We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip in Bulawayo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garda Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulawayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garda Lodge
Save
You added Garda Lodge to your Saves list
167, Matopos Road | Four winds, Bulawayo 00125, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Bulawayo B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great trip in Bulawayo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at the Garda Lodge for 4 nights in early October. It was a great stay - the rooms were cosy, clean, and well-looked-after. Carlo, Daniela and Enrico were the perfect hosts - helpful, friendly and accommodating, without be overbearing. The full English breakfasts were a great way to start the day, and it was lovely to come back at the end of the day and sit in the garden. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
22
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mfuwe Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After a long drive Sinamatela Hwange National park to Bulawayo this place Garda lodge was more like home, very quiet, pleasant and a friendly Italian family. There is no place to beat this.
I travelled to Zim on an invitation by a former client at our lodge in Zambia. Thornicroft lodge.
This place made me feel at home. I personally recommend anyone in bulawayo or in route to Rhodes Matopos National Park to try and experience this little and lovely place.
Godfrey
Zambia

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dany2001bw, Owner at Garda Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi,
thanks for your review.
Was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again!

Daniela, Carlo, Enrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a great stay at Garda Lodge. Daniela, Carlo and Enrico is very hospitable, and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were big and very comfortable for a family of 4. They were also accomodating with all our requests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Garda Lodge on the 12th Aug 2012 on our way to Hwange and we chose this lodge purely based on Tripadvisor reviews. It surely lived up to reviews. Friendly owners, good food, safe parking and good, clean accommodation.Thanks, will definetly recommend this lodge!

Room Tip: Trust Tripadvisor reviews, they are reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My parents recently spent one night at Garda lodge en route to drop off a vehicle at Vic Falls for me. They had nothing but praise for the clean, well kept accommodation and friendly helpful staff.
I will recommend in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at Garda Lodge for 8 nights in June, while on a business trip. The staff is very friendly, the place is safe and the premises very cosy and comfortable. Rooms are good size with nice beds and en-suite toilet.
Power outages where normal during the day, but the lodge has its own generator.
I highly recommend this place to any traveller passing through Bulawayo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Turned up late with no reservations but was made to feel immediately at home. After a very long road trip from Harare the stop over in Bulawayo was just what was needed. Lodge was secure, booked in quickly, efficiently with minimul fuss. Room was pleasent, clean and well prepared for a weary traveller.
Was a little noisy with local dogs seeming to want to compete in a howling match but soon ignored.
Breckfast was lovely with fresh juices, tea and a full English!
Lovely couple running the lodage and would loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Lovely quirky gardens so try and get a room close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garda Lodge

Address: 167, Matopos Road | Four winds, Bulawayo 00125, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at only 6km from the center of Bulawayo, 2 acres of gorgeous garden, swimming pool, internet, TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Bulawayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garda Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.