HI will maintain his rooms in a better way. After all it was not critical but…

Bottom line – I will get back to this hotel next time I visit BYO (and I am going to do it very often now).

Hotel is recomanded!

Room Tip: Pay attention to the A/C noise. Its not so critical but might be an issue in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

located in Ascot in bulawayo.. the hotel is quite good. its been recently renovated to meet the international standards.

its a place to be when you are matebeleland... you can drive to matobo national park and come back for a fruitiful rest.

its good

i like it.

Room Tip: good view from the eastern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a pleasant and comfortable business hotel, with some dependable Holiday Inn elements like a very comfortable bed, pillow selection, and high level of cleanliness. There are some gaps, though. While the hot water was plentiful and the towels clean and fluffy, the shower was broken and tiles cracked, which made the shower a little like a splash zone. The toilet was also leaking.

Other elements of the hotel are a little worn around the edges, but it's undergoing refurbishment (the elevators/lifts were getting a facelift while I was staying there). There are nice touches, like fresh flower displays in each of the elevator lobbies. And the friendly staff are warm and accommodating. (Make sure you check out the dancing security guard. He's a hoot!)

The grounds are a nice oasis of green in the rather rundown Ascot section of Bulawayo, which has seen better days. The pool looked inviting, but it was covered with a net even during opening hours. The meeting rooms in the conference centre are nice, and the meals were fine.

In some ways, the hotel might be considered "bland"--but in Zimbabwe today, dependable and bland aren't bad things. If you want a good night's sleep, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bulawayo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear TravelMessenger68,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. We are sorry for the issues you had with your in-room bathroom that fell below your expectations. We also apologize for the unusual condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are a little dated but the bed was very comfortable. The wireless Internet has certainly improved being both reliable and fast. The only problem is the 100 mb limit which quickly runs out trying to download mail on outlook.

The meals in the restaurants are adequate but definitely nothing to write home about. All in all a comfortable hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bulawayo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sangeev,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Bulawayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bulawayo

Address: Milnerton Drive | PO Box AC 88, Ascot, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bulawayo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn offers guests the perfect location for a visit to Bulawayo. Situated 3km from the City Centre adjascent to the Ascot race course, the hotel offers a range of sporting facilities. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our superb location is the ideal place to stay. The hotel has 4 executive suites which have recently been redecorated, now guests can book suites according to their preffered colour scheme. The hotel offers spacious onsite parking and our state of art conference centre hosts weddings, cooperate functions, dinners, workshops, press conferences and interviews. For those who keep to routine social activities, the outdoor swimming pool, international squash and tennis courts, the gym and beauty parlour, we offer that satisfaction. Guests can enjoy a varied cuisines with quality and delicious dishes from the Panarottis restaurant, Arizona Spur, KoBulawayo bar and Coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Bulawayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bulawayo Hotel Bulawayo
Bulawayo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bulawayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.