We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngolide Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ngolide Lodge to your Saves list
Ngolide Lodge
110 Mosi-o-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“well worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a comfortable and simply pleasant place to stay in the heart of Livingstone. The staff are really nice and the owners make it clear that nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and the shower is great. We enjoyed the bar in the evenings and although you might not meet the mainstream tourists be ready for lots of interesting conversations. Wish it had a pool! Lovely breakfast room and the Indian restaurant owned by the lodge is truly fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ngolide Lodge and for your feedback.
We are glad to know that we met your expectations and for making your stay a home away from home. It is our wish that our guests enjoy the best of their stay with us.

Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
6
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a good place to stay. The staff,mostly female,were excellent and I could not expect more. The Indian restaurant owned by the Ngolide owner is superb and I still get the taste of the curries on the tip of my tongue a month later.
My only complaint is the bar which is a little dirty and dusty with no real view of the street and that the rooms are a little cramped but they are minor quibbles and wouldn't stop me from visiting again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the northern side are a little quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and the meals at our restaurant.We will insure that your complaint is attended to and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay - unfriendly and lazy staff (but pleasant owners), the room was very small, not too clean and appeared to be quite unsecure; expensive internet and a dismal breakfast. Would not recommend this at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we will see to it that the best solution is put in place to make the stay of our clients lovely and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

March 3 to 5, 2013 we (2 adults) had the pleasure to stay at the Ngolide Lodge. We booked from Switzerland in advanced with email and got respone within 1 day. We wired the money (2 nights for 2 pax = USD 140.- incl full english brekfast) in advance and again got confrimation within 2 daya. The staff is friendly, the rooms clean and new and everything is working. The food excellent. The Lodge is really made and maintained with care (the windows have iron mosiquito nets, so you have no mosquiutos in the room even when the windows are open). The lodge looks very charming with straw roofs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very relaxing stay. We were in for just 24 hours (and after the long flight from the US, we got a good nights sleep). We had time to fly over the falls, and take a river cruise, but that was it. Next time I would stay longer and actually take a walk down by the falls. With snacks on the river cruise, we were too full to eat at the Golden Leaf resturant for dinner (regretfully, the resturant is not open for lunch). The breakfast was a good start to the day. The staff was really great; friendly and very helpful (they helped arrange the helicopter and cruise and helped deal with some local currency issues). There is a very nice court yard in the center of the open air lobby area that was a relaxing place to set and read.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After recommendation from our taxi-friend, we went to Golden Leef Restaurant for our dinner. The staff was friendly and service was good. The food was also very good. I had the beef filet with very tender meet and good side dishes, and my husband had chicken tikka masala which he enjoyed. The owner came to our table and checked that everything was ok, which we appreciated. We had to pay with master card, and they had to get the bank terminal from the lodge across the road. Would perhaps be a good idea to have a terminal at the restaurant. Besides from that we really liked the restaurant and it was one of the better we have tried in Livingstone (this is our forth time visiting). We will recommend it to others, and who knows, maybe we'll stay at Ngolide Lodge next time we're in Lstone?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Warm, helpful and friendly welcome and reasonably priced with a great Golden Leaf Restaurant just over the road. Do try one from the curry menu which as well as meat dishes there is a good selection of vegetarian

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngolide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngolide Lodge

Address: 110 Mosi-o-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngolide Lodge is a thatched Lodge in the heart of Livingstone with a truly ethnic feel. The Lodge has an excellent restaurant offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at our spacious restaurant called The Golden Leaf Restaurant serving Indian and Continental cuisine. Our friendly and efficient staff are ready to welcome you to make your stay happy and memorable.All rooms are well appointed and En-Suite with hot/cold showers and toilets, Air – Conditioners, LCD TV’s with 12 DSTV channels, Mini Fridges, Tea/Coffee making facility, Direct Dial out Telephone, Mosquito Nets and Room safes.Ngolide Lodges’ superb and accessible location on Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, offers a comfortable and affordable choice for exploring the mighty Victoria Falls, located only 8kms away and experiencing the wildlife and activities that Livingstone has to offer. Ngolide Lodge is 10 minutes walk from Livingstone town centre, close to bars, restaurants and only 2kms away from Mosi-oa-Tunya Square shopping mall.The Lodge has a Fully Licensed Bar where you can enjoy an Ice cold beer and imported wines of your choice while relaxing in our comfortable, quiet and peaceful lounge.There are intimate conference facilities, Wi-Fi access throughout the Lodge, safe car parking onsite with 24 hours security.We can arrange for any activities in the Livingstone area from the comfort of your room.Come and share the experience of an excellent restaurant and accommodation giving a home-away from home feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ngolide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngolide Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.