We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AVOID AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chrismar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chrismar Hotel to your Saves list
Chrismar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sichango Road, PO Box 60614, Livingstone 00000, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AVOID AVOID AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very unpleasant experience. Nice setting but very deceptive. The rooms were infested with mosquitoes, creepy crawlies and bed bugs. The doors and windows are ill-fitted so no amount of Mosquito Spray helped. The whole place was damp. Couldn't relax so had to cut short our stay there.
As for breakfast, forget it. Lots of dead mosquitoes lying on a linen cloth besides the food. A recipe for disaster.
Please avoid this hotel if you can until things improve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
14
11
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Otjiwarongo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed for two nights at this hotel and although the hotel has the potential to be one of Livingstone's good hotels, it currently does not make the grade. There are numerous little things that in the whole tell a story of a lack of training, questionable management and a total lack of attention to detail. The initial room I was booked in was definitely not cleaned properly as the linen had blood stains or perhaps on the off chance old lipstick markings on it. The sliding windows between the bedroom and bathroom was broken and the wooden frame was out of the wall and hanging loose. The fountain outside the room was not functioning and a slime layer was floating on top of the one pool. The grouting on the top of the basin area was dirty - extremely dirty. The showerhead was clogged and not functioning properly. There was only one bedside table and one lamp.

Management then moved me to a junior suite. This bath as the bath in the previous room was not cleaned properly and we avoided using it. Many of the lightbulbs were fused and not working. The covering on the couch in the lounge was torn and the foam was protruding from it. Incidentally two of the chairs in the reception area had the same problem. The table where the tea and coffee was placed was swollen from water that spilt on it. More seriously when we went to bed that night we found an old worn out foam matress on the bed that was hollow in the middle. This was covered by a sheet that was too small for the matress - no fitted sheets are used. This uncovered the following problem that there were no matress protectors on the bed. This means that bodily fluids seeps through the sheets and into the foam matresses that sucks up fluids. And matresses cannot be washed. So we are sleeping on filthy beds.

Then the information folder contains a dirty and crumpled letterhead. This is the first image impression that they are prepared to let me have. On the right hand side a list of telephone numbers and if you are inquisitive enough you will find hidden away a laminated page telling you about a spa that is available. Really? Spa's are used by upper end guests and they would want a brochure on the spa - certainly not a laminated page hidden away! Are you serious about this?

There are no chairs for the lovely little verandahs so one cannot enjoy sitting outside and admiring the view.

On the plus side - the staff was indeed friendly and they tried. My perception is that they do not get adequate training and leading. Reception is huge and inviting and the fountain creates great ambience and the restaurant area behind is intriguing and inviting. The pool is great. The garden is magnificent and one would certainly think this can do much better.

For now - this hotel should not be recommended, but with some training and attention to the minor details and management really getting enthused, I think it can be a good address in Livingstone.

Room Tip: Stay at the Zambesi Sun, Protea Hotel Livingstone or Camp Nkwazi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice room, smelled of damp. Visited in June so shouldn't have. Service was attentive. Hotel is located a little ways out of town so walking anywhere is not really an option. They charge for the airport shuttle and for more than one a taxi is a better deal. The layout and bar, pool and restaurant are exceptional. Some more lights at night so that you don't fall in the pool would be a win. Wifi in the room is presented as an option, but the reception desk could not get it to work for me although all the staff areas seemed to have no problem making it work. Suggest that maybe the reception provide a complimentary login if they can't make it work in the future. I was limited to using the relatively slow option in the lobby for the duration of my stay. The rooms were comfortable and well laid out. Water pressure was very variable, working great one moment and then non existent the next. Again this problem did not get resolved. Cattlemans restaurant was good but a little slow, not an issue though. Staff was numerous and attentive but training and allocation of responsibilities could be improved. Bar tender Mbuku (?) was excellent. Very few people staying on the days I was there and seem over staffed for the number of guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A View from a Tourism Consultancy in Africa...

If you are in line for the development fo services that does not meet the pricing and service requirements yet - please proceed, otherwise, please reconsider. Booking at another venue in Livingstone is strongly recommended. (Zambesi Sun is still your best option - Sun International Hotel) I just returned from Livingstone on a conferences that a South African organiser has put together at the hotel and the service levels are shocking. However, although my review is negative - please go on your own gut feel. The other reviews of this hotel is a complete surprise to me!!! - For a quick stay perhaps with no other alternatives - yes - but for business travel or as conference venue - avoid as suggested.

NB - S h o u l d y o u b e g o i n g p l e a s e h e l p i n a s s i s t i n g the service level with recommendations to the local managers and perhaps the American Based Owner.

In the contrary - the activity centre is highly recommended - please speak to GiacomoPaolo Corsini that will gladly be able to assist. Cel : +260 979 374 953

This review is based on personal experience and should not be taken up for public comment and media related articles - QI Head Office Johannesburg, South Africa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was really nice. Specially the location is really nice. It is very close to the Mosi-ol-Tunya Park and for those interested in doing boat cruise. It is also minutes from the waterfall and shopping centers. The only thing I didn't enjoy as much was breakfast at the hotel. There was not much variety and the same things were on the menu for all the four days. But all in all, it is nice - staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I would go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent Service, value for mone and great location. Acitivities are too expensive. Staff are friendly and hotel is very clean. Suitable for FIT's and groups. Everything is well organised. Spend three nights and food was very good. Within minutes from the waterfalls and great view always

Room Tip: Book all activities in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I organised and planned a workshop for top government, university and UN officials at the Chrismar for 5 days. Starting from the rooms that are 5 star to the dinning room with a wide range of cuisines including local meals through to the conference room, the Chrismar is a top notch 5 star hotel. The Livingstone Chrismar has feel good mood that is demonstrated by the staff from the front office, management and general workers. I just loved my stay and my bosses have insisted at hosting major functions like the one I had at the Livingstone Chrismar.

I'm surprised that other guests have posted such hate ratings for a hotel of this high standard and professionalism. I suggest they get a life.

Room Tip: The room I lived in was 56. Quiet and good for a business person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chrismar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrismar Hotel

Address: Sichango Road, PO Box 60614, Livingstone 00000, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chrismar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Chrismar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrismar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.