We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Comfort Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Southern Comfort Lodge to your Saves list
Southern Comfort Lodge
22 Jaywick Road | Matsheumhlope, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quality Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have had reason to stay in Bulawayo on business on more than one occasion. I would highly recommend Southern Comfort Lodge as a safe, well maintained and extremely comfortable place to base yourself in while on business in Bulawayo.
I found the hosts to be extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist me and my colleagues during our stay. They were also extremely obliging with regard to the food & meal times and I was never disappointed with the quality of the food offered.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The southern comfort lodge in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe is wonderful. The grounds are kept like a huge English garden. The rooms are very nice. The managing team of Shannon and Kevin Williams go out of their way to assist. The meals are delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfuwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I recently attended a family members wedding in Bulawayo, my birth city with my mother. We were booked in Southern Comfort Lodge. What a great choice. The rooms we great and owners very approachable with great suggestions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Excellent staff and attention to detail. This lodge is clean and has a very safe and relaxed atmosphere. They serve the best cup of tea! The “Sneaky Rat Pub” feels like home where you sit for hours and hear stories of travelers from around the globe. We loved it and will go back on our next adventure to Africa.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I've stayed here multiple times on business trips and plan on staying here next time I am in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Comfort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Lodge

Address: 22 Jaywick Road | Matsheumhlope, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN COMFORT ESTATE, named for the original farmstead on which it is located, was bought by Craig and Lesley Hunt in 1994. It featured only a barren patch of sparse bush and a breached dam; it was unfenced, dry and dusty, with a meagre supply of water and a lonely farmhouse and stable yard, built originally in the 1920s. Since those early days, Craig and Lesley have fostered and created a dream – today, the Estate features a large dam, lush green gardens, a prolific borehole, a six-chalet lodge, conference centre and campground. As they say, from a tiny seed stems a great tree!The Estate boasts a cool, calm atmosphere, offering peace and tranquillity to all who visit – a welcome haven from the chaos of everyday life. Craig and Lesley, having begun all those years ago, still reside on the property and eagerly welcome all who happen to pass their way. They have two children, a son, Scott and a daughter, Tanya.Southern Comfort Estate has been a long time in the making, and we are still striving for the highest levels of perfection. There are numerous plans and projects for the future, and we would like to invite you to see for yourself what big dreams can achieve… For inspiration, and relaxation, welcome to SOUTHERN COMFORT ESTATE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Comfort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Comfort Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.