We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day at Vic Falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)

Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)
Victoria Falls, Zambia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$1,223*
and up
3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight...
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Helicopter rides, Bungee jumping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The smoke that thunders" is a local name for Africa's most famous waterfall thundering over a 100m-high cliff.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One day at Vic Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Make sure you take your time at the Falls, take a slow walk down to the Boiling Point. If you are staying at the Zambian side make sure to walk over the Zimbabwe boarder, even if you're not doing bungy jumping the boarder bridge is worth a visit! Rafting is also a must for those who like an adventure, most hotels can organise a half day or full day rafting trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    36
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This has to be one of the main reasons for visiting this area of Africa. It is absolutely breathtaking but be sure to visit at the right time of year. People coming here in October are often faced with a mere trickle of water cascading over the edge.
Whilst coming in the wet season guarantees you an amazing view it also ensures you get soaked even if you hire a poncho. It is worth it though. Be sure to have a plastic bag for your camera, wallet and passport!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent a week in Zambia, 3 days in Livingstone. The Falls are one of the most amazing things I've ever seen, even tho the water level was low. I just couldn't stop walking the whole place (bring plenty of water ...you can buy it there too), the nature is amazing, so lush, you can meet so many people from all around. Entrance fee is something around 20 us dollars, i am not sure, use google. There are small shops inside if you need a snack. Beware of baboons. Market outside is good and don't forget to buy a Nyami Nyami. You can easily walk to the Zimbabwean side (make sure you have double entry back-80 US dollars). Plenty of adventure from bungee jumping to micro light flights. I travelled on budget, so I just trekked with my backpack. Safety is not an issue for solo travellers, not even for girls. Stunning views, wildlife everywhere. I'm definitely coming back this lifetime.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Third time's the charm--torrential falls and a moonbow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time to VF, no water. Second time, some water. This time, WOW! The rains were obviously generous this year. We got positively drenched, even under our ponchos, as we went across the knife edge bridge and the far side of the Zambian portion. Many of our pictures, with double rainbows and raging rapids, look like they must have been cgi-ed in because they are so spectacular. On this trip, which we had specifically booked to be during the full moon, we also got to see the lunar rainbow and that was extra special. Watching that bright moon come up like a spotlight on the falls was incredible--hard to believe that is the same moon I see here in the US.
Having been here before many years ago, I was impressed also by the steps the park is taking to be more professional and better managed with a real entry gate, a log of visitors, clean bathrooms, and rangers wandering around to help. We also got souvenir tickets for the moonbow event, which was a nice touch. People just need to be more careful with their trash...
In the end, I am glad I have also seen the falls when the water was low, as it is the only way to see the actual cliffs and rocks--but if you only have one chance, just pay attention to what season it is.
(lastly, in terms of the cultural village and shops outside the gate, note that they know what westerners can pay and many of the prices were exorbitant for carved items found on every street corner in South Africa. We only found one or two of those shop stalls had truly unique items, and their prices were rational as well.)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We lived in South Africa for three years and never got to Victoria Falls. On a recent trip back to Johannesburg, I had a day off and flew to Livingstone, Zambia to experience the great Falls. It was absolutely worth every penny of cost, and every second of effort. I live in Niagara Falls, which is impressive in its own right, but Victoria Falls is in a league of its own, primarily because the area around it is pristine and not built up, and also because you can get so very close to the Falls.

Upon entering the park, my taxi driver said that no matter what negative mood one may be in - angry, sad, etc. - all of it evaporates in the mist of the Falls. As the Falls wet my face and body, and I laughed out loud in great joy, I understood the truth of his words. If you have an opportunity, just go!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya) also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Victoria Falls, Southern Province
 

Been to Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.